We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort style hotel”
Review of Club El Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club El Moro
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Resort style hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have stayed at the El Moro four times over several years. The rooms are large and very nice and clean. Free wifi. The common area is beautifully landscaped with a very nice pool. Both shade and sun are available. Breakfast is included at the adjacent cafe. Morning coffee is available before breakfast - something I have not found at many hotels in Mexico. The location is 10 - 15 min walk to center of malecon (which is the ocean boardwalk) and is located on the ocean (road in front). You walk to restaurants along the malecon which is very pleasant. This hotel would be a good stay for an extended resort visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    56
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
46
74
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

El Moro is pretty and had a great position and lovely atmosphere. We stayed in one room we loved and one which was more disappointing (few things not working properly, needing maintenance work). Our main issue was that we had a poor response from staff at times which really impacted on our experience. One was (the trip advisor legendary) Carlos who failed to put our passports, money, cards etc in the safe after we handed them to him and he assured us he would (staff had to hunt around for them when we tried to get them back - doesn't inspire confidence!). And on another occasion Sylvia on the front desk was very rude and in fact quite insulting to us when we made a simple request, which was upsetting and really very unprofessional. However, Sergio on the bar and the friendly restaurant staff were great and overall we enjoyed our time there. Others have commented on the walk into town; we walked everywhere in la Paz and thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Actually bad job . This person Ricardo it's a fake he only want money for himself and the hotel is in bad condition .. Needs everything new and employers too .. The smells is like a old old old old person dog house etc.. He only tell things to take more chances about inversions .. The money isn't all Ricardo and Carlos.... Shame!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We've been taking short trips from our homebase in San Jose del Cabo to La Paz for 15 years and have tried many different accomodations in the city. Friends recommended El Morro so we gave it a whirl.

Upon our arrival the only type of room available was a "family suite" which we negotiated. The suite was clean and well equipped, but in desperate need of an update and an upgrade. There was mismatched old furniture in the living area, odd placement of wall art, noisy refridgerator, hard mattress, thin pillows, thin towels, claustrophobic smelly bathroom, poor water pressure, not enough hot water for a quick shower.

OK, we were only to be there for two nights. We thought we could cope. The location of the hotel is pretty good, on the far end of the malecon right across from the water. There is quite a bit of traffic on the road in the evening, especially on the weekends as the locals cruise the malecon for entertainment.

My husband an I were laid down to take a nap before heading out for dinner only to discover a barking dog next door. That dog barked for over 7 hours without stopping. Needless to say, no nap. We complained about the dog noise and the lack of hot water to no avail. The woman on duty at the front desk was kind and courteous but could do nothing about our concerns. We told her we would not be staying for another night.

Next morning we complained to Carlos, who was on duty. I've since read many Tripadvisor reviews mentioning rude Carlos. Why is this guy still employed at El Morro?? He was hostile and unprofessional. This guy should not be working in contact with the public.

Breakfast in the cafe attached to the hotel was wonderful and I'd highly recommend it.

We will not return to El Morro and would never recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Great location at the end of the malecon . Away from the noise & across from the ocean. If you are coming to La Paz , do yourself a favor & rent a car at the airport. It's easy going traffic & the maps are easy to follow. You would get peso'd to death paying for cabs all the time here. Everything is spread out & there is a lot to see. The drive to cabo & todos santos is an easy one day round trip if you leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskaviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutter Creek, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

My husband's extended family met in La Paz for Thanksgiving week, and most of us stayed at Club El Moro. The service was excellent! Carlos was always ready to answer any questions we had, and help us set up a tour, or call a taxi. It was wonderful! Our family stayed in a loft suite. It was very spacious and impeccably clean! There was a ton of room for storage both in the bedroom and in the living area!! It had a small living area and kitchen, a separate bedroom with queen bed, and a loft with a double and single bed. The stairs to the loft were fine for our 10 y.o., but they would not be safe for younger children. The decor was not particularly charming, but my big complaint is lack of good lighting. There was a hanging light in the living room, and a small light that we did not use because the mechanism to turn in on and off did not work well. In the bedroom there was no ceiling light, and only one small lamp on one side of the bed. Thank goodness we brought flashlights to read at night!

The grounds were very nice, and I enjoyed the bar as well as Sergio's company! He insisted I speak in Spanish so I could practice, which was wonderful! The breakfasts were good, however the service was very slow in the morning. The pool was cold, and the hot tub was not hot but very warm which my daughter and I preferred!

We are big walkers, and even for us it was quite a walk into town. However, the malecon was right across the street from the hotel, so it was a very pleasant walk. We always felt safe, even walking at night.

I would prefer a hotel closer to the center of town, but I do not feel there is a better alternative. When I return to La Paz, I will stay at Club El Moro again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SttrCrkGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights around our kayaking trip to Espiritu Santos and enjoyed the accommodations and service. Sergio is back and a great asset at the bar. The grounds and pool are beautiful and rooms are clean and comfortable. Many other guests were repeating and we felt safe and secure. The only problem was the loud bass from kids in cars hanging out across the street but turning on the a/c took care of that. Alberto was great and we took a trip with him to the playas north of town and his knowledge of the area added to the experience. My wife left her prescription glasses and they were promptly returned.
A great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
183 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
188 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club El Moro

Property: Club El Moro
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 2, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club El Moro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club El Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club El Moro Hotel La Paz
Hotel El Moro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing