We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Italy in La Paz”
Review of Gemma Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gemma Inn B&B
Ranked #14 of 25 La Paz B&B and Inns
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little Italy in La Paz”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Wonderful hospitality in a quiet part of town. Emmy and Mauro will take you around and arrange for any kind of trip you want. Everyone else has mentioned the great breakfast so I don't have to (although don't miss the orange jam) but the espresso coffee is the best this side of Naples.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rpark888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothbury
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay having read all the reviews on TripAdvisor. Our hosts Emy and son George were natural hosts as though we were family and welcomed us to their comfortable home. The rooms face onto a picturesque courtyard containing a pool in partial shade - a treat for the very hot days in La Paz. We decided to take Emy up on a authentically cooked italian meal - she did not disappoint and we thoroughly enjoyed her company over a glass of wine each night. La Paz is unspoilt and quaint with many opportunities for swimming, sightseeing and eating good food (especially fish). We took a recommended tour to the outlying islands with Espirtiu Santo: great value at 790MXP each for 8 hrs of sightseeing, snorkelling, chasing dolphins and orcas including a tasty fish salsa lunch. Absolutely the highlight of our holiday. We liked La Paz and would probably prefer it over Los Cabos with all its hussle and bussle and increasing hotel building - if you're into nightlife and golf, it is for you. La Paz is the poor neighbour but with lovely unspoilt buildings, good food and quiet, sandy beaches with clear warm water.
One precaution we would add is that cards are not accepted (although you can use it to reserve the accommodation), but there is a HSBC nearby. Also, as said in other reviews, it's a bit of a trek to the malecon, but if you don't mind a walk, its not bad and taxis are cheap. It was beneficial being on the quiet outskirts of La Paz espcially when there's a celebration downtown!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RothburyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We believe this is the most beautiful place to stay in La Paz. Our host and hostess, Mauro and Emy are wonderfully warm people, always with a quick smile or a helping hand in planning anything we wanted to do. The accommodations are extremely neat and tidy and possesses the ambiance of a beautiful villa complete with a pool. We have stayed here twice now and eagerly look forward to a third visit next winter. (Ray and Linda)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayandlindacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We felt very well cared for - a good breakfast every morning in the outdoor courtyard and a genuine, empathic responsiveness to all of our questions. She is really what makes this inn special! The inn itself is simple and clean with a small pool.
The only negative is that it is in the middle of town and there isn't much within walking distance. The Malecon is about two miles away. It would be best to have a car if you stay here. Otherwise, it is a fine home base for exploring La Paz.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
183 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
420 reviews
2.0 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#11 of 39 in La Paz
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Lolita
Hotel Quinta Lolita
#35 of 39 in La Paz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemma Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemma Inn B&B

Property: Gemma Inn B&B
Address: Durango 2090, La Paz 23040, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gemma Inn B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gemma Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing