We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is in transition now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Inn at Loreto
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A friend and I stayed here last week. Used to be the La Pinta, just N of the end of the malecon and a block off the beach. Good location but the hotel appeared to have been closed down for at least a year, maybe before reopening as a Desert Inn. So the grounds had been neglected, no wifi, limited restaurant service (but there was a bat flying around in the dining room). The folks who where there were friendly and helpful, but they appear just now to be trying to clean up and restore the grounds. No cars should have been a clue, only one other room appeared to be occupied. The room was nice, but I'd avoid this one for a few months while the current management gets the place back into shape.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Desert Inn at Loreto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Where to begin? No air conditioning no TV, pool like ice, bar tender never there, no coffee until 8 am, no wifi EVER. Ask the manager when anything will work, standard answer "one hour." And really watch the weird step into the bathroom. Just odd.

Room Tip: While you are in Loreto eat at La Palyapa! fantastic food
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthevansidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a tour group and was told the hotel was nice five years ago. But now it is worn and not appealing. Neither the rooms nor the grounds are being very well maintained. The bathroom window slats didn't close properly which might explain all the dirt on the toilet which I had to clean before using it. The bed spread was ripped and there were two dreary wall lamps which provided dim light in the room. The bed was not particularly comfortable. Fortunately the group only stayed one night, and even at that I spent as little time as possible in the room it was so dreary. The Internet service worked for a while in the lobby but then went down and the staff couldn't get it working again.

Presumably one can find better accommodations in the area.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank HappyTrailsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Pros:
Gorgeous grounds, pool and beach
Huge rooms
Good value for money if you don't book online
Very clean
Very helpful receptionist

Cons:
We booked online through despegar.com and ended up paying twice the room's worth which is unacceptable
It is a 20 min walk into town which is not doable for everyone
The flourescent lighting in the room is not particularly agreeable
Only 4 TV channels

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at Desert Inn as part of a fishing trip to Loreto in August.

The accommodation was basic but clean and adequate. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom. Tired and slightly tatty furniture. A nice balcony overlooking beach and sea, and cool to be picked up on the beach every morning to go fishing. But the lock on the french windows onto the balcony was broken so the room could not be secured. TV worked, but reception was very poor. Wifi in principle available, but I could never get it to connect on my iPad. Other facilities that you'd expect in a hotel in Mexico were missing - no kettle or drinks making facilities, no fridge, no drinking water available in the room. So basic, acceptable, but only barely adequte, accommodation.

What made the stay terrible was the service. I arrived with a room reserved and prepaid. I was told sorry we have no rooms available tonight, we are full (some local fishing competition), you'll have to find somewhere else to stay. No offer of help to find alternative accommodation. Could I then have a full refund for all the prepaid nights - no, only for tonight, we have rooms free later in the week and you can come back. So I found somewhere else (much better), but returned to Desert Inn. Three days later I came back after fishing to find no water in the bathroom. The receptionist said it will be back on at 3pm, so I had a siesta. At 4pm still no water. A different receptionist said it will be back on at 5; I replied why have you just said 6 to the couple in front of me who've also been complaining. Response, it might be 5, it might be 6 or manana. Do you know what the problem is; no. I moved hotel. Basic mesage I got from the staff was of no concept of customer service, no energy in resolving problems or concern for guest well being.

There are far better places to stay in Loreto.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJR300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have stayed at the Desert Inns formerly La Pinta Hotels for over 8 years. The used to sell the Baja Travel Pass that was a great deal for frequent Baja travelers. They have sold off several of the hotels in Catavina, San Quintin, and Guierro Negro. My stay last week was one of my worst hotel experiences. They have pulled out the Satellite TV, no Internet, and no menus for dinner. They had two choses beef or chicken. I choose the beef and it was rancid. For breakfast they had a menu. I ordered the Denver omelet, OJ and coffee with milk. The waitress came back out in 10 minutes. No ham for the omelet, no OJ, no milk for the coffee. Don't waste your money. Even the waitress said the place was messed up. They Fonatur should just board it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The most important thing to know about the Desert Inn is that it is there and worth finding. While it does not engage the town or the travel routes, it is right on a very pleasant and expansive swimming beach with great bay vistas. Whether you choose to swim in the ocean or the pool, the same views make a very relaxing oceanfront experience. The open portico check-in leads to a large patio overlooking the pool and the bay, and the huge vaulted ceiling dining room is to the side. It was very easy to find a place to read, relax, have a beer, or a morning coffee, with-in this public area. The rooms are clean, commodious, and the room blocks laid out so that circulation faces town, and parking, and private patios/balconies face the water. One can leave open the balcony doors on the second level without loss of privacy and listen to the waves.
The pools are very attractive to families with children, and parents have the option of watching from either the cabana or a patio table.
Service was always there if you needed it, (you might have to look in the kitchen) and staff was very pleasant.
In reading the other reviews, I am reminded that the fans did not work in the billiards room, and the parking lot pavement is a bit sketchy, but I would not have thought to comment on either otherwise.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have Mini-split AC units, superior to the first floor systems. They also have cat...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justski19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
5.9 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
21.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#11 of 20 in Loreto
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn at Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn at Loreto

Address: Calle Francisco I. Madero, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Inn at Loreto 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Inn (Hotel La Pinta Loreto) has 49 rooms, 29 are haciendas which is the regular standard room, two doubles beds, ocean front, cable tv, air conditioning, the Villas are upgraded rooms, with a fire place and more services, in our facilities we count with a salon spa, restaurant bar, swimming pool and what is more important great service to make your stay a lifetime memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Inn at Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn At Loreto Hotel Loreto
Desert Hotel Loreto
Loreto Desert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing