We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the tortillas!”
Review of El Nido

El Nido
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh the tortillas!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This would be my second time there. I went in June and returned in August for my wedding anniversary, if that says something in itself.

Great food. We had the squid and carne asada, thin cut. The tortillas are enough to go for, no questions asked.

The ambiance is lovely--little sparrows flying around in the waterfalls to the side. The mariachis came in and did the rest. Good choice for a special occasion.

Yes, it does cost more than the average meal in Mexico, but it is not even comparable to what I would have paid in SoCal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lim2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    144
    58
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a family dinner at El Nido and it was excellent! We would recommend it to you if you are ever in Rosarito!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosarito, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had lunch here with the ladies, Quail, Lamb etc, etc. Phenomenal!!!! Drinks were great, wait staff was very attentive

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank connimws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent food, great margaritas”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had dinner at El Nido, hubby got the quail, I got the rabbit and my friend got fish tacos. The quail was excellent. The rabbit was over cooked, but I would rather have that then under cooked. The fish tacos were average. The tortillas were the best part of the meal, next to the tasty margaritas and boy were they strong! Prices were decent, nothing too outrageous but not a steal either. Go to Popotla for lunch, El Nido is a breakfast or dinner restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMRosenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about this location. We went on a family trip and I had already experienced the great food and service however in the afternoon before dinner we decided to stop by and show the restaurant to the fam...the server took it upon himself to show us the small chapel, the wine area they are conditioning and the rest of the restaurant however it didn't stop there they said that of we wanted they could take us to their farm where they grown their own cows, chickens, quail, horses, etc. WOW now that's friendly, they took us about 15 minutes away from the restaurant and showed us the ranch they even drove us there such nice people....you must experience this restaurant with such amazing people, fantastic food and phenomenal service. Places like this just don't get enough credit oh and their home made tortillas AMAZING... We had dinner at this place the 2 nights we spent in rosarito and we will definitely come back!!!

Helpful?
Thank MB31780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Nido also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to El Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing