We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Rocas Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 16 March 2008

My fiance and I just returned from a last minute getaway to Rosarito and Ensenda. We stayed at Las Rocas for one night. I have no major complaints-the staff was friendly, the parking is secure and the rooms were fine. The only thing that bothered me was what some other reviewers have reported on:smoke smell in the room. Other than that, we had a great ocean view and a nice time!

  • Liked — The view, the pool/spa
  • Disliked — the smoky smell in the rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    139
    72
    50
    64
See reviews for
77
173
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We stayed at Las Rocas Resort & Spa last month ( January 2008) and it was just AMAZING!!!!!

I just don't understand all these bad reviews about the property; people was very helpful, the property is in a great place, all is quiet, we could relax, talk and lounge around, the room was ready at the time, everything went just perfect.

We had a some spa treatments, and I can say those have been the best I ever had.

The room was ok and CLEAN! with a STUNNING view... we asked for a romantic decoration and all was full of roses.

I honestly can say you can stay in this place if you want to spend some days in a romantic and relaxing place.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — I had to leave soon
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Had a family reunion for two nights at Las Rocas and I must say I am extremely dissapointed by our experience with this "resort". We did have lovely views from our rooms, but the instant we entered our rooms our first comment was "what is that horrible smell?". The rooms reeked of toxic, nauseating smoke fumes. It was awful! The hotel staff claimed it was another room guest burning a fire in their fireplace. But the odor never left. Just got worse. We ended up switching rooms! As for the heaters...they do not work. That is the simple fact. Calls to the management promised extra blankets, but they never arrived. The hot water in our shower did not work. So no showers for my husband, myself or my two little boys. The swimming pool was not heated...freezing cold. Quality of the rooms would be fine if we had paid $35 a night. Not the case. For what we paid I would expect a much better maintained resort. The spa treatments were very good, and that was the best part of our experience there. Except for my poor neice who had her neck tweaked too roughly and was having naseaua and headaches afterwards. Please think twice before staying here. There are much better places for the same cost that would give you a better outcome.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnySD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rosarito hotels

san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Whatever you do not start a fire in the fireplace. The hotel kindly provides you with the first log free of charge. After enjoying the fire for about an hour , my friend and I go to sleep and about an hour later my friend wakes up to find our room filled with smoke. Not just a little smoke ,but thick smoke pouring into our room from the fireplace. Apparently the fire place smoke exits the ocean side and conversely is blown back into the rooms by those great ocean breezes. I feel we narrowly escaped death by asphixiation and all amnagement was willing to do was give us a 20% refund. There are no smoke alarms, nor any fire place tools. We had to put the fire out by filling up a trash can with water and pouring it over the flames. Can you say neglegent!Lawsuit!!!! We were then stuck to spend the rest of the night sleeping in what felt like a giant ashtray. Everything I brought carries the stench of the smoke including me. Im off for a shower.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank smokingaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We arrived at Las Rocas just before Christmas, and were greeted warmly by the staff and given an upgrade, just to give good customer service! We thought our room was rustic and charming, and the view of the ocean was fairytale. Loved the fireplace, though we didn't get a chance to use it. The property was clean and the restaurant was better than any we had just eaten at in San Diego. I really don't understand all the bad reviews, we can't wait to get back there. TIP: DON'T go with the expectation that this is a four-star American type hotel. You'll be disappointed if you do. The furniture IS dated, and the atmosphere is more cabin-like than hotel-like. However, because of the people, the food, and the tidepool exploring we got to do when the tide was out, it was our favorite stopover of the whole trip.

  • Liked — The fireplace and the tidepools below
  • Disliked — Balcony needed some work
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paleoguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

We got married at Las Rocas a few years ago. If you are staying for the weekend I highly recommend you stay in the suites which is the newer part of the hotel. The older part is nothing to write home about.

I love the view and the grounds at Las Rocas. It was such a great place to get married (we had 150 guests). To this day people still tell us it was their favorite wedding.

Now...it is Mexico so remember it is not the U.S. and things will never go perfect in Mexico. But with enough planning you can pull off an amazing event.

Food was great
Cake awesome
Service was great
Bar was awesome

Not to mention it was a fraction of the cost of having a wedding on the ocean in San Diego with an open bar and steak and shrimp sit down dinner.

I would highly recommend getting married here. If you are going just for a vacation I would also recommend Las Rosas further south. One of my favorites.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliBoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

We had stayed at Las Rocas many years ago and really liked it. On our trip there this last weekend we were shocked! The place is so filthy, and run down. The rooms are horrible, the towels were old and smelly, the bedding was old and smelly, the whole place felt old and smelly! We requested a roll away bed for our children and I made sure to check for bugs, and thought we might be safe since I didn't see any but sure enough the next day they were covered in bed bug bites! Disgusting! I had to come home and wash everything in hot water! Also when I received my breakfast the lettuce they used for garnish was black and moldy on one end, when I pulled it off my plate I noticed it was full of dirt! They had not even bothered to wash it. The pool is not heated so our children could not swim because the water was freezing. Everything about this place was a dissapointment (well except maybe for the bar and the view which helped us forget how bad this place was). Save your money and don't go to Las Rocas!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
6.0 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Rosarito
837 reviews
4.1 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
6.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 16 in Rosarito
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
62 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#10 of 16 in Rosarito
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Spa

Property: Las Rocas Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Tijuana-Ensenada | El Morro, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a romantic getaway, spa retreat, the perfect oceanfront wedding or simply want to treat yourself or that special someone with a relaxing oceanfront experience, then you have found the right place. From eclectic Spa treatments to the wedding of your dreams at Las Rocas Resort, the pressures of the outside world will simply float away. Give yourself and your significant other the opportunity to be pampered at our Rosarito Mexico Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Hotel Rosarito
Las Rocas Resort
Los Rocas
Rocas Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing