We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fishing in Baja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Leonero Resort
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Los Cabos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Fishing in Baja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The best fishing resort in Baja. We went to Rancho Leonero in East Cape last month for a 5 day fishing trip because it was highly recommended. It didn't disappoint one bit...and actually exceeded our expectations. The rooms were great....right on the sand. The staff was courteous and professional and the boat captains and crew were outstanding. These guys can find the fish. We caught a marlin and hit our limits on both dorado and yellow fin tuna 2 of the 3 days we fished...and these weren't small fish! I'm definitely going back Rancho Leonero for my next fishing trip and a lot more after that!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JGBarry213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    44
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiff By The Sea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

I've been goin down to Cabo for about 20 years, the East Cape is Cabo 20 years ago. No upside down tequila shots, bumbling drunks, or MTV pool. I don't actually understand why it is under Cabo for location because it's at least an hour and a half drive and worlds away. Rancho Leonero is on the sea of Cortez and has absolutely stunning scenery. The resort itself is low key (ie no mega resort), rooms clean and nice, and located right on the water the workers are very nice and go outta their way to make sure all is good.
If you're a guy looking to get away and fish withy our buddies, an adventurous family, or someone who needs to get away and enjoy a great margarita then this is the place.
Great knowledgable captains, excellent food, and great Mexican hospitality. Go. Buena suerte

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank dudebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My friends and I look to escape our workaholic worlds a couple times a year. The trip to Los Cabos airport is easy, the Rancho Leonero van picks us up, we arrive at the hotel, and we go into a different state of mind - relaxation. Our only concerns become: when is dinner? (then how did I eat all that?) and how many fish are we going to catch? We used to fish Cabo San Lucas, but too noisy, crowded and dirty. I haven't been back there is 5 years since I discovered the East Cape and Rancho Leonero. The hard part is leaving, ameliorated only by planning the next trip before you get on the plane home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

An oasis in Paradise everyoe was helpful and the food is awesome I wish I could have tried the ribs!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just got back from Rancho Leonero! Can't wait to go back. Spent time with my buddies and caught plenty of tuna and rooster fish. I've been coming down to the East Cape fishing every year for 15 years and it's always great. First time staying at Rancho, and it was the best ever! Great hosts, unreal fishing, beautiful accommodations, and BY FAR the best food I've had on the East Cape.....or, for that matter, anywhere in Mexico! The carne asada, the ribs, the guacamole..Great place for a guy's trip, but it's family-friendly and I'm planning on bringing my 9 year old son on the next trip! Great boats and crew. Nice pool and unreal beach just outside my air-conditioned room.Everyone was super friendly. Staff made us feel like family. David

Room Tip: Great room right on the beach. Of course all rooms are about as close to the sand as you could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The focus of this small resort is fishing and anyone wishing for a superb angler experience need not look further. The boats, gear and guides are top-notch. Independently owned and managed, a non-Marriot/Sheraton/Hyatt packaged, laundered experience with enough amenities to satisfy the experienced traveler. One hour from airport. Food/beverage services a plus (best French toast in Mexico and ceviche made from your fish superb) and wait staff courteous/helpful. Very clean, no water drinking/shower worries. Beach walks discover free-roaming cattle and wild horses. Good Wifi connects. No tourist junk to buy. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian12154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Super laid back and such a pretty setting. This is an elegant resort but in a very rustic way. If you want the princess plan do not come here. If you want to truly get away from it all, do.

Room Tip: ocean front casitas is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cabos
4.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
16.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Del Cortes
Las Terrazas Del Cortes
#1 of 2 in El Cardonal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Leonero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Leonero Resort

Property: Rancho Leonero Resort
Address: Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Los Cabos
#51 Spa Hotel in Los Cabos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rancho Leonero Hotel Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing