We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Costa Baja Resort for two nights. The lobby is gorgeous with an ocean-themed décor and Manta Rays hanging on the wall. Check-in was efficient and quick. Our room was a nice size for two with a balcony overlooking the Marina entrance. The shower is located in the middle of the room, which was unique. The room's AC worked very well, and was quiet. Our first day we went to the lower pool, which is an infinity pool overlooking the beach. The water was a perfect temperature, and the pool is large enough to swim laps. The wait staff at the pool are a little slow. We ordered some food and it took about 40 minutes to arrive, and it was cold. There were only about 10 people at the pool so this seemed a little long to wait. We never saw the waiter again for drink refills. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings and enjoyed the choices, especially the made-to-order omelet bar. Steinbeck's is the other restaurant at the resort. The food is delicious. Our waiter was Armando, and he was excellent, very attentive, and was always there whenever we needed anything. The maid staff cleaned our room with efficiency and added a nice touch to our stay. This is a great Resort for couples or families. Another plus is no charge for WIFI. Overall, this is a beautiful resort and we had a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms are quiet and have some sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RLH89Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff is professional, gentle and they do whatever they can do to make you happy. The hotel is clean and quite so not noisy during the night. The pool is attached to the beach which is very beautiful and you can just walk and swim to the see or to the pool in few seconds. The staff over there is always available and willing to make you happy. They let you feel very welcome. The people in La Paz city are very very nice as well and the city is very safe I never had a bad feeling and you can see the family with their kids walking in the city late in the night. The food at the restaurant by the beach is wonderful and well prepared ( I suggest to try the Carpaccio of tuna is very good ( I am Italian so I know about good and fine food ). By the way they have a good Mexican and international Cousine as well. The hotel is very clean and the room very nice and clean as well. There are a few good restaurants close to the hotel just 3 minutes by walking. I went around to see other hotels in La Paz becuse the see is so beatiful that i was already plan for the next trip but I have to say the CostaBaja Resort & Spa is the best in the city so I plan to stay again at the CostaBaja Resort & Spa. I was talking with the other guest and even them agree with my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiusiDiNoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel is absolutely beautiful, grounds, Marina, upper pool, Beach club pool, restaurants too. I was here for 6 nights. Plenty to see and do or just relax. Town is a $12 taxi ride and very family oriented clean safe town, no pushy sales people. Not a typical Party town as Cabo is. We used concierge ( they had best prices) for Dorado fishing and other trips. The Hotel cooked our dorado(aka Mahi Mahi) that night in Steinbecks restaurant. the restaurant is excellent. Ate there 2 Nights. Golf course on site is amaxzing. Room was clean. Has flat screen, safe, mini fridge. Glass shower in Middle of room. Nice room. I had Ocean View. Golf and Marina View are nice as well. Can't go wrong. Drinks and food not cheap but realy not terrible. As expected in a top end resort. I will be coming back!

Room Tip: I would book an Ocean View Room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JoeNixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights & found the staff really helpful. The hotel was very nice with the bedroom being of a good size & well appointed. The shower was nice and of a good size. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the pool and we were on the top floor which I would recommend as you then get a view over the pool & surrounding buildings to the bay of La Paz. The food was probably the one thing I would criticise as we found the choice quite limited & the menu not very imaginative. The beach club was a nice place to while away the day with a well stocked bar & plenty of loungers, and some nice snacks for lunch. The pool at the beach club is a good size so you can have a decent swim as well as a cool off from the heat. Our stay was very comfortable & peaceful & if that's what you want you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor overlooking the pool & the bay of La Paz. The rooms at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

5 stars is not enough for this property, the rooms are excellent, beds comfy, high quality linens, spacious and quiet. The staff was excellent, restaurant good.
If I would make a suggestion is that when the hotel is at low occupancy I would suggest that management could upgrade rooms from the back (golf course driveway side) to beach or bay view, the rooms are empty in any case and it would improve customer loyalty immensely.
Previously this property was priced beyond our willingness to pay, it is now competitive for the market. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a peaceful place, beautiful settings, but what is amazing is the service, Rene welcomed us and showed us around, the rooms are impeccable, the waiters like Fernando and the rest are super-professionals, there is one waiter that gave us a royal treatment: Armando, if you read this, you are the man!!
Thank you everyone that did our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianencabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Gorgeous facilities. The seasight is wonderful an the Marina Restaurants are pretty nice, good staff, a little bit slow, say things twice. Is a bit far from the city and bars, but their activities eclipse the issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TelesforaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
570 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#24 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
189 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: £109 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing