We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sense of La Paz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 28 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

El Angel Azul was an ideal place for us to spend 4 nights getting to know the city. The location was ideal, and the owner, Esther, was readily available to help us with suggestions on activities and where to dine. We had a fabulous stay and felt very safe, comfortable, and at home in this bed & breakfast. We would definitely stay there again the next time we visit La Paz.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Basil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here last week.
We found it to be a very beautiful inn with great service by Esther and her staff.

The location is a few blocks from the Malecon but after staying here we would definitely choose it again.
Esther is very helpful and friendly and Roxanna makes a terrific Damiana margarita . We also enjoyed our visits with the other guests .

This was our first trip to La Paz and hope to be back soon to visit El Angel Azul and the islands around La Paz for more whale watching and swimming with the sea lions


  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seanfennema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Angel Azul is a lovely place to stay in La Paz, Baja. Just two blocks beyond the Cathedral church on the square, Angel Azul has a friendly staff, a lovely interior courtyard that offers a nice respite from the hustle of the city, and a quiet home base to wander from. Easy walking distance from the waterfront and from other public transport. Better located than the B+B spots further down on the Malacon (waterfront) which are too noisy. Not many rooms and a homey feeling. Reservations recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spent 3 nights last February in El Angel Azul. This bed and breakfast is fabulous. The owner, Esther, restored an historic courhouse and she did it perfectly ! The rooms are lovely, comfortable and decorated with Mexican art and textiles. The super garden is peaceful and it's so pleasant to take breakfast there. This is a marvelous and quiet retreat in the center of La Paz. The service is very good and the owner will give you useful advices if needed. The perfect place to stay in La Paz which is a safe city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DETIGE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights in Jan/Feb. Esther, the Swiss-born owner, speaks at least five languages, and made us feel welcome. She was extremely helpful in our stay here.
El Angel Azul was originally a court building. It has a charming couryard with lovely flowers, cacti, birds, etc. Esther has decorated the courtyard beautifully; it was our little oasis in the middle of the city, and we spent hours relaxing in the courtyard each day.
El Angel Azul is located centrally, two short blocks from the main Cathedral, and just a few minutes walk to the coastal promenade, the Malecon. Keep in mind that because you are located in the central city so you will hear some traffic at times; I am sensitive to noise but found the noise level in my room to be acceptable.
You will have a very basic room. Don't expect fancy furniture or decorations. The rooms are extremely clean, though, and owner Esther's workers are busy keeping the place spotless.
The price of a little over $100 for two people is reasonable considering that you will also get a nice breakfast.
One suggestion: While you are in La Paz, take the 3-hour snorkeling tour of the harbor where you will swim with whalesharks, the largest fish in the world. It is quite an experience.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank regentsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have stayed at El Angel Azul twice now and LOVE IT! It is truly an oasis in the center of La Paz. My husband and I are already planning ahead for next year. Esther and her staff, who were there three years ago on my first visit are delightful and knowledgeable about the area (especially the restaurants)! Oh and we felt VERY safe in La Paz.
Wonderful place to visit!

Room Tip: While all the rooms are lovely the upstairs suite is particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adrienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I had my best vacation here in La Paz Mexico. Especially staying in the B&B el angel azul: this bed and breakfast is just amazing; a beautiful garden, i stayed in an awesome room; very clean there. It is pretty quite here in the courtyard. It gives you a feeling of just 'hanging out, alone on the beach or something'', nobody annoys you and you have your absolutly silence for yourself here or with your friend. The bedding was very comfortable and the breakfast here is excellent! What i also liked here is that the ''hotel'' is a very environmentally conscious place, owned and run by a very smart Swiss-business woman. Would come back for sure to this place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaPaz_MexicoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
339 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#8 of 39 in La Paz
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: £75 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing