We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely views, specially from the infinity pool at the beach club, the white beach is beautifully groomed each morning and you can walk forever in the sea which seems more like a lake because it is so serene.
It is worth upgrading to a suite which have lovely terraces where we enjoyed dinner from room-service with the view of the sea and the marina and the shower is outside which was great fun.
They could improve on their reception skills as it does take forever to check in and the room was not ready until 4 o'clock which after a five hour drive from Loreto did not sit well, we were sent to the beach club where the service unfortunately was not very good because the place is very nice.
All in all a very agreeable stay, housekeeping was very helpful and the food was good, would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patricia247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    162
    46
    13
    23
See reviews for
157
310
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent choice if you want to have a relaxing time in La Paz. Costa Baja has everything you need to have a great time. The golf club house is not in the hotel and you need transportation to take you to the club house and back to the hotel. This is not a big deal!!! I thought the prices for the stay were reasonable and the staff was very friendly and helpful...We are going back to La Paz and Costa Baja in Jan of 2015...I would recommend this hotel for families with children...You wont be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view not the hills or golf course view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfisherken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Do not miss out on this great hotel. Personnel is extremely helpful and kind, the view is amazing and everything is super great!! Beds are super comfortable, location is wonderful, service great... really, something to talk about

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just came back from spending a week there a very beautiful resort, but I would like to share our experience and our guests experience with Costa Baja Resort, which was the worst and most disgusting customer service we have ever experienced.

We booked our transportation to pick up our guests in Los Cabos to come to our wedding at Costa Baja resort. We paid transportation in full, and on the day that the transportation was to pick up our guests did not even show up at the airport, and left our guests stranded in Los Cabos. They had to find a taxi that cost them over $300.00. No one bothered to contact me that my guests did not have the transportation that we setup for them. I called down that morning to check to make sure they got picked up and they told me there was a mix up and the transportation did not show up. I went down to the front desk with my wife and mother in-law to speak with the General Manager Eduardo, and he refused to help us or even check to see if they could confirm if my guests where picked up. Instead h just kept saying it was not his problem and was budget the transportation companies mistake. We insisted that he at least call budget to find out what happened and he closed the door in my mother in-laws face. We did end up getting a refund after going back and forth with Karen the staff there.

2. The Condos we booked where all suppose to be 3 bedroom condos which was stated on our invoices and confirmed many times over the phone. When we checked in to our condos there was only one condo with 3 bedrooms and the rest where 2 bedrooms which would not accommodate our guests. We spent over 2 hours arguing with the front desk, and the manager would not take responsibility that they made a mistake. They finally got us 2 other three bedrooms, but left us with 1 two bedroom condo which had to have some of our guests sleep on the couch. From there when we checked out we had got a promotion of pay 2 nights get one free, which 1 of the condos was booked a month after the other ones and originally they said the promotion was over and the would not give us the 3rd night free. After speaking with them on the phone on Feb. 19th they adjusted it giving us the 3rd night free. When we went to check out on Tuesday they charged us for the additional night even after showing proof that there staff approved the 3rd night free with the invoice that had the date on it that clearly only charged us for 2 nights. The Front desk Manager Sylvain Parvy said that he would not change it and we had to pay for the 3 nights. The only thing he would offer is to give us the promotion if we ever came back to the resort, which makes no sense at all when he stated that promotion was over and would not give it to us for the one that was booked. Also the night before when we went down to review the bill with them and saw that error and another staff member told us that they made a mistake and would change it, then the next day when we went to check out even with the invoice that we had from before and the adjustment they made, Luis the front desk staff that was checking us out was rude and said that he would not do it for us and to show proof and when I showed the proof he went to the back and told Sylvain and he came out and would not honor it.

I spent more then 4 hours of my vacation in the lobby arguing with the staff, it was a nightmare of an experience. We are not difficult people we only wanted what we where told, our wedding was a total nightmare because of the staff at Costa Baja. There where a few people that worked on the resort that where helpful Karla was very helpful, Felipe the valet parking guy when we where going through all the problems he was there to try to help us in anyway he could.

Like I said beautiful resort, but the staff is terrible, have no communication skills and don't honor there promotions they advertise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego,CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place is really serene. If you want to relax, eat great food, and be well attended to then look no further. If you want to people watching, connect with new travel friends, or do anything other than zone out then skip this place. I been here two years ago for a day visit and it was just as quiet so I knew what to expect this visit. In some ways it was eerily quite and beside wait staff was the only person at the pool for hours. At the beach, I was one of three. In late afternoon, there are about 20 people at the beach club. The marina was equally quiet and we went there to scuba with FunBaja located in the marina. The food and drinks were great at hotel, marina restaurant, and beach club. Prices are equal to US resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthfulGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinrooi, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at this resort for 4 nights on 3 different occasions in april 2014. The standard rooms are nice. Only strange thing is the glass shower, which is situated in the middle of the room. The layout of the hotel is very nice and spaciaous. It has 2 adjacent Marina's and some beachvillas in front of the hotel. One of the Marinas has some restaurants and shops aside it, as well as condos.

From the hotel it is a short stroll over a sandy beach to the excellent beachclub. The beachclub has an infinity pool looking out over the bay of la Paz. The food served in the bar/lounge & restaurant here was very nice. In the hills opposite to the hotel there is a golfcourse. From the clubhouse you have a phenomenal view of the entire resort.

Service at the resort was great. The staff will serve you're every need. When we got picked up from the airport by the hotel staff it took me 5 minutes to arrange a whaleshark tour the next day (I can highly recommend the tour with Fun Baja). They even have people driving you around the resort in golfcarts if you're feeling lazy. Only downside i can mention here was the checkin desk. I took them forever to check people in, and on my frist visit we arived at 12 noon and couldn't get to our room until 17:00 (it was very busy because of a triathlon, but still).
The location of the hotel might be a problem for some people. It is very secluded, and lies about 5 miles outside of town, but the hotel has a shuttle service every hour and a taxi cost about $8.

In summary : Great hotel, great service, just have a bit of patience with checking in.......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruksma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The Beach Club setting is beautiful but the food and service mediocre. We were the only customers and it took too long to get a cup of coffee and refills weren't offered until our meal was served. The huevos rancheros was very basic. With tip it was $48 for three people. For twice that amount we had a spectacular gourmet dining experience at Azul Marino along the marina. I think most people are careful how they spend their money these days....this was not the case. Guess they don't need the business.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh and Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
491 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
188 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Property: CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing