We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to Stay Warm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Del Sol
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How to Stay Warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Starting with the weather, the whole experience was nice & warm. Eberhard & Renate were really great hosts. Always very helpful in all the ways you can think of & more that you do not think of 'cause you do not live there ! It is really quiet so if you are looking to be entertained with noisy things, then this is not for you. The beach is a short walk away, nice & sandy, very calm, easy to swim in. The local people are very friendly, shopping at the local stores is a really great experience & a lot of fun. I am looking forward to going back again !

Room Tip: There is a great selection of places for your particular desire.... find the selection on their web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jervas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Hacienda Del Sol for a week. It was incredible time.Besides that the end of April probably is not a perfect time to go,because it gets incredibly hot. For at least four days it was 96 degrees. Than it cool off to 86,which was such a relief for us.
The owners were very helpful. And we had everything we needed. Doctor Aleman gave us a guitar and keyboard. So we had a music with us this whole time. He also gave us a little laptop and we had internet.There is nice BBQ area,right by the pool. And you can do the laundry right on the property with a small donation of 20 pesos.
We had a little problem with cockroaches,because of previous guests. But they fixed it as soon as we let them know.Doctor Aleman would advise us places to go every morning and we followed his advice. It was a good time. My favorite place,he recommended is Piano museum in little town named El Triunfo. I even got a chance to play for Maestro. I recommend Hacienda Del Sol to all my friends. And we definitely will be back there some time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaro4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Haceinda del Sol. Eberhard & Renate were very welcoming & incredibly helpful. They were always available to answer any questions.

Our unit was clean & we had everything that we needed. The weather was beautiful & the city of La Paz was a short drive away. The people were friendly & helpful.

I cannot wait to go back!!

Debbie

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a wonderful time. Eberhard & Renata are wonderful hosts. They literally greeted us with open arms. They welcomed us with a hug! They were extremely helpful.Eberhard took us grocery shopping and out to dinner the nite we arrrived, as he knew it was getting late and we were tired. He educated us on which potatoes, eggs, etc were best to buy & how to tell if a pineapple was ripe. The next morning he brought a map of La Paz over to our casita and marked out where to go, what to see, where to buy great coffee, ice cream, good restaurants, etc. The hacienda is in a very quiet area, so you can rest and relax. We had beautiful birds of all sizes and colours visiting us daily. Renata loaned us her bird book so we could identify them.We also had a white bunny visit, so make sure you buy carrots! Our casita was lovely. Vey clean & well equipped with a comfortable bed. Our only complaint was that we couldn't have stayed longer!! Next year we'll try to stay 3 or 4 weeks. 1 week just wasn't long enough. There are 2 pools to cool off in. The one in the attached R.V. park is unique, being built around a big cactus.(The lifeguard?) The folks who live year round in the park are great. Being our first time we were unsure about borrowing one of the cars, and there was always someone who would give you a lift into town for supplies. Thanx Tom. Or... take you out for a tour and lunch before you bought your groceries! Thanx Ray!! Eberhard also was very gracious about letting us use his computer to check email, so we could stay in touch with our house sitter.
All in all we had a terrific time and can't wait to go back. If you go remember to take some good used clothing and/or medical supplies for Renata's charities. She will really appreciate it! We're looking forward to seeing everyone next year & are mapping out our trip already. We highly recommend Hacienda Del Sol!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vipaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband & I just loved this place. Ebrhard & Renate were the hosts with the most!! We are planning our return trip for this year. We love the peaceful, contented atmosphere - no cell, no TV, no laptop UNLESS you want to use Eberhard's. It is everything their website says it is and MORE!!!!

Room Tip: If your partner reads late into the night, invest in a small reading lamp or rent the Casa Sonrisa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanKen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I had a great time at Hacienda Del Sol. The little casita we stayed in was clean had everything we needed i.e. refrigerator, toaster, stove, sink, hot water, and the Eberhard and Renate let us borrow a blender.

This property is quiet and has friendly people that stay in the back of the prop (the r.v. area). We went to dinner with Eberhard and his Renate at least 3 times, they are good company. This area of La Paz (El Comitan) is about 10-15 minutes from the airport and about 12-15 minutes from downtown La Paz. Eberhard is always willing to drop off and pick up at bus stops. Usually he or someone from the Hacienda are going into town, you don't even have to catch a bus.

You can rent one of many vehicles there. I saw a jeep, PT cruiser, vw bug, and a van. Also there are 2 sailboats and a panga. We rented the panga for a day and it was great being on the water.

If you like a quiet nights sleep, nice owners, peaceful atmosphere, and a sweet dog named Chavo. This is a great place to come stay for at least a couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I had an amazing time during our week long vacation in La Paz. The Hacienda del Sol was beautiful, quiet, and clean. Eberhard and Renate were gracious hosts and spent the time giving us great information about where to go and what to do in and around La Paz. We are already planning our next trip back to the Hacienda del Sol.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
7.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
5.5 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
6.3 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#4 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
7.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol

Property: Hacienda Del Sol
Address: Calle 3, Lote 6 | Colonia Comitan, La Paz, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda del Sol is different from any standard hotel. Our guests have the option of a Studio, Palapas or Bungalows. They all are complete furnished with a full kitchen, not just a kitchenette, have their own patio, nice swimming pool with a shady palapa, a little bar to use and a BBQ. The beach is in about 100 yd and to downtown are 11 miles to drive on a four-lane. Great restaurants are close by and the next grocery store is in 3 driving minutes. Our community here is very quiet for a good night rest with our fantastic, firm, orthopedic mattresses.We also have kayaks, sail boats, fishing boats (Pangas)and Hobby Cat 16 for rent.All proceeds are donated to different local organizations like the Red Cross, Orphanage, Old Folks Home and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel La Paz
Hacienda Del Sol La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing