We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly: sewer/sulfur in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smelly: sewer/sulfur in room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the new wing of the hotel on December 22nd and 23rd. We were on the 14th floor. As soon as we walked into the room, it smelled horrible. The smell was like raw sewage and permeated the entire room. We believed it was coming through the toilet and sinks, so we opened all of the windows. It was late, we were tired, so we just left the windows open all night to relieve the smell.
The next day we asked to be moved to another room (on the 15th floor). This room did not smell.
Other than the stinky room, it was really quiet (not many folks there during x-mas time).

Room Tip: Make sure to walk into the room and get a whiff before you unload your luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhsalesmanager, Gerente at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor.com, every feedback we receive is very valuable for us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations, in order to correct the situations that you experienced, we’ve taken note and have already addressed your comments.

If you need any further help or comments, please feel free to email me at: gerente@rosaritobeachhotel.com

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Armando Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    220
    151
    98
    103
See reviews for
197
256
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Such a wonderful and relaxing trip! Hotel was great. Only 4 stars as all pools were unheated due to low occupancy rate this time of year. The location was amazing and the hotel restaurant food was very good as well. This was our first time in Rosarito and we will definitely be back! Loved the pier, the daily walks on the beach, and our visits to Elias at El Norteno taco stand across from the hotel...best tacos al pastor EVER!!!! We ate them every day for 8 days. They were that good. Can't wait to go back! All of the staff was incredibly accommodating and the fast passes to the border saved us SO much time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhsalesmanager, Gerente at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I spent a few days in this beautiful, historic hotel with my daughter and my two grandchildren....we had a lovely view of the beach, with horse riding on the beach available all day, many swimming pools at the hotel to choose from, table tennis etc etc, and a hot tub that we had lots of fun in......the hotel itself is exquisite and very well situated, decor fantastic.......three complaints =

1) there were no coffee / tea / kettle facilites in our room.
2) for whole time that we were there our room telephone was out of order, hence no room service and if we wanted to order coffee in the morning we had to go down to the reception. 3) Electronic room key was faulty and had to continuously go back to reception to get it re-activated, once when the kids were freezing after swimming.

Food was fantastic and staff very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrotbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor.com, every feedback we receive is very valuable for us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations, in order to correct the situations that you experienced, we’ve taken note and have already addressed your comments.

If you need any further help or comments, please feel free to email me at: gerente@rosaritobeachhotel.com

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Armando Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds & good water pressure for showers & bath. Ample closet space & room for all surfboards. Could have used some wine glasses but all other kitchen items sufficient. Large fridge, nice sink & good stove (although we didn't cook) Bar/restaurant good with reasonable prices. Huge round glass dinning table ideal for dominos, cards, & family board games. Fantastic views of pier/ocean & grounds. Enjoyed rooftop pool + ground pool & hot tub. This has always been our favorite hotel in Rosarita & with newer tower will go more often. Safety is not an issue!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Rosarito Beach Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just returned from Rosarito Beach Hotel. Service was 5 stars and the room on 15th floor incredible. I live in Napa Valley and the wine country in Guadalupe Valley is something not to be missed. The spa also at the hotel and food was 5 stars. There is also Fast Pass you can cross border in 15 minutes with pass. No worries for security the Mexican Government and local police are doing a great job. They were all very friendly and I felt the media press that they are getting is not justified. Go and enjoy Mexico!

Room Tip: Stay at The Towers rooms have a small kitchen , refrigerator very high end. Flat screen TV and inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubail17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Rosarito Beach Hotel at the perfect place for your stay. We appreciate your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the future when you return to Rosarito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

swimmimg pool was not heated. When making the reservation they assured us the pool was heated. We got there pool was iced cold. Requested to management to heat pool. Managment said it was going to take eight hours for pool to heat. Stayed there four days pool days pool was never heated.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hantonio07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBHManager, Gerente at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel
on TripAdvisor.com, every feedback we receive is very valuable for us. We
appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

We apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations, we want to let you know
that we have 3 jacuzzis heated 24/7 for your convenience, we do not heat our pools in low occupancies, this is because we care about
protecting the environment, looking for the best ways to save energy, use
biodegradable chemicals, proper waste management among other measures.

If you need any further help or comments, please feel free to email me at:
gerente@rosaritobeachhotel.com

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Enjoyed the stay on the 10th floor of the new hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean. Hallway on the 10th floor could use a coat of paint though. All and all and enjoyable stay. Massage and spa were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyerb727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for visiting the Rosarito Beach Hotel and for taking the time to post your experience, we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
9.8 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosarito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosarito Beach Hotel

Property: Rosarito Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez No. 31, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosarito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosarito Beach Hotel is located right on the beach and features a SPA center and Wi-Fi in public areas. Ensenada's vineyard zone is a 1-hour drive from this modern hotel.The Rosarito Beach Hotel has a sitting area and cable TV in each of its rooms. They feature wood furniture and some rooms may have a balcony with ocean views.There is one restaurant available at the hotel, serves typical Mexican food. There is also a Karaoke-Bar.Some activities available in Rosarito Beach are whale-watching (when in season)and surfing. Tijuana International Airport is 18 miles from Rosarito Beach Hotel, and Tijuana can be reached in a 30-mintute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosarito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing