We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, and grounds”
Review of La Paloma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosarito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Paloma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

La Paloma was a nice place to stay, close to the beach. Few of the units had ocean views, but it was a short walk to the beach. The unit was great, clean, and well laid out, and the grounds were lovely.
The only problem we encountered was that we were there to visit family. One family was staying with us, and we had hoped to have another to dinner, however there is a restriction on the number of people who can be in the unit (or on the property) at once. No visitors. In our case that mean that one of the granddaughters was unable to spend time with us...a big disappointment. Had I known that I probably would not have booked the room here. I'm sure there is a good reason for the rule but it was a definite inconvenience for us.
Other than that it was a good place to visit, and I would highly recommend it as long as you don't mind adhering to strict rules.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

This place met our expectations! We took out two youngest 13 & 11, and they absolutely loved it! The weather was ok but the nice warm pool a jacuzzi made up for it. The condo itself was so beautiful and super clean. It had a fully loaded kitchen to our advantage which helped out so much. There was a private beach which my boyfriend and I ran in the morning! We we're originally told we had use of wetsuits but that wasn't homered because they didn't have any. Then we were told we can use the boogie boards but didn't because we has to pay 20.00 for the day per board. We had no towls or extra soap so we had to drive to their local walmart to buy some. Note to self bring your own next time. Overall was a great trip an was only 5 bucks ride into rosarito.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon8268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a very nice property run by Worldmark. Good security and clean, a very nice place to stay in Rosarito. For the price, stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLoverUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Living in North Carolina after five years and two houses of real estate in Rosarito Beach...we know the town very well! We have rented our houses and now it's time to sell, so needed a place to stay in order to affect the transactions, in due time. My Mexican friends...including two teenage sons, visited with us daily and enjoyed the swimming pool outside the casita. Well designed, two bedroom sleeps four comfortably (not six unless infants sleep with parents)!
Nice kitchen...maid service daily..does the dishes. Grill area by heated pool open until 10, as well as steaming jacuzzi another plus on chilly evenings. Our experience was springtime April, 2012. Beautiful gardens and excellent Wi-Fi...in Laundry room! Yes, clubhouse wiring and interior rooms need updating in that regard. Watch the ocean sunset on the West Pacific coast...and view horseback riders during daytime hours. Walk the stairs leading to big, spacious beach for a quarter mile; quiet nights if you have good neighbors who know when it's time to respect close quarters. Ample parking near walkway into any facility of your choice. Very reasonable time to buy into this resort...with many options through Mr. Jim Clark. How does $2300 sound!
Don't expect to have your pizza delivered, nor your friends try to pop in...Guards will not permit anyone other than those registered to enter or receive messages! Try at front desk to plea for your needs or request if someone is inside that said "drop by". This is Mexico, and the streets are full of intruders and those cast out of USA politically without working papers. Be very, very cautious and make plans after affirmations of three separate parties. Yes, do be cautious. Sunday SwapMeet market is nearby by taxi, in Rosarito Norte, and the shopping district contains Wal-Mart, Home Depot...entertainment on weekends, and a little mini-touring train. Great eating nearby, and do choose street food at well attended, obvious streetside eateries. I have yet to get sick on any food produced by the restaurant/street folks. Watch your change, though. Don't accept singers in restaurants without asking the charge per song! Usually $5, but they must say that or you get the entertainment requests for free! Be savvy. Do NOT go out after dark, and don't leave your wallet in your pocket or atop anywhere. Dollars work well, but do have in mind a few pecos for a paleta when vended on the street, amusing breads homemade by roaming street salespeople, and enjoy the local fiestas, which can be found in the area of Rosarito Beach Hotel. Best there to view from sports bar, your favorite teams if going during football season. Restaurant at La Paloma is good, and also priced very reasonably compared to outside locations. Beautiful lillies, water fountains, massive beds of purple flowers, as well as areas for tennis...all maintained to perfection. Even your laundry can be accomplished at a reasonable rate! Yes, do choose this beautiful setting and wonderful weather year round. When it's hot in Diego, and TJ...it's very mild on Baja Norte.

Room Tip: Ocean view may be difficult to achieve, in that retired military and others live here as well. Fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hollywouldMurphy_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is the best place in Rosarito, no doubt. Even then, it could vastly improve. No wifi in the rooms and crappy wifi at the rec center. In this day and age.... come one.... no WiFi, really? The staff is usually very good, but security guards at the entrance, although usually good could improve a little. The last time we were expecting a visitor, and when such visitor arrived not only they did not help him, they told him we were not staying there!!! After we had called in and told them all the information, that was disappointing. Then to put the cherry on top, they were blaming our friends???? Anyway, we will give them a pass. Rosarito is not a nice place, weekends are loud, way too focused on the teenager tourism for my taste, but La Paloma is towards the outside of Rosarito, secluded, safe, so we go to the supermarket, load up on groceries, then the first morning we go to a fishing village four miles south of Rosarito (just after the Fox Studios) to buy some incredible fresh fish, and after that we rarely go out unless we feel like a restaurant dinner or some tacos al pastor. Overall the place is perfect for families, pool and jacuzzi closes early (10PM) but then that is good if you want peace and tranquility. I recommend it.

Room Tip: I always ask for an apartment close to the pool, you might get a room close to the outside (which me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filigaitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Me and my husband have visiting Rosarito for many years. We came by this resort through a website i found for timeshares. We have stayed here ever since. The accomadation were wonderful, the restaurant on site was amazing & so were the staff. It is gated and each person checked as they come in. From the back you can walk down to a private beach and then down to the Rosarito beach and enjoy drinks, food & relaxation. It is a wonderful place for couples, families, etc. The rooms were kept exceptionally clean, it was wonderful ! We will definitely continue staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the clubhouse for better wifi usage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lizzj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very nice place to stay. Wish if you could get wifi in room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.5 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Rosarito
864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#3 of 14 in Rosarito
48 reviews
4.4 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#5 of 14 in Rosarito
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Del Mar Inn
Del Mar Inn
#7 of 14 in Rosarito
64 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#8 of 14 in Rosarito
17 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma

Address: 200 Carretera libre Tijuana-Ensenada, Rosarito, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Rosarito
Hotel Class:4 star — La Paloma 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Paloma is a 300 unit private condominium development with 1-3 bedroom individual units, four swimming pools, three tennis courts, with beach access. The entire property is managed by a Homeowner's Association which does not manage rental units. Rentals are available through individual owners and agents: BajaSe and BajaNor Also, some units are timeshare membership through WorldMark Wyndham and World International Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Rosarito
La Paloma Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing