We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night with Nelson and Kieran at 1697!”

El Zopilote Brewery & Cocina
Ranked #16 of 83 Restaurants in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: El Zopilote Brewery & Cocina, former Restaurant 1697 open its doors in 2006, we serve Mexican specialties, salads, meets, pizzas and pub type of snaks that complement our home brews our Pale Ale, IPA and stout and the seasonal brews in spring and winter, we also offer a small wine list and a full bar service. The restaurant is managed by owners Kieran and Norma
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun night with Nelson and Kieran at 1697!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had been next door at a wonderful place, Mita Gourmet, and happened across the sign for Craft Beer at 1697 - determined to return and try out the Scorpion dark beer. We were not disappointed!! Nelson greeted us warmly and supplied us with not only a great beer, but also a very good wine (Chilean) which is hard to find on the Baja. We then went in for the chile relleno - which was a departure from the usual gummy, starchy version, and instead was light (despite the inclusion of beef) and paired well with both the wine AND the beer. We also encountered a very fun, interesting bunch of other guests that made our evening not only delicious but memorable. We would definitely return and will recommend this to our pals heading to Loreto!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellinglight08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    55
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
homshopper
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Craft beer, ok food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The ambiance was good. Tucked away near the square. We dined on the stuffed chili relleno and a pizza. The waiter was more than helpful and the food was good, but not what it could have been. This was my 3rd chili relleno meal in Loreto, as I had just discovered them on this trip, and this one was below average. Ground beef in a pepper...sigh. The pizza was good, but again, nothing to drive a 4 or 5 star review. The bread and garlic butter they bring to the table to begin the meal was the only thing memorable. Overall...nice place to eat, but after you have tried many of the other places in Loreto.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank homshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best in Loreto”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Consistently great food. Craft beers are pretty good as well. The staff could not have been friendlier. It is at the high end price-wise in town, but worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank blstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“only spot for a micro brew”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Originally stopped for a La Paz brewery micro brew, I needed a dark beer after too many Coronas, Modelos (negro wasn't always available) and Tecates. So we stopped for a "scorpion dark", quite tasty although not as good as the Helena Blackfoot Scottish, we had plans for dinner elsewhere so didn't eat, but while there a fisherman came in (most restaurants will cook your fish for a modest fee) and had too much for himself. We checked with the fisherman and the owner and for 65 pesos ($1 us = 13 pesos) he agreed to make cerviche out of the yellow fin tuna. It was the best cerviche I ate in Mexico, which is setting the bar high. All in all I would highly recumbent the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lakehost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornbrook, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good variety on the menu”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It is a nice place, and you can sit outside facing the courtyard and plaza. The food is good and reasonable, service good too. If you want to eat Italian or other non Mexican varieties, this is a great place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 96044UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Zopilote Brewery & Cocina also viewed

Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 

Been to El Zopilote Brewery & Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing