We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best resort option in La Paz, but not quite 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Bullhead CIty, AZ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“The best resort option in La Paz, but not quite 5 star”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent a week at CostaBaja after a family member recommended it as one of the most beautiful hotels she has stayed in and was a great value. We planned to stay for a week after the holidays, as a "buffer" between another vacation and getting back to work.

First the pros: the property is beautiful and well cared for. The infinity pool at the Beach Club is very nice and warm enough to swim even on cooler days. The beach is mostly sand (with some rocks - not a natural beach) and the warnings about sting rays could apply to most any protected sand beach along the Sea of Cortez but is clean and has a nice view of the Bay of La Paz. Rooms are nice (with a few cons I will address) and have nice higher end toiletries as would be expected, and comfortable beds. The biggest "pro" is the staff -- all of the staff from the front desk, to the ladies who clean the rooms, to the ladies who bring chocolates door to door in the afternoon (a nice touch!) we very customer service oriented. Golfers were very impressed by the course and facilities -- I do not golf, so cannot comment directly.

The cons: Although the property and rooms are nice, there are a few things that make for a less-than-5-star property. First are the rooms themselves; there is no mini-bar or even refrigerator or microwave, and instead they provide a "food preserver" (looks like a mini wine cabinet) that is not cool but humidity controlled. Likewise, if you want ice, you need to call the front desk and request it. It is not provided automatically, and it is clear the hotel does not want guest drinking or enjoying snacks in their room but rather encourages people to drink/eat in the restaurants (I even had trouble finding a bottle opener on the property when I brought a beer from in town and the restaurant staff who opened it made a gesture as though he was not supposed to open drinks from outside doing me a favor by doing so). The shower is nice, roomy, and romantic; but is all glass in the center of the room frosted in the middle - so, keep this in mind if staying with families or if any sort of privacy is desired. Likewise the toilet stall: just a glass door that hinges without sealing so every noise and... well, you can use your imagination. It was easy to tell from the bed when the toilet was last used :) The rooms are not soundproof, so the TV in the adjacent room was very noticeable as well as the noises from the hallway. The hotel itself is a few miles out of town along a not-pedestrian-friendly roadway, so the free hotel shuttle is used to go downtown (leaves mostly every one or two hours depending on the time of day) but a taxi ride is required outside of shuttle times - about $10 USD each direction. The spa menu is inviting and we did not partake so cannot comment on the actual services themselves, but are overpriced considering the actual spa facility. No jacuzzi, steam room/sauna are very basic and similar to any fitness center I have been in).

Their are five restaurants on the CostaBaja property; two of them are in the hotel itself, two in the marina shopping area, and one in the golf clubhouse. We ate in four of them and overall found all of them with the exception of the Italian restaurant to be very overpriced, even considering this is a resort. We spent the equivalent of $30 USD for one very small and plain breakfast burrito, a few potatoes, and coffee at the golf clubhouse. Steinbeck's is nice, has a nice ambiance, but again - $10 USD for a margarita and mixed drinks; $40 USD for an OK steak -- better to eat in town.

One more thing to keep in mind: it is actually cheaper to fly into Los Cabos and take the free shuttle (about 1 1/2 hr away), than fly into La Paz, only about 30 minutes away: the hotel will provide free transportation to Los Cabos - but from the La Paz airport you will be charged $32 USD (or 350 pesos) each way. Taxis are more expensive in La Paz than some other cities, but prices are fixed and consistent. We were able to haggle a little in town, but not much.

Overall, the positives outweigh the negatives and the price value was good, just remember this is a "nice" hotel, the pool and beach very nice, and you will pay more than US prices for most food and drink; but, it is not really a five-star resort. All in all, we would definitely go back assuming were were able to get a good around $100-per-night per-night deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qualnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    159
    46
    13
    23
See reviews for
157
307
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had booked this on-line from a limited choice of decent hotels in La Paz. Unfortunately it is quite a long way from the town so you need to drive in or take the hotel's shuttle. You will have to do this if you want a decent meal as the restaurants on site are mediocre at best.
The beach is nice but not ideal for swimming or paddling as there are lots of stingrays in the sand so you have to wade in very carefully.
We arrived on a Friday at the same time as several American families. So the beach club was crowded out by them.
We had the best room - a super suite - but despite the provision of a large wet bar, there were no glasses, bottle openers or any facilities for making drinks!
There is lots of building work going on around the hotel and next to it is a dock for tankers delivering liquid gas to the large storage facility in the bay.
Although the hotel was OK we have stayed in much better places and did not like the location, so cut short our visit and went to Todos Santos which we greatly preferred.

Room Tip: Room 406, a 'super-suite' was the best in the hotel with a large bedroom, sitting room and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186361Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico city
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was my second stay here, because I am beginning to hate all inclusive monster and crowded properties, I really enjoyed it, the staff is courteous, the hotel is immaculate, the beach club is never crowded.
This hotel should improve the beds and pillows, what about a pillow menu… and heating the pool.
We took the shuttle every day, and took a picture of the schedule after missing it a couple of times, English Punctuality!!
Steinbeck’s is delicious, we had octopus and a T bone, !!!!
The buffette at mosaic is average, a bit limited there[s not a lot of variety and a chef should be supervising it, the bar where you find the buffette looks old, so improve this!
The water sports are so much fun! We rented this blue raft with pedals and went to discover the beach that is just behind the beach club, make sure you take cash because you can’t charge this to your room.
Finally the waiter who is in the pool that s just right outside mosaic brought us breakfast, he was like the best employee there, and he is Jesus or Juan.
I will definitely go back at least once a year, it is great to see that this property is pet friendly ill take my furry girl there too.

Room Tip: Choose the third floor, any view will do!! Golf or pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We really enjoyed our family getaway. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff works hard to make guests happy. Jonathon, the bellman, and Luis at the front desk were very helpful.
A few issues with lack of towels did not get in the way of the experience. Breakfast buffet was good. We woud certainly return

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor which gave us a good view of the Bahia
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We are just winding up a week at the resort. Overall the experience was very good. The resort is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's low key, mostly couples and families. The rooms are quiet and there are many great trips to be organized through the hotel. That's the good stuff.

On the other side of the coin is the poor service at most of the restaurants in the resort. We ate at three. The Azul Marina had good food and fast service. However, at Steinbeck we had a poor experience. We had had a late lunch so ordered apps. Salads, in fact. After 45 minutes of nothing we inquired about them. Then they came in five minutes. Maybe just a slip up except that it happened again at other restaurants. Plus they have the odd habit of lining up dirty glasses on the bar only a few feet from our table. Not the nicest view. If you come here, head into La Paz for some great local restaurants. The best was Three Virgins which has a nice courtyard and amazing food and service at a reasonable price.

Bottom line is come here for the resort and location but plan to eat out.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank DJ22258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had high expectations when checking into this hotel considering that it was rated a "5 star" hotel. But upon checking in, we found that they did not recognize the reservation that we had made weeks in advance. We were given a higher price than on our reservation and when we explained this mistake, the check in staff argued with us that our reservation wasn't valid. When we showed them the print out of our reservation, they said that they didn't have this and could we please send this to them again by email. Why would a 5 star hotel lose a guest's reservation? Service like this continued throughout our stay. We were told that breakfast was included in our stay but when we called about the breakfast time, were told that we would have to pay for our breakfast. This was remedied after I had to go in person with the printout of our reservation confirming that breakfast was included.

Other service issues were when we had trouble explaining ourselves in Spanish to the serving staff. We were sneered at and a face was made when our requests could not be explained in Spanish.

So overall, we felt stressed out by the service and couldn't really relax until the reservation issues and charges made to our reservation were sorted out. On the positives, it was a lovely property and it was nice that the hotel pool was heated. We were in the La Paz area for two weeks and this was the only hotel pool we found that was both filtered and heated. The hotel also was quiet enough. We stayed at two other hotels during this trip and it could be that we were there during the Christmas rush but the two other hotels, the Hotel Marina and the Grand Plaza both had loud pounding music that went on every night until 3 in the morning.

I wanted to give this hotel more stars but I couldn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Pretty place and very civilized. Slightly short-staffed the week leading up to Christmas. Enjoyed both restaurants. Appreciated that the fishing boat we hired could pick us up right at the marina in front of the hotel. I'm supposed to write more here so I can submit this review, so here I am writing more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JETwestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
14.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#5 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Property: CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing