We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 26 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Courtyard Oasis”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We loved the comfort and charm of this B and B. The rooms were clean and comfortable and our hostess was lovely and helpful. We felt totally at home and welcome and could hang out anywhere in the spacious yard whether you wanted sun or shade. It was also close in to the Malecon and many side street restaurants and quaint shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gososallegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    34
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
43
138
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reston va
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I suppose like a lot of Americans, we hear scarey stories about Mexico.

In this case, dont give it a second thought. We felt so comfortable walking in LaPaz and certainly close to the El Angel and down to the waterfront.

Now for the B&B: So lovely. A renovated historic courtyard. Fun to explore with every nook and cranny having a different theme. Room was colorful and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agent1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

LOCATION Street parking was easy and safe. We drove only for excursions. All we needed in town - the Malecon, shops and many restaurants were easy walks. QUALITY A handful of rooms ring a courtyard - once a courthouse courtyard - that we found charming, inviting and very comfortable: palms, sunshine and shade, umbrellas, lawn chairs, a gurgling fountain, a seating alcove, desert plants, cobbles and bricks. Our room and others we checked had a pleasant Mexican décor. The furnishing/features included beds, tables, chair, closet/shelving, shower and toilet - all we needed. (No TV but yes, free WiFi). Room, linens were clean, beds comfortable. Our bed and room got a first pass by a maid during breakfast, and more attention later. A/C worked fine the few times we needed it. Unlimited drinking water a nice touch. Breakfast choices included various egg dishes, fruit and yogurt, and Swiss muesli. We enjoyed meeting other guests informally in the courtyard; all were pleasant. B&B owner Esther Amann provided helpful information during our stay and there were also guidebooks and other information available. VALUE We were happy with our stay and cost. NOTE: Coming change late summer 2014 - Ms. Amann will lower prices, enlarge rooms, provide anytime kitchen access and stop offering a served breakfast. Towards the end of our week’s stay, we would have liked this - being able to eat in rather than dining out all lunches and dinners.

Room Tip: We received good advice from Esther Amann, the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank New_England_Bob193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We decided to spend a couple of days in La Paz before going on our whale-watching trip, and found El Angel Azul the perfect place to stay. Esther has converted an old courthouse into a very welcoming B&B. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a simple Mexican style and are clustered around a very pleasant courtyard where breakfast is served. Each room has an air conditioner and there is wifi access throughout. Our plane was late, so we didn't arrive until about 8:30 in the evening. However, we felt completely safe walking several blocks to a restaurant for dinner. La Paz is a very laid back city and everyone that we met was extremely friendly and helpful. Esther was very helpful with suggestions of things to do. We followed her advise and ate dinner at Nim one night. This is a new restaurant and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 9 that I think was one of the bigger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a kayak expedition to Isla Espiritu Santa. The suite was lovely with a beautiful private patio. Breakfast was very good. We met fascinating travelers from around the world and the Malecon is a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grlnsrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've lived many years in Mexico city and travelled to many places within the country. I must say La Paz is the safest city I ever visited. People are relaxed, friendly and helpful. Even their driving is polite and safe, and there is no problem at all walking around at night. Within the city, Esther's B&B is a delightful cozy place full of details. The courtyard is beautifully decorated and you can hear the birds in the morning even though you are downtown. Esther knows the area very well and she is great help to plan your trip. Definetely top choice when visiting la paz! And if you want to swim with peaceful whale sharks, look up for Carey diving shop! top noch!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence_Anne_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Thanks Esther for a wonderful stay in your B&B over Christmas. Your inn is a peaceful haven just a stone-throw away from the Malecon - La Paz' waterfront. We loved the comfortable room we stayed in; the delicious breakfast (generous and healthy - a great way to start the day!); and the lovely and tranquil courtyard where we could read under a tree or enjoy a cup of coffee! Charming, really!

We can only recommend El Angel Azul to anyone staying in La Paz or passing through as we did.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CandyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Property: El Angel Azul Hacienda
Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing