We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast, freshly made tortillas.”
Review of Tapanco

Tapanco
Ranked #4 of 155 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: It is the sister restaurant of El Nido and Los Pelicanos in Rosarito Beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast, freshly made tortillas.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great place for breakfast. When we arrived we were greeted by home made jam. Wonderful.
Then came the just made tortillas. To die for.
Very extensive menu.
I have bben here a couple of times and food has always been very good.
Our servers have been very nice.
Nice aoutsoor patio.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamaye27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    99
    37
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Came to K38 for the surf, and found this amazing gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Maybe it was the fact that we had just gotten to Mexico, or that we'd just gotten out if the water and hadn't eaten in 4 hours, but we were stoked on this place.

The ambiance is really nice. Some kind of thatched branches for the roof and brick/stone walls. The food was amazing. We live in San Diego so we already have good Mexican food all year long. But this place blew all of those places out of the water. We started with Margaritas and Cazadores. Then a guy comes by and asks if we want some kind of special salsa made from some peppers. We of course said yes and it was delicious. They kept coming by and offering us stuff and we thought there'd be an extra charge for all of it at the end, but there wasn't!

The tortillas from the lady in the middle were amazing! They melted in your mouth. We got fajitas and tacos. The meat was so tender. It came with a three chile soup that was perfecto. At the end, the bill was so cheap for everything we got, two drinks each and tons of food for 25 US. If you're in town, definitely visit this place, or even make a special stop for it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Two sides to this restaurant and they're both good!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband, Tom, and I have eaten here many times and we can honestly recommend it to any visitor to Baja. You just can't go wrong with a meal at either side of this restaurant. They have an outdoor patio area with lovely couches insides for watching sports and ball games. Next door, upstairs there is a more formal but very cozy wood-fired restaurant with candles lit at each table. Fresh, hot tortillas are made before your eyes and their food is authentic, local, Mexican cuisine. It doesn't get much better than this for a roadside restaurant and cafe just a couple kilometers south of the Rosarito Beach hotel. We go back often to have coffee, desserts and to watch a ball game in their back living room with friends. It's a great place to meet people outside of the busy Rosarito strip and away from most tourists. This is a very nice spot popular with the locals, so you're bound to meet someone with interesting news.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I live here!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

No growth hormones, all natural organically fed beef and lamb (that we had), lamb chops are to die for, OMG!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Rosarito”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tapanco should be in first place for full service restaurants in Rosarito. The food and service can not be beat. Their Lamb is delicious. There is alot of food per serving. The service is great. Don't miss if you are going to Rosarito.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapanco also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Tapanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing