We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
21
21
14
10
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
21
14
10
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the cliff sliders mexico ocean bucks plug signal tile
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed in an Airbnb on the premises of the hotel. The hotel staff help the owner with check ins and cleaning and such. The great thing about this is that we get to enjoy the hotels amenities. First things first, the view is amazing. The restaurant and bar they have on the beach is very clean and modern. they offer beach chairs and tables to enjoy and they come to you for any food or drink needs. They clean up the beach every morning from all the seaweed leftover over night from the high tide. They have nice green grass areas with tables and chairs. The beach is basically private to those of the hotel and surrounding housing. They offer venues for events under their rustic gazebos. They also have spa services and a pool. The jacuzzi is connected with the pool so I don’t believe the jacuzzi works. The hotel itself looks a bit on the old rustic side. I can’t speak on the rooms since I didn’t stay there but their lobby was clean, they need some new seating as the seats were a bit lumpy. They have security at all times which offers safety. Overall I had a great vacation with my family on these premises and I am grateful to have been able to use the hotels amenities.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tannia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Castillos del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Tannia,

Thanks for visiting Hotel Castillos del Mar. For all we work here, your opinion is very important. In your next visit to Rosarito, we invite you to stay at any of our confortable rooms with an spectacular view to the Pacific Ocean. See you Soon!

Pedro Sánchez
Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Very impressed with the great service and friendly staff that accommodate to your needs. The bar/restaurant at the bottom of the hotel provides a great view of the ocean while you enjoy delicious food. The hotel was a bit dirty but for the price, I’m not complaining. The rooms also had an excellent view where you had a balcony to walk out onto the secluded beaches. Overall, I would stay here again!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank airwrecka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Castillos del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Airwerecka10,

We are really happy that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us. For all we work at Castillos del Mar, your opinion is very important, we appreciate your feedback. See you soon!

Pedro Sánchez
Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We arrived to this hotel on Saturday at noon to attend a destination party.
The receptionist told us the room was going to be ready by 3:00p.m.
At 3pm we checked in and were given a key and a remote control for the room. That's all, one key. No pamphlet for the map of hotel or anything else. We walked in to the hotel room and immediately observed the 80's themed comforters, dilapidated dresser, and worst of all the smell of floor cleaner 'fabulouso.' The window was missing a screen, and there was ONE thin/prickly bath size towel in the restroom. There was also very limited wall electrical outlets. There was one outlet in restroom and one against the wall near the dresser.
We were there for one night, so we figured it wasn't a big deal. We attended the party held at the beautiful venue of the resort. The venue was indeed beautiful and I am sure this is the reason why folks are convinced to stay here.
However, after the party was over, we headed to our room to change outfits to go to Papas and Beer. We left hotel around 11:30pm. Went to Papas and Beer to party, and returned back to hotel around 2:30am. Only to witness ALL OUR BELONGINGS STOLEN. OUR ENTIRE BAGS, shoes we had left on the floor, make up bags, and most concerning our passports. We called the police to the room and an officer showed up to the room asked us what we were missing and left. The hotel staff didn't seem concerned about what had happened and only kept saying "this has never happened here." This was a lie too because our friend has a contact with Rosarito PD who told us this hotel gets broken in all the time.
I tried to get a letter from the hotel explaining what had occurred and they said they don't do that. After we voiced our complaint at the front desk, the front desk clerk called the police alleging we were causing a disturbance and were drunk in public. The police arrived right away (4 patrol cars) and they informed us they were there to arrest us. After we explained to the officers our circumstance, they didn't seem to get phased, or care about our experience. Finally after 30 minutes of pleading our case, they gave us directions on how to get to the police station to get a copy of the report they had taken earlier regarding the robbery. Once we arrived to Police dept,, we were informed there was no police report taken. We then filed the PD report and took paperwork with us to the Border. Luckily we had our California Driver license with us and we were able to come home to the USA. NEVER GOING BACK THERE AGAIN!!! We were victimized- all our belongings taken and then almost was arrested. It all just seems fishy... stay away!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, you will get robbed.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank JemNumberOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The prices here keep going up. They have fixed the grounds and it is very pretty on the outside. The location is beautiful. The rooms, however are a different story. Much of the furniture is coming apart. The rooms are not kept as clean as they could be. I cannot recommend this hotel to my friends because of the condition of the rooms. There are no english television channels unless you consider reruns of bad soaps entertainment. The internet does not work in every room. We will go back again because of the location. But until they fix the quality of the rooms, we cannot recommend.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. For internet, get close to the office.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Castillos del Mar for 3 nights just after Christmas while visiting friends in the area. I chose the location because of its price, location on the water, and photos showing it's unique styling. We were not disappointed. The setting is quiet, the only sound that of the waves crashing on the beach at the foot of the cliff. We didn't walk down to the water as it was cold, damp, and foggy during our visit, but there appeared to be adequate access from the large hotel lawn and from the beach-side restaurant and bar.

The rooms are decorated in quaint local decor, clean, and well maintained. There was no heat, air conditioning, or ceiling fans. As it was unusually cold during our visit I asked the staff if we could have extra blankets. They gladly provided us with 2 brand new thick blankets that did the trick. With those, hot water in the shower, and a coffee maker in the room we were very comfortable.... Almost made us forget that both my husband and I were sick with nasty colds.

We enjoyed a late dinner in the beach-side restaurant one night. The food was great and the menu offerings showed a desire to go beyond the usual local fare. The staff were very pleasant and cheerful given that we were the only guests in the restaurant and it was almost closing time.

Other hotel amenities included a bar and seating in the lobby area, the beach-side restaurant and bar, a day spa, and an enclosed gazebo/dining area for private events. The hotel was advertising as a wedding venue. I can see that being a nice choice for a couple wanting do be at a facility with a more local flare.

We would definitely choose this location again if we find ourselves in Rosarito Beach someday.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kayrenay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews