We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Loreto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Loreto”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This was our first time to Loreto. Las Cananas was a fantastic choice for our group of 10 people. We stayed for 10 days. You don't need a group to stay here as they offer single, roomy casitas with a fridge, coffemaker, microwave and (most importantly) a blender. They had breakfast food, coffee, etc. waiting for us in our rooms when we arrived. The property was a convenient walk to most every restaurant, beach, and market in the area. No need to rent a car. You are able to save $$$ when you want by taking advantage of their awesome outdoor kitchen and BBQ area. We did this a lot. It was very nice to be able to stay in in the evening and not have to go out every night like you would if you had a hotel room. More money saved. We went fishing one day and caught two yellowtail which we brought back to cook. What a treat! Jill and Rick set us up with fishing guides and excellent restaurants. They had kayaks, bicycles, snorkel gear, wetsuits, beach towels, and other gear available for us to use for free. The rooms, outdoor kitchen area, pool, and hot tub were cleaned daily. Rick is a world-class photographer and his work was hung in every room as well as many of the local restaurants and prints are availalble to purchase for a reasonable price. If I had to come up with any concern it would be that the Malecon (the road along the waterfront) was used each night for "cruising" by the locals so there was a bit of noise if you stayed outside after dark. Really not bad at all since this property is 1/2 block away. With this in mind I'd try to stay away from any other properties right on the Malecon as I think the noise would make sleeping difficult. The rooms here have thick walls so you couldn't hear any noise from inside. All in all I think this place was probably one of the least noisy in town. The beds were super cozy and the roomy showers had great pressure and hot water. Las Cabanas is a great value due to all the ways you can save money by staying there. We're definitely coming back to Loreto and will not look for any other place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olyraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
139
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

From the time that we arrived at Jill and her family's wonderful accommodation, we knew that we were going to have a great time... Not only was the accommodation as described in trip advisor (clean, convenient with lots of charm and excellent value) accurate, the hospitality shown by Jill and her family was way over and above our expectations. An impromptu trip to see Dolphins and Sea Lions with Rick and Adrian; a wonderful dinner with the other guests and Jill and her family; the welcome pack waiting for us in our room full of goodies for breakfast; a little surprise outside our front door each evening to make our stay more comfortable; help from Les and Linda on organising our whale watching trip and some great tips on where to eat and things to do. Thank you Jill and family for making our stay such an enjoyable one - it was such a pleasure to deal with such genuine and caring people, whilst staying in very well run accommodation full of character. We will be back !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newromanticsusandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Like a 5 star hotel, but with all the comforts of home and family. Jill and family did an outstanding job of making us feel comfortable. She was ready to arrange any activity we were interested in, and our sunrise dolphin trip with Rick and Adrian will be remembered forever. We utilized the outdoor barbecue and tables and Jill even brought the music and candles. Delicious Restaurants are a short walk away, and a sunset walk along the melecon after dinner followed by a hot tub soak ended every day. I’m counting the days until we can return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcokfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Small 4 unit gem. Perfect location to walk historic Mission town of Loreto .Can cook on site
if you want or plenty of small reasonable restaurants you can walk to. Lots of fishing
and boats to hire for local excursions . Staff here are so helpful with ideas of things to
do. Or you can just hang by pool.
Great vacation. I highly recommend this low key ,low frills spot.
Its all about the people!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This was our first trip to Loreto & chose Las Cabanas after scouring the TripAdvisor reviews. Wow! We could not have been more impressed with the ownership, the rooms, the cleanliness, the pool, the outdoor kitchen, the service ... you name it. Jill and her family have thought of everything that a traveler might need to make the most of his/her time in charming Loreto.

The hotel was full during our week-long visit, and we were the only guests who were "first timers", everyone else was a repeat visitor to the hotel, and I can see why. The hotel seems to attract a very sociable & adventurous crowd & we enjoyed everyone's company thoroughly. We even went out to dinner, enjoyed impromptu dinner parties, and went on excursions with many fellow guests. Then again, when we wanted to be left alone, we were able to do that too.

We can't wait to come back in the spring & hope to bring some friends with us. Loreto is a very safe town, the beer is always cold, and the food is fresh & delicious. We stayed in the Dorado cabana & really liked the room & the location on the property. Be sure to take advantage of the free bikes at the hotel - we took them everywhere we went.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyinink72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cervia, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Because of the good reviews, we wanted to try to go to Las Cabanas of Loreto and hoped there was a room for us. We arrived late in Loreto (8.30 PM) and we felt sorry to disturb the owners,but we wanted to try the place and when we rang the door, Jill, the owner immediately asked me to come in and showed me the room. I like it of course and we told her that we wanted to decide next day for how many days we would have stayed. We did not have plans yet for the next days. We asked here a good place to eat, but she offered us the rest of her dinner, a great taco salad.We were so gratefull for that, because we were really tired and in this way we didn't have to go out and look for a restaurant. We stayed 3 nights at the end and we really enjoyed the place.Very clean, big room and they bring the breakfast in the room the night before, so that you can decide at what time you want to eat. Good breakfast and there is also a possibility to use the barbeque outside, for those who like it. There is a fridge in the room and there is wireless. The swimmingpool is nice and the beds are comfortable.There are other nice places in Loreto for sure to stay, but not with the rate Las Cabanas offers.Good value and everything you need, you'll find. There is also a possibility to use snorkelgear for free and umbrellas for the sun, coolboxes and ohere things. Really everything is there.Jill can help you to make several reservations for boattrips, massages and other things.If we go back to Loreto we will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

In June of 2009 we vistied Loreto as a group of 4 couples. Loreto is a quiet fishing village that has yet to be over taken by a major hotel chain! shhhhhh!
We were delighted to be welcomed by such fabulous people as Jill and Rick who throughout our week always were more than hospitable- we felt as if we were old friends from the first moment and felt valued and appreciated. Jill always had the scoop on the best restaurants, Rick knew the ideal fishing guides by name and anywhere you mentioned J and R's names you were well received- they are truly wonderful people.
The accomodations could not have been more beautiful, clean and current. The entire area was contained within its beautifully maintained stucco walls that are surrounded with palm trees, buganvilla, birds of paradise and numerous tropical flowers. Each of the 4 bungalows we stayed in were charmingly decorated and Rick is an incredible sea life and outdoor professional photographer and his work is displayed everywhere (you will love it!). The bungalows opened up to a private tropical paradise courtyard complete with private pool, outside kitchen available for our use (which we enjoyed having fresh fish and chocolate clams delivered that we prepared on the bbq!).
We had gorgeous days Dorado fishing and snorkeling on beautiful private white sandy beaches on little islands, incredible snorkeling, lots of pelicans and dolphins, day trips to surrounding areas and walking in to town for meals or touring the historic village. We could have not been more thrilled with Las Cabanas de Loreto and are excited to take our families back to visit in the future! * We are making a trip this November to Mexico and have chosen the Mayan Riviera as the weather cools off a bit more in Loreto for our liking and know we will not find anything even close to what we found in Loreto.
Thank you RIck and Jill for making our trip incredibly wonderful~

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnell444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.3 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
659 reviews
6.1 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanas de Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas de Loreto

Property: Las Cabanas de Loreto
Address: Jose M. Moreles St, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#3 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cabanas de Loreto is a quiet and intimate property located just off the malecon, within walking distance to the marina, beach, restaurants and shops. Each of our four cabana studios have kitchenettes, A/C, ceiling fans and two beds and large tiled baths. Amenities include pool, hot tub, wifi, outdoor kitchen with BBQ, bikes, guest laundry and assistance with planning activities. Each cabana is beautifully furnished with typical Mexican decor. We welcome guests older than 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Cabanas de Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas De Loreto Hotel Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing