We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT A GOOD STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Coalinga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT A GOOD STAY”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

we were there memorial day weekend rm #41 very hot air cond/not working well windows were not tinted there were white curtins sun was shining thru early morning and hot will not stay there again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agalarza1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    13
    16
    35
See reviews for
35
29
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My wife and I visited the resort for a Valentine's getaway and were both blown away! The resort is just a few minutes south of the town of San Felipe and immediately you gain a sense of seclusion and privacy once there. Security patrols the grounds 24 hours felt very comfortable and safe. Over a mile long stretch of private beach the Sea of Cortez was just amazingly beautiful.

While at the resort it was apparent that the hotel was undergoing some major renovations. We saw paint crews outside painting the exterior of the premises. Inside the rooms we noticed the hotel literature that explained that the hotel has implemented environmental products. A huge plus in our books! Makes sense that a hotel in paradise would want to preserve it. Any hotel that follows green practices deserves our business.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. A lot of the amenities in the room looked new (showerhead, soap dispensers and more). We had an unobstructed view of the beach and coastline...what had to be literally 40 yards from our bedroom balcony! Quiet, peaceful and very romantic! We are already planning our next visit this Summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cole_Wilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My friend invited me with her mom and her mom's friend.
the price, for me, was amazing because we were a group of 6 women and didn't spend much!. we got a very good place to stay, living room and kitchen too small though. rooms were great, nothing uncomfortable(no internet in rooms, you have to go to the reception to get signal, no charge to use it and tv has only like four or five channels)(but the idea of vacations is you go to get relax not stay in and watch tv or post on facebook, otherwise stay at home), the view was deliciously beautiful, couldn't get into the pool because we went in november, too cold. rooms are clean. the view we got from our rooms was amazing. friendly staff, didn't eat at the restaurant in the resort, we got lots of food (although the kitchen is veeeery small, three persons in it are too much) we cooked everything just one time we went to eat at a restaurant, the food was very good. San Felipe is not so pretty so don't expect for a mini cancun because it is not, but if you go with a great attitude you'll have fun. The only thing i really hated was: the flies, there were lots of flies, i don't know if that was because of the season but every morning we had to spray them so we could eat with no problem. We had lots of fun. i couldn't had asked for more than those vacations just before 2011. i hope i can go back soon, with less flies, but soon! the great view is still in my mind. As i said, don't expect much but you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san clemente, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

The beach front location is absolutly wonderful; however, it's a crying shame that this property is so poorly maintained. The location and hotel have the potential to be the finest on any beach in Mexico. Retail prices for these units are beyond robbery considering the condition of the units.
This is our 3rd annual falll visit renting a1 bedroom unit and each year they are in a further state of disrepair. Upon check in, we have been consistantly met with a quizical look as if our prepaid reservations do not exist.
The grounds show evidence of neglect and trash remains in the landscaping.
In need of attention.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2009

from 1-10 I rate it a 7.... it was a nice hotel private, nice beach, nice pool. Cons we rented a jr suite was supposed to include toaster and blender didnt have either, also fridge needs an upgrade! Didnt cool at all. Also music in the pool area wouldnt hurt anyone. Other then that it was great!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susyq951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

First the good news. The beach is beautiful, the Sea of Cortez stunning. We found the premises spotless inside and out., and we also found staff to be friendly. Rooms have nice, large patios overlooking the water, but all are lined up in a row with nothing dividing you from your neighbors. Although it charges resort hotel prices, it is far from being one. Here is a list of deficiencies.
1. Room is listed as suite, but is actually a standard motel room, with a tiny kitchen to one side of the entry. 2. There was no comfortable furniture in the room -- only 2 straight-backed chairs. There was no table -- only a built-in that doubles as a TV table. 3. TV had only 4 channels, 3 in English with Spanish subtitles. No DVD or VHS players. 4. No radio or alarm 5. No e-mail access for guests, on property. 6. No newspapers available on premises. 7. No elevators, ramps, hand-rails or anything else for disabled guests. 8 No ice machines, 9. No decent reading lights, 10. No dresser or drawers in room. You continue to live out of your suitcase. 11. No washcloths (altho made available when requested) 12. No"Make up Room" or "Do Not disturb" door hangers, 13. plastic chairs and chaise lounges, none with pads, making it difficult to enjoy the sunshine, 14 No palapas or umbrellas on patios or around outdoor pool, 15. Pool unheated and so too cold to be used. 16. Bar did not appear to be open during our stay. 17. Restaurant wine selection was pitiful, featuring mostly undistinguished imports and NONE of the wines of the region, although many were offered at the liquor store in town. Restaurant was usually deserted, understandably because food was largely ho-hum and overpriced.

  • Liked — it was quiet
  • Disliked — the room was uncomfortable with no dedcent seating or reading lights.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JunieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merced
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

this facility has the potential to be a first rate place to stay with a few minor changes. The location is outstanding, right on the beach outside of town and an easy drive(2 miles) in to eat at some great places. The town is just a JEWEL..friendly, quiet, slow, safe, peaceful. The beach is beautiful, think of the corona commercial sitting at the beach looking out on the water with not another soul in site.
we had a 2 bedroom unit upstairs and was very roomy, dated but clean. that is except the smell from the bathroom drain that would never go away, think sewer smell. we finally just left a candle burning all the time to cover the odor. we complained about it several times but think the problem is in the design of the drain and cannot be fixed without a major overhaul. our toilet did plug up one night but they came right out to plunge it no problem .
the place is dated and could use a make over but it is cleaned daily, housekeeping does not seem to understand the concept of towels for every person either so you have to track them down and get needed towels.
Whatever you do, do not eat in the restaurant here, it is just plain awful and no service whatsoever...drive in to town and enjoy great food and drink from friendly people!!! Do not even be tempted to just have a bowl of soup, nothing , nothing...
The pool is cold but clean and there is a small indoor pool. the spa is empty except for the trash in the bottom of it
yes I would stay here again as I think it is the best place in the area to stay unless you rent a condo on your own. the beach is great to relax on.
I would rate the facility a 2 star with potential galore if the management would get the act together and run the spa year round, start over with the restaurant staff and a new cook,add some extras to the rooms and think more on the line of service.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — smelly odor from the bathroom drain
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luvintravelMerced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felipe
2.4 mi away
La Hacienda de la Langosta Roja
1.2 mi away
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Hotel
#10 of 15 in San Felipe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#58 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
156.9 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
120.9 mi away
La Cueva Del Pirata
La Cueva Del Pirata
#12 of 28 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Quintin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa

Property: San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa
Address: Calle San Felipe Km 4.5, San Felipe 21850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Felipe Marina Resort, the ideal destination for all who wish to enjoy the treasures of Baja California. Situated on a spacious, private beach less than 10 minutes from the center of San Felipe, the resort offers a peaceful oasis just minutes from all the town has to offer. We hope you join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Felipe Marina Resort And Spa
San Felipe Marina Hotel San Felipe
Marina Resort San Felipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing