We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay in La Paz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 25 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay in La Paz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We enjoyed four wonderful nights at El Angel Azul on a recent trip to Baja. Esther and her staff are charming and gracious hosts. The building has been beautifully renovated from a 19th C courthouse to a stylish, modern boutique style B & B with cozy, spotless rooms and a shared courtyard landscaped with tropical and desert plants. It's a perfect place to relax after long days of swimming, kayaking or fishing around the Bay. Esther recommended excellent restaurants and helped to arrange an unforgettable trip to Isla Espiritu Santo.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobA104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    34
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
43
135
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

From the outside, this building looks similar to many others in the central district of La Paz, however once you step through the front door you enter a lovely little paradise. The 12 +/- rooms are all lined along the walls of a tasteful courtyard garden of tropical flowers, cacti and comfortable places to sit, read and relax. Angel Azul is both a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city (mind you it's not a big city) but it's also right in the middle of everything you want to see and do. And just a short walk to the beach, shopping and great restaurants. Wonderful breakfast buffet too.
It's my favorite place to stay in La Paz.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We came to El Angel Azul after kayaking for four days. We were tired and dirty. The inn was the perfect place to clean up and rest.

Esther got Margaritas for my daughter and me because it was our birthdays. I lay on the couch in the beautiful courtyard with my Margarita. Esther's cat climbed, ever so gently, into my lap. The songbirds sang in their cage, and the wind rustled the palms in the courtyard. Later Manchi, the dog came by. Absolutely restful!

Esther spent a lot of time telling us about the city. We had initially made reservations for 3 nights but then decided to spend only 2 nights at the inn because we wanted to see Todos Santos. Esther had no problems with us changing our reservations and made a reservation for us at Todos Santos. She also got reservations for us for snorkeling with whale sharks and was generally very helpful.

Esther's staff is superb. All of them were very helpful.

The location of the inn is quite convenient: not far from the beach and museums and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent location and staff, very quiet room. Inner courtyard was great for relaxing and reading. Healthy breakfast. Moved from a hotel on the marina, a world of difference. Had some our our best meals in La Paz under the guidance of the owner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WRinSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is my third time staying at the El Angel Azul and once again I was not disappointed in the hospitality and oasis in the middle of La Paz. It was so nice to have a place to rest and relax with great WiFi coverage, a lovely host in Jacqueline (Esther was out of town) and wonderful staff. There were four of us on motorcycles and there was a secure place to park the bikes which was appreciated. I will look forward to going there again when travelling down the Baja.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at El Ángel Azul after a week's diving. Esther was the perfect host and her Inn is beautiful, comfortable and in a pretty neighborhood, within walking distance to the sea and wonderful restaurants. The courtyard onto which all the rooms open is beautiful and charming, full of lovely art and artifacts. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. We were able to wash and dry all of our dive gear in an out of the way area of the courtyard, which was such a bonus! Esther's recommendations for restaurants and shopping were helpful and we truly felt we were saying goodbye to a friend on our departure.

Room Tip: We were in room 9. I didn't see any of the other rooms but I imagine they are all equally large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DILaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had the opportunity to visit LaPaz, Mexico prior to and after our boat trip in the sea of Cortez and we stayed at El Angel Azul and what a wonderful B&B. Esther the owner lives on site and she really understand hospitality. The rooms are very comfortable, air conditioned with all the amenities you would expect. Esther has decorated the courtyard - woderful to just walk around and enjoy. I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#6 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#5 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#8 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.0 mi away
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
#3 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Property: El Angel Azul Hacienda
Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing