We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden and beautiful touches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 26 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely garden and beautiful touches”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed there after a kayaking trip and just fell in love with the garden. I kept thinking my mom would love to see it -- she appreciates creative and beautiful garden designs. I could literally spent the whole day there reading and looking at the plants. The court-yard style inn has many historic touches. I only found out later that it's a converted courthouse, so that helped to explain that feeling of being part of a bygone era. But it also had to do with the proprietor's good taste and sense of beauty. The room I had was clean and spacious. The furniture was basic. The bedding wasn't cushy though, so if you like soft bed, you may not find it comfortable. I did like the bathroom, which had some interesting tile work.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HappyOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    34
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
43
138
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Once again we had a great couple of nights with the Angel. Hand down this my favorite place in La Paz to rest after a big day. Breakfast is perfect and the garden is a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, NC USA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

El Angel Azul is a B&B a few blocks from the Malecón (boardwalk) and is in a historical building (it was once the town’s courthouse). We were happy to find it. It has a typical Mexican exterior that, although nice, gave no clue to what was inside. When we walked in, we were in one of those lovely Mexican haciendas that has a large central courtyard surrounded by a covered walkway. Very “old Mexico”. Turns out, it was also a very environmentally conscious place owned and run by a vegetarian. The place is lovely and comfortable. Breakfast is included in the price and, although the breakfast wasn’t much, it was enough to get us going. It was a buffet breakfast, and you eat at one of four tables in the courtyard, starting at 8 am. There were other guests, but we never saw them. I’m guessing that it has six rooms. Very nice. Not dirt cheap, but not expensive either. Rooms start at $90 in the summer. About $10 more in the winter. You can see more at http://mynicelittlelife.com/2011/08/el-angel-azul-la-paz-mexico/

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Angel Azul is a gem and provides a relaxed and wonderful setting while visiting La Paz, BCS. The property has been lovingly restored, retrofitted and refined with beautiful gardens and nicely appointed rooms...not super deluxe, but very comfortable and exactly what an adventure traveller wants and needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lapanga313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is one of the nicest, most pleasant places I've ever stayed, and I travel a lot. My wife and I came here after a diving trip out of La Paz, and we liked it so much we stayed two extra nights.

It's quiet, private, secure, and beautifully decorated. Staying here made us realize how much we enjoy visiting Mexico.

There's a photo album that shows before-and-after photos of its transformation into a B&B, and it's amazing what the owner, Esther, has accomplished. She has great taste and a good eye, and at times it felt like we were guests in the hacienda of a favorite relative. Very relaxing and welcoming vibe at El Angel Azul.

It's located just blocks from the water, and anything you need, including good shopping and great seafood restaurants, is within easy walking distance, but the enclosed courtyard is so peaceful and serene you won't want to leave. It's an oasis of calm in the middle of a bustling port city.

And the staff is excellent, always friendly and helpful, while giving us all the privacy we wanted. And it's so nice to wake up to hot coffee and a good, healthy breakfast served in the local style, and to have it in that courtyard setting.

I've always loved La Paz, but I haven't been to Mexico in a while, and it was nice to be back and to stay in a place with such a perfect balance of quiet, comfort and warm hospitality.

My first impression of El Angel Azul was, "Now, this is exactly what I had in mind", and it just got better from there. An excellent value and a lucky find.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hyattron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I ordinarily don't like to stay in B&B's -- ain't sociable enough to buy into the communal breakfast deal, and don't go for the whimsy, cuteness and forced congeniality of the typical Ma & Pa inn. But having won a couple of nights with a winning bid at a fundraiser in Cabo, it was worth swallowing my pessimistic attitude and forgoing the typical resort. After a long day of golf down at Bahia de los Sueños, we needed a place to relax on a hot afternoon.

The Blue Angel is such a place, and our suite was roomy, cool and relaxing. Around the property we felt perfectly left alone, and could choose whether or not to interact with staff and guests in a natural way. Esther is an intelligent, cool and dedicated host who's poured her heart and soul into the inn. Every wall, every corner had just the right touch of personality. As filled with local craft as it is, it still has a European vibe where we felt in the hands of someone who knows what they're doing.

What we really liked about Esther too is that she was willing to share honest opinions, which is difficult to find here in Mexico where everyone tells you what they think you want to hear. Based on years of living and working here, her local knowledge extends out to Todos Santos and down to Los Cabos so she's a great resource. We'd stay again any time we return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

El Angel Azul B&B Inn is a great place to stay in La Paz. There is a colorful patio with tropical plants to chill out. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly. You can ask them about the excursions to go to swin with the sea lions and they will organize everything for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolineragot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Property: El Angel Azul Hacienda
Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing