We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique piece of Whimsical Architecture and Spacious rooms”
Review of Club El Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club El Moro
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Unique piece of Whimsical Architecture and Spacious rooms”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We just arrived back from La Paz, Mexico, and stayed 2 weeks at Club Moro Suites. We attended "Se Habla" Spanish Language school while we were there. You have to cut some slack for this place. If it is a best Western Hotel attached to an Appleby's restaurant that is your comfort zone, this is not the place for you. It is across the street from the 4 mile long Malecon which is a seaside promenade. This garden style hotel and pool was probably built in the1960's, and it is a charming mid-century piece of modern architecture combined, with a Moorish twist. Our apartment had two bedrooms, about 1100 square feet, with 2 baths. It was spotless. The linens were soft, and the mattresses placed on a platform, and I felt comfortable. We had several minor maintenance items, and kitchen utensil replacements, which were responded to by the management and fixed rapidly. Not a reminder was needed. There is a maintenance staff, from what I could see, working 12 hours/daily. There is a large new barbecue grill to use. Breakfast can be included in the room rate. The pool was cleaned daily, but the "dirt" referred to by a former reviewer is stained plaster. The pool needs to be drained, acid washed or sand blasted, and re-plastered. Otherwise, this was a comfortable experience in this unique structure. The manager, Carlos, and his accommodating staff were caring, helpful and speak a wonderful English.The owner seems to be there daily, overseeing everyone. La Paz is a middle class working Mexican city without kids begging for money while the moms stand by, and people hassling you for change. It felt extremely safe and pleasant for us. If you research Baja California Sur, you will find that it is the safest part of Mexico. There is a free computer to use in the lobby as well as free Wi-Fi. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or suite in the rear of the property, away from the street. If you could rent a one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    56
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
46
74
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in december and found the hotel to be just OK...froze the first night because there were not enough blankets on the beds and it was to late to ask for more....cold night. Next morning...the shower did not offer enough warm water to take a nice shower so that was not great....The suite itself is ok..the rooms are roomy and clean but basic... the beds were confortable and the TV offered channels in english with decent picture quality...OVERALL its OK and thats it...

Room Tip: internet is intermitent at best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

When we checked in, we had to change rooms because the first one was too noisy (lots of street noise). The pool was dirty and the jacuzzi ("it will be warm in 1 hour") never warmed up. We had broken kitchen implements. The man who was supposed to help us seemed more like a disinterested teenager than a helper. Also, the window in the kitchen did not fully close and there were ants in the kitchen.

The hotel grounds look nice. Generally well-kept. The beds are very hard but serviceable.

If you stay here because you really want a kitchenette, try to get a room far from the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenjakew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Clean, quiet, low-key. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. On the quiet end of the malecon which was just what we wanted. We highly recommend Club El Moro and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBridgerBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

It is a small hotel with charm. The staff are at your calling and show all the signs of wanting your vacation to be wonderful. The grounds are groomed well with palm tree's galore. The courtyard has a small pool and hot tub with a quaint bar. All of the essential services are available at the hotel. It has a small restaurant just off the courtyard that serve's a basic but wonderful breakfast and lunch. The staff at the restaurant are as devoted as you will find.
You are situated across the street from the malacone and 5 minutes from downtown. The restaurant I would reccomend is the 3 Virgins. If quality and taste is important for you, you will not be disappointed. With a very warm, italian backyard fell to it. Try the tuna tartare !

Room Tip: Loft suites will give you more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel is an older gem located on the northern end of the malecon. It is an older property but very well kept and clean. Close to the restaurants but far enough north as not to be noisy at night. The staff was very helpful with our needs when we arrived with two small dogs. The rooms were large and the kitchen was well equipped for those who wanted to cook or were planning an extended visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BajaAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas & Cabo San Lucas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I've been to the El Morro for the last 5 years. I've watched them survive some very bad weather and keep improving after every hardship. Any one who does not ratethis place high was either blind or happen to drop in after one of the hurricanes hit! The staff is very friendly and will go the extra distance for you. It is charming and a great location on the malacon. Many of my friends from Cabo San Lucas have stayed here and loved it! We all stay here when we are in La Paz!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrTesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
491 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
1.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
188 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club El Moro

Property: Club El Moro
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 2, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club El Moro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club El Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club El Moro Hotel La Paz
Hotel El Moro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing