We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the athmosphere!”
Review of Poco Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poco Cielo
Ranked #2 of 7 Rosarito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stopped for a short lunch break and sat on the balcony overlooking the ocean. At the entrance of this beautiful establishment we knew we found a jewel. Luscious vegetation, clean rooms, wonderful food and friendly staff made this little stop a great experience! We have been spreading the word in Phoenix among our friends. We plan on going back soon and spend the night in one of their beautiful rooms.
This is a slice of Paradise!

Keep up the good work, amigos!

Michael and Fiorella

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiore282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have been going to Baja for years, usually staying at La Fonda (next door).
After a little research we found Poco Cielo (A little Bit of Heaven)
Very nice rooms....the theme rooms are just a plus, as the rooms are roomy, beds are comfortable, and the patio areas are great!
It's quiet, and you can hear the surf all night.
No TV....no in-room phones, and we did not miss them at all.
The have room service, or patio service...just tell them what you want, where you want it delivered...and it shows up!
The beach and ocean views are just marvelous.
We stayed in the "African Room", very cleverly appointed by Cheryl...owner and our Host.
Good service throughout, and unnecasary security watching your car all night.
Free margaritas upon check-in, and Alfie the Parrot there to steal the glasses off your face!

Room Tip: The Polynesian suite is Awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleeteric06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My husband and I chose Poco Cielo for our recent long weekend trip into Baja. As it was off-season, we were the only guests in the hotel for the first few nights of our stay and this afforded us the chance to change our original reservation and upgrade to the Polynesian Room. The views from this room are outstanding and never-ending--gorgeous beach views in front of you, and mountain views behind you. We were able to see most of the guest rooms and found them all to be very charming and unique. I, for one, appreciate the care and thought that likely went in to the collecting of each little decorative detail of each room. This same level of care and attention to detail was evident in the staff there--we felt very welcome and received excellent service. We enjoyed peaceful breakfasts on the outside patio overlooking the ocean as the dolphin played in the surf, and equally peaceful evenings watching the sunset from our rooftop patio. The overall property is not brand-new and pristine, but that wasn't our expectation. We were looking for the overall charm and relaxed feeling that we found at Poco Cielo. We were looking for a quick trip to recharge our batteries after a long, snowy, northeast winter and we got exactly what we were looking for! Would definitely go back in a heartbeat! Restaurant food was excellent, drinks were great, and service was impeccable. Thanks for treating us like family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The weather was rainy but still had a blast. The beach was accessible and the food at the restaturant was excellent. Truly great margaritas and great service. Felt secure, can't wait to go back specially in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgardela68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Small and unobtrusive. They give you your lead and are not pushy, yet.ever helpful. I will definitely go back this coming fall.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegogato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Poco Cielo in Baja was, by far, the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. We just happened to be driving by around lunch time and stopped to eat (fantastic margaritas and entrees!). We ended up staying the night. The view is spectacular and cannot be beaten. The staff was super friendly and gave us a great deal (even though the normal prices are little high - what else would you expect with such stellar service and atmosphere?). We stayed in their largest room and enjoyed every second of it. There's no phone or tv and that's the way we LIKE it! Who needs that stuff when you've got your own veranda overlooking the ocean. The bathroom is fun (like a cave) and clean. There is a bar there and a nice one next door, too. Absolutely a perfect place to stay and just enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Poco Cielo lives up to its name. This is a superior ocean-front location. Some of the most beautiful coastline we have seen in the world. We enjoyed the Polynesian Room, however all the rooms are uniquely decorated. The owner, Cheryl is gracious, warm and a delight to know. It felt as if she was opening her home to us, not a typical hotel experience. The staff was unbelievably attentive and practically anticipated our desires. AND the food, Wow! the food was outstanding. Did not have a bad meal and we were there a week. When we said we wanted to go to the wine country, Cheryl arranged for a driver to take us there for a nominal amount and we toured wineries we would have never have found (including one where the driver literally drove through a small river to get us there, quite an advneture but the best stop on the tour). At the end of a long day Cheryl arranged for both of us to get a massage on our deck off our room. Just perfect. Needless to say, cannot wait to get back.
P.S. Did I mention what a great value the room, food, massages and tour was? Don't tell Cheryl

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
17.9 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Rosarito
864 reviews
18.2 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#3 of 14 in Rosarito
48 reviews
8.8 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#5 of 14 in Rosarito
62 reviews
18.5 mi away
Del Mar Inn
Del Mar Inn
#7 of 14 in Rosarito
64 reviews
21.2 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#8 of 14 in Rosarito
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poco Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Cielo

Address: Careterra Libre Km 59, Rosarito 22706, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rosarito
Price Range: £45 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poco Cielo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, private hotel with nine intimate guest rooms, an on-site restaurant and cantina and the most friendly staff on the coast. Our themed rooms are dressed in high quality bed & bath linens with one-of-a-kind furnishings intertwined in a setting of inviting styles, rich textures and vibrant colors. Located half way between Rosarito and Ensenada in the La Misión area on the coastline of beautiful Baja California, Mexico, guests will find themselves relaxed and at home within minute ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Poco Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poco Cielo Hotel Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing