We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute comfy clean casitas.....”
Review of Sukasa Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukasa Bungalows
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute comfy clean casitas.....”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Sukasa very much. Joyce was extremely hospitable and helpful with any questions about Loreto. The location is perfect. There are several bars nearby that do tend to get a bit noisy on weekend but she is very upfront about that when booking (they drive her crazy, poor woman) but the rest of the time the location makes up for that nuisance.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elphiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Absolutely loved the location, the bungalows (massive!!!) and the hospitality. The garden is a real treat, excellent for post-beach/excursions relaxation and post dinner chat! Bungalows are simply grand: beautifully decorated and comfortably equipped with all that's necessary. Make good use of the earplugs (provided in all bedrooms) on Saturday nights, the nearby disco can be very noisy until very late at night/early morning.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enryfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Sukasa is just lovely...the owners make you feel right at home. Very clean which is a must for us. Great location, right on the Malacon so it is easy to walk to the town plaza and lots of local eateries.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terterOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Beth was a wonderful host, helped connect us to the internet and with eco tour guides, told us about the farmers' market, and introduced us to her cats.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Eleven of us filled up SuKasa from Christmas through New Years day and had a great family reunion/vacation. Joyce answered multiple emails before we came concerning the arrangements for our four family groups and she and Carmen were gracious hostesses during our stay. Joyce went above and beyond, from giving us a tour of Loreto and trip to the supermercado when we arrived to finding us a cake pan for us to make a birthday cake.The Casita was a perfect cooking and card game headquarters for the family, and provided quiet nights for the grandparents. The rest of us occupied the bungalows and yurt. Joyce put us in touch with Juve Orozca, a great guide (Sea and Land Eco Tours of Loreto) who dropped by the Bungalows on our first day and discussed a wide range of activities for our family--thank you, Joyce, for the referral! SuKasa, Juve, and Loreto provided all that we needed for eight days of relaxation. We did not need a car rental--we could easily reach all of the restaurants, markets, and stores that we needed on foot. On holidays be prepared for noisy nights (blaring music) along the malecon. Joyce warned us--and provided earplugs!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Our stay at the Sukasa Bungalows could not have been more enjoyable. Right on the Malecon, the place is across the street from the Sea of Cortez. Our two hosts, Joyce and Beth, were attentive and helpful without getting in the way. Our place was airy and light, clean and cheerful. One night, we joined our hosts and fellow guest for a wonderful dinner cooked by Carmen, who takes care of the rooms. The three cats that run the place are a perfect antidote for travelers who have to leave their cats behind and need a feline fix!
Joyce and Beth let us borrow a couple of bikes, which we made good use of riding around town and along the water. This is the best place to stay in lovely Loreto!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heydagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

After meeting Joyce while in Mulege, we soon decided to stay at Sukasa while on a small trip down to Loreto. This was definitely one of the best decisions we made on that trip! The casita was nice and cozy with a roomy bathroom and little kitchen. We loved lounging in the garden and looking out at the malecon which is right in front of the bungalows. With Joyce's help we were even able to set up a surprise birthday party for a new friend in the garden complete with a mariachi band. Though the internet seemed to not work on our laptop other people staying there were able to pick it up. Overall, we had a great time at Sukasa and even stayed an extra night because we didnt want to leave. Thank you so much for a wonderful trip. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.5 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
1.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Loreto
Hotel Plaza Loreto
#11 of 20 in Loreto
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukasa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukasa Bungalows

Property: Sukasa Bungalows
Address: Loreto, Loreto, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing