We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Loreto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've stayed in many hotels and I don't really write reviews but I had to because this hotel is amazing. Jill and Rick make you really feel at home. We were personally greeted when we arrived and the fridge was stocked with milk, cold filtered drinkable water, and beer. I will never stay anyplace else in Loreto.

Room Tip: Book early because they fill fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraverler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the beautiful casita for a week. We are vegan and like a kitchen and plenty of room to spread out. The 2-bedroom casita has everything we needed and it is homey and cheerful. Jill was exceedingly helpful before arrival answering many emails and setting up tour guides. Rick's spectacular photography adorns the rooms. We looked at other properties while in Loreto and honestly were very thankful we had found the casita.

We went to Loreto for the whales and had the best whale experiences of any we have had in Hawaii, Alaska, Victoria, and Monterey, CA. Some mama grey whales in Puerto Lopez Mateos on the Pacific side enjoy human contact and approach the boat to be touched. Heaven!! The big blue and fin whales were spectacular in the Sea of Cortez.

We ate at Orlando's twice because it was so good. And Pan Que Pan made us hummus which was like gold to us because vegan food is almost non-existent in Loreto. Rice, beans, avocado and salsa are great, but after 4 days we wanted a change.

Jill and Rick recommend Adrian for whale watching in the Sea of cortez and indeed he was terrific. We also went out with Vive Loreto in their sea fox, one of the few boats that has a toilet for those 5+ hour trips. Joel is a highly knowledgeable guide who we really liked and Rodrigo was a very good boat operator.

You can't go wrong with Las Cabanas in Loreto. Great location and highly personable.

Room Tip: We loved the casita. I can't speak for the other rooms but the guests all looked happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlust32654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our first time in Loreto and Las Cabanas is a wonderful place to stay. The cabanas are comfortable and very well supplied, the pool and courtyard area lovely and quiet, and the outdoor kitchen is fantastic. Owners have anticipated every need of travelers, from sun hats to snorkeling gear and homemade granola. They are very knowledgeable about the area and ready to help with excursion plans. They also know where to buy good, local fish, in case you haven't caught any. Located just a few steps from the waterfront the cabanas have easy access to the town square and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaDorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We landed by chance the first time in Loreto, in the loving hands of Jill & Rick Jackson. We found everything that we had reviewed, and so much more than we expected. We gained so much useful insight of the region in our brief stay with them, .
Soon we will receive a print of the sunrise over Carmen Island from Rick's Gallery, that's bound to harken us back to Loreto. Already plans are being laid to call Loreto Home Away from Home.
Mark & Candi
Washington State

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishdunktional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I lucked out finding this place. It is just perfect for decompressing from life.
Getting there from the airport is really easy - about 20 minutes and 7 dollars US. Jill is a wonderful host and will help set up any excursions you migt be interested in.

The outdoor grill and dining area is very nice, spotless and just perfect for cooking that dorado or yellowtail you caught in the morning.

The rooms are immaculate, charming and super cozy. Everything you might want is within walking distance to the "city center"

The front gate is locked after about 6PM so always take your room and gate key.

The rooms have a well stocked little fridge, fresh fruit and coffee - (there was even a couple little beers in there)

What a great place to just relax and unwind for a few days . . .
WARNING: You won't want to go back to whatever it was you were doing up north - like working.

I cannot wait to return - FIVE STARS !

Room Tip: Bicycles are available on site for guests as well as snorkeling gear and what not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 238georgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

There are many glowing reviews for Las Cabanas, so let me just add a hearty "yes" to all of those and then tap in a few details. Things I liked: DVD library, effervescent hosts, pool was clean and super well-maintained, so close to the heart of the town but far enough away to be quiet, half a block to the water for sunrises or coffee runs, grounds in impeccable shape, huge open-air kitchen that I wish I had time to cook in, rooms well-appointed and uncluttered, all amenities necessary are easily found, and a real opportunity to relax - which is why we came here. Things I didn't like: having to leave.

Room Tip: There are four identical cabanas, with no need for picking the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamaalDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very private fabulousness cabanas. They have 4 suites very well decorated with wonderful original art pieces adorning the walls. Clean, quiet, and safe. You get a pool, hot tub, outdoor kitchen and BBQ, even a laundry on site. I would definitely suggest this place for a small group, you would have everything you need and still be close to the plaza and shopping. A short walk to the Malecon. And the owners speak English.

Room Tip: Make sure to select one of the larger rooms. The small on is pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.1 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
0.3 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de las Flores Loreto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanas de Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas de Loreto

Address: Jose M. Moreles St, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#3 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range: £92 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cabanas de Loreto is a quiet and intimate property located just off the malecon, within walking distance to the marina, beach, restaurants and shops. Each of our four cabana studios have kitchenettes, A/C, ceiling fans and two beds and large tiled baths. Amenities include pool, hot tub, wifi, outdoor kitchen with BBQ, bikes, guest laundry and assistance with planning activities. Each cabana is beautifully furnished with typical Mexican decor. We welcome guests older than 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Cabanas de Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas De Loreto Hotel Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing