We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back and live at La Paloma!!”
Review of La Paloma

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosarito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Paloma
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Wow. We were very impressed. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Our room was the cleanest place I have EVER stayed in. Beautiful grounds. We felt quite secure. A+++. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beansmomYorkPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for La Paloma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2008

La Paloma is an ok place. We got a WorldMark condo, and WorldMark is pretty good at taking care of it's clients. Although not at all a luxurious place, it has it's nice moments, especially during the off-season. The water from the faucets and showers smells bad, and sometimes that smell permeates the rooms. The pools are small, but two of the three are heated. The tennis courts are nice. The masseuse, Eva, is really good. Don't miss Eva if you come here (she does facials and nails too). Small but adequate gym. Nice staff. Full kitchens in condos. Pretty views from the cliffs. The restaurant on the property, called Mama Mia, is good for breakfast. We ate breakfast there a few times and had really good omlettes and chilaquiles. If you are traveling with elderly people or people with physical handicaps, this may not be a good choice as the entire property is rough cobblestone. It's a short walk along the beach to the Rosarito Beach Hotel and the town of Rosarito. The town is very cute, but as with most places near the border, it's an acquired taste. Some really good restaurants and friendly people. Sara, the bartender at Iggy's Club on the beach down by Rosarito Beach Hotel is very friendly and makes a mean mango margarita. Macho Taco on the main drag in town makes an amazing grilled fish taco, and has exceptionally friendly and fun staff. Sit at the counter overlooking the kitchen area to get to know them.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JuliaCat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We rented a 3-bedroom condo for my entire family of 3 boys and their girlfriends. The condo was great, very clean nice kitchen and living room with fireplace. We had lot's of room, very comfortable much better experience than renting a Hotel room. The property has 3 tennis courts, which we used all three days we were there, nice swimming pools and the best part the view. Very clean throughout the property and employees very helpful.

We had a wonderful weekend at "La Paloma". Will we use this property again? - ABSOULUTLY very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We've just returned from La Paloma and already I cannot wait to return. It was our first experience renting a condo (or 'villa') for a vacation and it was so much better than cramming a family of four into a hotel room, for not much more money.

We rented unit 254, an oceanfront two-bedroom, through Rosarito Beach Vacations. The villa was comfortable and well equipped - there were ceiling fans in each room which was great for letting the sea breeze flow through in the afternoons. The best part was the view - and the truly amazing sound of the crashing waves on the rocks below. I couldn't believe how loud they were. I loved sitting on the patio reading and listening to the waves after lunch and then enjoying the sunset while sipping a glass of wine after putting the kids to bed. There was a BBQ on the patio where we grilled chicken and veggies for dinner a couple of nights and a nice mosaic table and benches to eat at. We saw dolphins and pelicans catching their dinner while we ate ours :)

There was a nice grassy area just in front of the patio and then on the other side of the walking path was a sandy area where the boys could run around and play catch or fly the toy paragliders we bought on the beach while we watched from the patio or the kitchen window.

The grounds of La Paloma are beautiful and very well-maintained, security is very tight which might not work well if you come to party but for our purposes meant it was safe and quiet - just what we wanted. There are four pools but we just went to the main one which had a small kiddie pool connected to the large shallow end (3ft) which made my younger son comfortable as he cannot swim yet. The pool is above the tennis court and there's a high plexiglass barrier between to guard against stray balls which works really well as a wind-barrier, so even if it's too windy at the beach the pool area is sheltered and warm. There is also a Wi-Fi connection in the main clubhouse, it isn't the most reliable signal but worked well enough to check and send emails.

There is a small restaurant with an adjacent playground. We always sat on the patio so the boys could play until their food arrived. We had dinner there our first night and lunch on three days. They have excellent salsa and guacamole, the boys loved the quesadillas and the fish tacos were excellent - much better than the ones we had in town. The dinner menu tries too hard to be sophisticated and the food wasn't very good, the simpler lunch menu food was much better. Since the rest of the complex was so well-maintained I was surprised at the state of the playground. The equipment was fine, but there were cigarette butts and chunks of concrete in the sand. It was early in the season and there weren't a lot of kids around so maybe it wasn't a priority.

There is beach access from both the south and north sides of the property, stairs lead down from the cliff to the beach. The beach was wide and quite clean. It's a public beach, but the nearest public access to the south is over a large rocky area and to the north is quite far up so this stretch stays pretty quiet and almost feels like you have your own beach (at least until a wandering ATV zooms by). We had sand castle contests, splashed in the waves, searched for crabs in the rock beds and collected lots of seashells. An easy walk along the beach gets you to town - it took under 15 minutes with two small children, a little longer on the way back.

Overall we LOVED La Paloma and I have no doubt we'll be back. After viewing our holiday pics, my Britsh In-Laws have already asked us to take them to La Paloma when they come for their annual trip across the pond to see their grandkids next spring.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We stayed here though our Worldmark timeshare. The hotel was the typical excelent worldmark hotel-condo. This resort was nice since it offered room service, not typical of the condo type resorts. Also we felt more secure due to the gated entrance with 24 hour guards, dont be fooled, the beach entrance is not locked, and anyone can enter through that gate by foot, but the gated main entrance still provided us with a good sense of security.

The restaraunt which provides room service is pretty good. They offer good breakfast dishes and mexican dishes. I would not neccessarily reccomend thier seafood, Shrimp and fish fillets were ordinary at best.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jpalmer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

My wife and I just returned from a week at La Paloma and found it a great place. We booked through our time share group. check in was easy, security was great. The resort is on the south end of the beach and has some great views. The room was very clean (daily maid service). with four pools, three tennis courts and a small diner, you may never have to leave.. But, take the 25 minute walk to the center of town via the beach. There are some great restrants in town . Try Taco el Yaki for lunch. Wait in line it is worth it for the passole's.
There are large nightclubs for the college crowd and a 5 mile sand beach for families.The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.
Relax. Play. Eat. Live. It's Mexico!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank smogsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

The view was beautiful, excelent security, but not recommended for the disabled. We had rented approx. 10 units, we had requested them to be as close together as possible, but they were very much scatered
through out this large complex, we didn't have telephone service, and
couldn't get in touch with eachother. Only one parking space per unit, was not enough for 6 guest per household. We were charged for an extra day for not leaving on time. But our family, would like to return as a smaller group.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aquarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.6 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Rosarito
846 reviews
9.2 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 15 in Rosarito
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#9 of 15 in Rosarito
17 reviews
4.3 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#6 of 15 in Rosarito
62 reviews
3.3 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#11 of 15 in Rosarito
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma

Address: Rosarito Beach, Baja California, Rosarito, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rosarito
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Paloma is a 300 unit private condominium development with 1-3 bedroom individual units, four swimming pools, three tennis courts, with beach access. The entire property is managed by a Homeowner's Association which does not manage rental units. Rentals are available through individual owners and agents: BajaSe and BajaNor Also, some units are timeshare membership through WorldMark Wyndham and World International Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Rosarito
La Paloma Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing