We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like a really overpriced military camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 28 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The first impression was very pleasant as the atmosphere seems to be hospitable and the courtyard is really cute. However, after we dealt with the Swiss manager/owner and paid approx. 110$ per night in advance for a double room, we found on the bed the so called "rules of El Angel Azul" composed by 3 sheets and more than 40 detailed and really strict orders explaining the real "environmental friendly" spirit of the maison. Just to give a very preliminary taste:
1) The first statement of the decalogue is that they "WANT TO EDUCATE THE TRAVELER". This sounds like a very bizarre statement to people in their 40's..
2) They do no provide shampoo nor bathfoam since they say each traveler has to bring its own necessaire.
So if you don't have yours, forget about having a restorative shower...
3) Even if you don't care tto much about foam, forget also about having a hot shower since El Angel Azul do not provide you hot water during the summer...and you know about that only when you are taking your shower.
4) Finally if you want to take a rest and enjoy some cool air from your air conditioning split forget about regulating the temperature as you prefer since the air conditioning system will not allow you to do so but will just moderately refresh the room.
5) And don't be afraid about forgetting to turn off the air conditioning or the lights when you go out, since the management reserves the right to do that on your behalf by entering into your room....

If you are looking for a true military experience go somewhere else and for sure you will pay less....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jack f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at this fabulous place after 4 straight nights of primitive camping in Baja. It was the perfect respite from the elements. A warm welcome from the owner was followed by ice cold glasses of limeade. The owner also arranged for off street parking of our car (full of camping gear) for a small fee. The room was welcoming, peaceful, simple, tastefully decorated and cool, with excellent air conditioning and a very comfortable bed. The shower was refreshing, although it was interesting that there was no hot water (it is not provided in the summer months). I didn't need it, as La Paz was very hot indeed in July, but the lack of hot water in the summer should probably be more prominently advertised. The courtyard is an beautiful, quiet, colorful and shady place to hang out and unwind. The location of this B and B is wonderful, also, within short walking distance of La Paz's beautiful town square, cathedral and many shops and just a few blocks from the malecon. The summer breakfast of fresh fruit and yogurt was a delightful contrast to a lot of heavier Mexican food we had been eating on the trip. Esther, the owner, was friendly and helpful and the staff in general was quiet, efficient and very hospitable. The combination of the ambiance of this magical place and the delightful spirit of La Paz makes for wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zorgalfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Two (also female) friends and I just spent a truly wonderful week at this incredible hotel - one of my favourites I've ever stayed in (which is really saying something!).

The room was lovely, but the real jewel in the crown is the garden courtyard - what a beautiful spot! Hidden away from the world but packed full of beautiful things from it, it's its own little paradise; leafy trees and plants nestle next to little sculptures and artifacts, and nature is all around - both in the incredible hummingbirds that come and drink from the little fountain, just inches away from where we were eating breakfast, and in the sweet, gentle resident dogs, Luna and Manchi, and the cat, who aren't imposing, but will come and visit as you sit on a deck-chair and read. If we weren't so close to so many jaw-droppingly beautiful (and not busy) beaches, it would have been tempting to sit there all day!

Esther and the crew were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I felt completely at home.
It also feels wonderfully safe there, given that at night you're not only behind your own locked door, but also the impenetrable ones of the property. La Paz is a really easy-going, safe place to visit, but when you are ladies in a distant country, it's nice to have that extra feeling of safety. It felt like the benefits of staying in a big hotel, but without the bad taste in your mouth that can bring, and with the added bonus of feeling like you are in on one of the world's greatest secrets!

I will remember this spectacular hotel for years and really hope I can come back.

I truly recommend El Angel Azul as highly as is possible to! If you're thinking of going to the coast in Mexico, please consider La Paz and El Angel Azul - it really is a wonderful find.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mariaanneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The reasons we loved this place is quite long...let's start with how beautiful it is. Add that the owner, Esther, is wonderful as is all her staff. The fact that is women owned and all women employees was something that appealed to us. The other travellers that we met there were very nice and from all over the world. Mostly straight couples but this would be an ideal location for lesbians travelling. Okay, back to why we loved it...we stayed in the suite and was never so relaxed and comfortable just hanging out on our open sky deck that it was hard to leave and go to the Mericon (sp) in La Paz. We were just a few blocks away from the water front and a most beautiful location it was. We walked up and down several times during our stay and ALWAYS felt safe. We even passed a gay bar with rainbow flags waving outside on our way to and from the strip. Esther made excellent restaurant recommendations and even wrote down for us what we should order as we were at a disadvantage with limited Mexican Spanish knowledge. The breakfast served at El Angel Azul was scrumptious and healthy. They are very environmentally focused and support local farmers and merchants in their meals. There is even a small bar open in the afternoon. The courtyard was also beautiful and we relaxed there a few times as well while we took photos of a hummingbird that was busy each day we were there. Let me repeat...this is a completely safe place to be stay and the town of La Paz is very safe. We walked about until very late and felt completely comfortable. The people of La Paz are very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: We thought afterward that we should have looked at the regular rooms for this review but, alas, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

El Angel Azul was an ideal place for us to spend 4 nights getting to know the city. The location was ideal, and the owner, Esther, was readily available to help us with suggestions on activities and where to dine. We had a fabulous stay and felt very safe, comfortable, and at home in this bed & breakfast. We would definitely stay there again the next time we visit La Paz.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Basil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here last week.
We found it to be a very beautiful inn with great service by Esther and her staff.

The location is a few blocks from the Malecon but after staying here we would definitely choose it again.
Esther is very helpful and friendly and Roxanna makes a terrific Damiana margarita . We also enjoyed our visits with the other guests .

This was our first trip to La Paz and hope to be back soon to visit El Angel Azul and the islands around La Paz for more whale watching and swimming with the sea lions


  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seanfennema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Angel Azul is a lovely place to stay in La Paz, Baja. Just two blocks beyond the Cathedral church on the square, Angel Azul has a friendly staff, a lovely interior courtyard that offers a nice respite from the hustle of the city, and a quiet home base to wander from. Easy walking distance from the waterfront and from other public transport. Better located than the B+B spots further down on the Malacon (waterfront) which are too noisy. Not many rooms and a homey feeling. Reservations recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 39 in La Paz
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: £75 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing