We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with a few minor downers. Noisey if you room faces the street.”
Review of Motel Junipero

Motel Junipero
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Junipero
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“A nice place with a few minor downers. Noisey if you room faces the street.”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Upon arrival at this hotel I was shown 2 rooms in the newly added wing across the street. They were very nice and looked brand new but I was then told the wi fi signal wouldn't reach but maybe we could pick up the signal of the shop below. We took another room (number 4) in the main building. There was a massive king size bed, a/c, cable tv and seperate (from each other) toilet and shower. On closer inspection one of the shower doors was missing but this didn't matter too much.

There was a verandah running in front of the room where you could sit and people watch. There was also one at the back with views of the old mision. These rooms at the back would undoubtly be more peaceful. there was a lot of street noise day and night. On closer inspection the wall facing the street was made of flimsy ply board type material and there were gaps between this board and the window frames. Also the door with glass panels did not have a curtain which let in a lot of light in the mornings.

Overall I think it was fairly good value for the price (400 pesos for two people) but definitely get a room at the back with the mision view or across the street if the potential lack of wi fi doesn't bother you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed in a double room for one night after moving from a hotel near the bus station. Paid only 400p and was very impressed. Room quite large and faced the mission at the back. Bed very comfty and bathroom had a HUGE shower. Staff were very friendly and polite and spoke only a little english. Location great in the centre of town. Def recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Stayed at Motel Junipero in March 2009. We previously stayed there in March 2008. Motel Junipero's prices have gone up a little, but it is worth the price. Motel Junipero is also undergoing construction (the owners have purched property across the street from the original building. Those rooms have been completed...they are currently refurbishing the old rooms), but it was not an interferance with our stay.

Motel Junipero is centrally located and a bargain for Loreto. Lots of newer hotels going in, but their prices are not within my price-range. No swimming pool, or dining fascilities, but located just down the road from the malecon and lots of dining establishments.

Helpful?
Thank bajakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Firstly, we arrived after a terrible experience with another hotel, and I was able to strike 50 pesos off the price due to the low season. The room was large, comfortable, and in the best location in town, for a considerably better price than the other hotels in the area. The only downside was the temperature of the shower, which began nice and warm but cooled down considerably after a minute. There is a colour tv with cable, and 2 tables. The door to the bathroom was too big for the doorway so it didn´t close, but we didn´t care too much. And how can you say no to a king sized bed?!

In the middle of the night I heard the most disturbing noise that sounded like a cross between a howl and a cry pass by our doors, after watching a Twilight episode on the TV I couldn´t sleep for hours!

Highly recommeded, in any case.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — The shower water temperature
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessarex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2006

We stayed at the Motel Junipero ,very good deal ,if you are on a budget. I have stayed there before it is not fancy, but it is a good price and a good location.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12cgtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 August 2003

The good old Junipero. Been there several times and have yet to be disappointed. It is not the Waldorf Astoria but definitely worth a try.
It is basically very clean for the Mexico dust. They clean daily and do a good job of it. The help is always eager to help. Knowing some Spanish helps here. The location is close enough to everything in town.
Why waste your money on a place that gives you the same or less but makes you think they are the greatest just because they advertise or make package deals. You can make your own fishing deal and stay at the Junipero plus be very happy. Most any outfitter in Loreto will set up the Junipero for you ahead of time if you ask. A very happy Loreto fisherman. Not the same for Aero California though.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2003

Inexpensive but for similar price you can get off the noisy dusty mainstreet and get on the beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Loreto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Loreto
Hotel Plaza Loreto
#11 of 20 in Loreto
52 reviews
22.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Desert Inn at Loreto
Desert Inn at Loreto
#16 of 20 in Loreto
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Junipero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Junipero

Property: Motel Junipero
Address: La Mision, Loreto,, Loreto, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Junipero Hotel Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing