We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosarito Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I had a very fun and relaxing weekend at Rosarito Beach Hotel. The hotel is old and shabby but it is also very cheap. I liked the traditional Mexican feel but it definitely needs updating. The restaurant serves traditional Mexican food which is very good, The rooms are clean but in need of an urgent remodel. What I don't understand is that the hotel has a new tower that supposedly is much nicer and they charge double for these rooms. The weekend we stayed, the hotel was far from full and they should have upgraded us to a nicer room in the new tower. They would have had much happier customers who may have returned in the future. I doubt I will stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveagreatvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    216
    150
    98
    102
See reviews for
192
256
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I'm surprised by some of the less-than-excellent reviews. We (two couples) went down last weekend and the hotel was full. We had excellent and personal service (thanks, Mario!). We didn't wait for anything. The room was incredibly nice and a good value, and the view was breathtaking. It was my first time in Mexico in 10 years, and the first time ever spending the night. Before heading down, I was anxious about my safety. But, after getting there, I was surprised at how safe I felt. We even walked around at night and it was clearly not the Mexico I've read about years ago. The hotel even took measures to ensure that only guests were in the hotel after 7pm. I'm going to start going on a regular basis, and I'm definitely staying at the RBH. This is also one of the few places to get FastLane (check on it to reduce travel time back to the U.S. - not all hotels offer it). In sum, a great hotel and a great value.

Room Tip: You can't choose your room before you get there, but the property has 3 different towers. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Waited almost an hour in line to check in, elevators took almost 20 minutes to arrive. Stayed in the "fancy" tower. They dont even have a lobby with registration desks there, had to check in in another building. Had trouble with my reservations, they charged me and also my guests for registrations that were already paid for. now we have to spend time getting that cash back. Not a lot of options in Rosarito, so that's why these guys dont care about stepping service up.

Room Tip: Pick the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joaquin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rosarito hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I bought a travelzoo voucher for the RBH which included 3 nights stay, 2 massages, 3 breakfasts with mimosas, 6 margaritas and a bottle of wine.

The trip down was easy. We got there quite early so they did not have a room ready for us but checked us in reasonably quickly.

We didn't realize it was Mexican Independence Day, so the place was packed from the pool to the bar to the beach.

Once checked in, our room was decent. We were on the 6th floor in the Pacifico Tower with a nice pool and ocean view. The room was a 1 bedroom suite with a little kitchenette area. The patio off the room would have been lovely, however there was no patio furniture. It looked like people brought chairs up from the pool area to use on their balconies. There was also some mold in the shower stall, but otherwise, it was okay.

I went to the pool while my husband tried to take a nap in the room. He said at least two other parties were given keys to our same room as they tried to get in while he was trying to nap.

At the pool, people were using the chair cushions and life saving rings as floaties for the pool. The pool looked a little murky and there were obviously maintenance issues with tiles coming up in and around the pool area. On our last day, we did find the rooftop pool which looked to be in better condition and had a wonderful view.

The restaurant and bar served good food and drinks. However, one evening we decided to eat dinner at the bar. My husband and I each ordered a salad and an entree. I ordered the lobster and my husband the steak. My salad arrived as did his steak entree, but nothing else. We ate what was brought then sat waiting for a while, but nothing else came out. My husband then finally asked about the rest of our meal. We were then told they were out of lobster. Epic fail!!

The spa area was okay and the massages quite nice, however the jacuzzi in the spa area was not hot and the wet steam room looked a little bit scary. The dry steam was quite nice, though.

All in all, it was a decent stay, just don't have your hopes up too high.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3boys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temecula, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Bought this 2night, 2 massages, bottle of wine, 2 breakfasts, 4 mimosas, 6 margaritas through Travelzoo, what a great deal. I highly recommend it. You pay for parking and taxes which is $30.00 but worth it. Stayed in the Pacifico Tower, 6th floor. Great view of the beach and pool. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bed was a bit lopsided but no big deal. I still slept fine. My main complaint is that the floor in the room is cement and rock and my feet were always dirty. Not sure if it's the floor that's hard to clean or they just aren't cleaning it.
The breakfast at Azteca was ok. We would walk to the local taco shops and fish restaurants for good and inexpensive meals. There are tons of pharmacies, liquor stores and good eats walking distance. We would buy beer and water from the liquor store and bring it back to our room, there's a mini fridge that keeps drinks extra cold-yeah!
The spa is old and needs some upgrading but it's cute with an old time feel to it. The massage was excellent, put me to sleep.
I recommend this hotel and will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Rooms are very nice in the new tower, but the service is HORRIBLE. Took 45 mins to check-in, then another 15 mins waiting for the elevator!!!!
Called the front desk several times, NO ANSWER. Ordered hot cakes for breakfast, he forgot the syrup, took like 20mins to come back, everything was cold by then!
My friend stayed at the old tower and there was NO HOT water!
Plus, and very irritating: they give you like 20 different pieces of paper, different sizes for different purposes, you have to carry all of them around with you! 2 for the parking, wristbands, another card for ordering room service, one for your car, etc!! Super irritating!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I suspect that the higher reviews for the Rosarito Beach Hotel are based on the new Pacifico tower. The lobby for the new tower was very modern and clean. On first appearances, it looked deserving of high marks. However, I can only review based on where I stayed and I had the displeasure of staying at the (much) older Coronado Tower of this hotel. The website says it has been remodeled, complete with pictures to prove it. The pictures are not accurate and do not remotely compare to the reality. The furnishings and room fixtures, especially the bathroom, showed their advanced age. All fabrics, from towels to sheets, were dingy in appearance and had a musty,mildewy smell. The air conditioner functioned, but not without frequent and extremely loud protests that shook the walls with their fervor. Best (or worst) of all, every single wall had some sort of grime smeared across the surface - typically some form of brown, lumpy smudge of indeterminate origin. I can only hope that the more expensive Pacifico tower omits some of these features.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#5 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.7 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
6.0 mi away
Las Rocas Resort & Spa
Las Rocas Resort & Spa
#3 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosarito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosarito Beach Hotel

Property: Rosarito Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez No. 31, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosarito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosarito Beach Hotel is located right on the beach and features a SPA center and Wi-Fi in public areas. Ensenada's vineyard zone is a 1-hour drive from this modern hotel.The Rosarito Beach Hotel has a sitting area and cable TV in each of its rooms. They feature wood furniture and some rooms may have a balcony with ocean views.There is one restaurant available at the hotel, serves typical Mexican food. There is also a Karaoke-Bar.Some activities available in Rosarito Beach are whale-watching (when in season)and surfing. Tijuana International Airport is 18 miles from Rosarito Beach Hotel, and Tijuana can be reached in a 30-mintute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Rosarito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing