We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Don Luis Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2006

I stayed at this hotel in late Feburary and I have to say this is one of the best hotels. First the staff, they were so friendly, helpful, professional. The lady at the front desk gave us tips on where to go to see things and directions whenever we needed them. The grounds are very beautiful, complete with a little garden where they are growing vegetables. The room was very nice. The shower was quite large, there was a refrigerator to keep drinks cold, the a/c worked perfectly. I had read reviews that stated that the water tempature was hard to control but I found no problem doing so. The pool was quite small but it had a good charm. I imagine with just a few it would be very nice, I did not swim while I was there. They have picnic tables around the pool in case you want to eat. The better aspect I believe is that the hotel rooms are in the back of the check in, off the street. Very safe for your vehicles. You can park right next to your room, which is what I did. And because it is off from the street there is virtually no noise. The price was rate fair. About $65 a night for the room I was in but they have some cheaper rooms for $35 if your on a budget. Just as nice except no refirgerator. The hotel had a feel about it. Almost like home. It was quite beautiful. They have an AMAZING restaurant in front. The have the best food, for the cheapest price. (But fair warning don't order anything large size unless your sharing it with someone, they are not joking on those portions) Overall this is a wonderful hotel. I highly recommend it and when I go back it is the hotel I instend upon staying in. It is a shame that they don't have photos of the place for all to see. I was having such a good time I simply didn't take any. But don't let that put doubt in your mind about this hotel. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2005

I RATED THIS EXCELLENT BECAUSE I THINK IT IS A GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE. We are going back soon for a second stay here. The desk manager, Alex, is very helpful... so is Consuelo. A light bulb burned out and was fixed IMMEDIATELY! It is not "fancy", but very clean and we were comfortable here. We had a room near the front on the upper level.. with a king size bed and cable TV. There are a few apartment-size rooms at the back... a hot tub... and a small swimming pool. It is not located downtown, but it is on the main street. We could walk out front and hail a cab right away for 60c to go downtown. There are a few restaurants nearby; Internet across the street; a laundry; bakeries; and a grocery store.... all within walking distance. If you like walking, downtown is about 1 1/2 miles, I think. Beach is a few blocks away.

Helpful?
9 Thank LovePuertoVallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2005

Every time i visit Rosarito, i stay there because the rooms are clean,rates are good,and the steff is excelent.there prices from $35.00 dlls. to $120.00 dlls for the best one they have . I'mean other hotels in town start at 120.00 . The manager Roxana is great speaks very good inglish so theres no problem with getting what you want. Alex the front desk clerk is great and very nice with all guests. i think they should have first place .

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

My husband and I have stayed in Rosarto before and depending on what you want this little out of the way motel was a treasure! All the big resort hotels are very strict about bringing in your own ice chest because they want you to buy their drinks and they are not cheap.. The other big draw back is not all the big resorts have air conditioning in the rooms so to leave a window open with a fan on all night you don't get sleep with all the big clubs hopping all night long! The final thing with some of those big resorts are the rooms seem dirty, old and need updating.. The beds are concaved and you just don't want to put your head on them... This little treasure, Posada Don Louis has nice size rooms that are very clean, they all have air conditioners which in the summer I find a blessing. The rates are fair priced and I would definately stay again. It is a little out of the way but taxi's worked just fine.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yvette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2005

It is a small and quaint motel on the north side of town. Once you get inside the complex, the main street noise goes away. There's a very small pool and jacuzzi. Any small group of people could take it over and not leave room for anybody else. They have some noise and horse play rules, but they are barely enforced so a rowdy group of kids can keep you up all night and out of the pool. Not close enough to be walking distance to the night life. Also not walking distance to the beach. It is a decent place to rest in between sight seeing, but not a place to hang out. It is fair priced. However, there's much more pleasant resort style hotels south of town. The rooms are clean, but susceptible to noise from the back streets and cars alarms inside the complex.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simi valley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2005

We stayed in $75 room on Saturday night and an $85 on Sunday. The $75 room [#24] was quite large & fairly clean ,but a west facing window had no curtain so was very bright early. The shower water came out in one stream. The $85 room [#35] was a little nicer, plus I could park right in front. It came with a coffee maker, but the hotel does not supply coffee or filters! Ww both found the shower heat control impossible to ajust properly. On my next visit we might stay again on Saturday and move to a cheaper, nicer place on Sunday. Don Luis, unlike every other hotel does not reduce [about half most places] prices on Sundays. Hotel staff and everyone I met in Rosarito were very friendly. Hotel Calafia [some $45 rooms on Sunday] is stunning but serves expensive, small and very overcooked lobster. I had a salad and very nasty stomache cramps an hour later.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank voodoofx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 March 2005

I was pleasantly suprised at this hotel. This was my first time staying in mexico over night and I have to say this hotel is American quality. They have room service, maids who brought us towels and cleaned the room if we wanted it. The room came with a small fridge, tv, and a large shower. It was the exact oposite then what I had in mind of what mexico would be like. I will definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.2 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 16 in Rosarito
43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Rosarito
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
61 reviews
6.4 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Rosarito
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Luis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Luis Hotel

Property: Posada Don Luis Hotel
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #272-A,, Rosarito, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Posada Don Luis Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing