We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 23 December 2006

We spent five days, returning home just in time for Christmas. We're in Southern Cal, but wanted just a relaxing place to get away for a few days, for sure we picked the right place. We had a one-bedroom suite which opened onto a patio directly onto the beach. The reception personnel and maid service was very accommodating. This tiny little(literally) town has not much for a shopping area, but good places to eat and watch the shrimpers bring in their catches; which we brought home a cooler full of fresh, "el-grande", shrimp right off the boats! Our favorite place to eat were the ElNido Restaurant (GREAT FOOD; try the shrimp or seabass; (Open 2-10 p.m., closed Wednesdays) and for a quick lite lunch, try the Beans&Rice open-front eatery right on the harbor. The only negative to the resort was the inability to access wireless connectivity from the room; had to go to lobby to access. For the $20-unlimited-hookup-fee, it should be available in the rooms. Save your $$ on the resort restaurant, very blah and overpriced. Take the short drive to the El Nido. Kudos to the resort staff for attentiveness and pleasant personalities! Fortunately for us, this was not a problem, but should be noted that there is NO handicap access for anything at the resort NOR the town as most EVERYTHING has steps to negotiate. For overall staying power, this resort is SUPERB!! We'll go back!

  • Liked — Great Rooms
  • Disliked — No in-room internet access - young people would find San Felipe very boring I would think
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your cooler! Buy fresh shrimp and fish directly off the boats; stay away from the fisheries
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank rozzer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    13
    16
    35
See reviews for
35
29
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2006

We booked a one bedroom suite through Great Vacations Club. We arrived on Saturday afternoon at 3:30 in the afternoon (check-in was 3pm. on our confirmation) and the reception staff could find no record of our reservation. I gave them the confirmation letter but they said it was missing some information they needed and asked us to wait while they checked with another office. They were very nice but it took forty-five minutes before they sorted out their internal problem and gave us our room. The facility reflects a great deal of deferred maintainence. There were stains on the curtains, cracks in the kitchen sink, broken chairs on the patio and broken glass on the patio also. The outside (beach side) looked as though it had not been cleaned in weeks. The outdoor pool was unattended and the outdoor bar and restaurant were deserted. They advertise themselves as a resort and spa but there were no spa attendants or services available. There was one restaurant. The staff there was very nice but unable to make drinks (not even a margarita - they made it with tequila and sprite). We tried to go to the restaurant at 8pm on Sunday night but they had closed because they had no customers. We would never return to this property

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank francoamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

Our family of 4 stayed in a studio unit at SF Marina Resort. Our friends, also a family of 4, also stayed in a studio. We contacted the hotel directly through email for the reservations. We were there the first week of August (yes it's hot but the waters just fine! Plus it's comfortable in the shade)

We found the studios nice. Not luxurious. It's not a 5 star hotel. the kitchens in the studio are little kitchenette type things. Small refridgerator (hotel style), microwave, blender, toaster and 2 burner stove. No oven. It was perfect for us. We would have booked the 1 bedroom units with the full kitchen however, they were all booked up.

The pool area was very nice. The pool bar great though closed at 5pm. Jose (alias Joe) was a wonderful bartender. Kind and friendly. Can get drinks in the restaurant though. The beach was AMAZING. Absolutely beautiful and clean.

Even though they were completely booked, we never had a problem with crowds or getting a table or palapa at any time.

We found every staff member we encountered to be very very friendly and helpful.

The only real complaint we had was the last night we ate in the restaurant and found it unbarably warm. The airconditioner was not being used and they had a couple fans set up. Not enough for August! The food was good. Service a little slow but typical for San Felipe I think. :) They seem to move at a slower pace down there.

We highly recomend this hotel/resort but understand, it is not a 5 star by American standards. The rooms and grounds are clean and the amenities perfect for us. To date, you won't find a 5 star hotel/resort in San Felipe though they are building a lot of them.

We also loved going into town for dinner each night (except the last when we ate at the resort). Our favorite place was on the beach main drag. A restaurant with a out door area. A large indoor area and bar area (indoors). The charge on our credit card says "Rest Baja Mar".

We also found the grounds secure and had no problem letting teens roam the grounds alone (we didn't want them to be able to walk into town and this was far enough away that they couldn't). We even left expensive electronics in our rooms and they were untouched.

Also, the beach merchants are not pestering like they are in some areas. The water is safe to drink anywhere in town (it's got a really good filtration system).

Warning, we have stayed in town before and the beaches can be pretty dirty down there. Especially after a holiday weekend. We noticed the Mexicans were the ones littering and not the American tourists. We were relieved at that anyway.

Also, bring cash as many places don't take credit cards.

Tip: The security guards will come up to you and ask you to not have coolers at the pool or beach, but if you cover them with a blanket or towel they won't care. Everyone was very nice and the resort was very safe and clean.

We will return there.

  • Liked — the location, grounds and staff
  • Disliked — the rooms could be updated/nicer and the restaurant needs to use the airconditioning!
  • Tips/Secrets — bring cash. Plan on R&R on a beautiful beach
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank maggs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2006

It's on the beach and has a bar, restaurant and pool. The rooms are pretty cool, but a bit pricey. Over $100 a night for the cheapest room. If you don't like the noise of the party goers and quads, this place is wonderfully away from all that. It's the best looking hotel in San Felipe. I can't say it's the best because I havn't stayed in all the other places. I the only real thing I loved is being able to go there to relax after all the partying and riding.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

We decided to visit San felipe and it seemed that the best hotel was the marina Resort. The reservation process is extremely difficult as the asked a letter authorizing a charge to my credit card and a photocopy of my credit card and id to be faxed; I did this and called to confirmed they apparently received part of the faxed and asked me to re-send; got upset and convinced them that I wasn't going to do this again, thy finally agreed that that was ok. The only room available was a non ocean view room, but we thought that that would be fine for a 5 star hotel. The room was $120 dollars and it semed like a room you would find at a motel 6 for $39. It's an old room thats small and poorly furnished. The reception staff isn't friendly and made us wait eved when they had no other customers. I'm not sure what makes them think that their a 5 star hotel. The rooms that they have apparently for their time-share customer do seem bettr, but if you aren't one of this I would go someplace else and save the money.
We had a good time at the lighthouse restaurant and tried to make the most of the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Moisesgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 October 2005

The hotel is a nice looking facility situated on the beach. Standard rooms are pretty small and expensive, about $150. You get only 2 bath towels which are small and a little worn out, when they are taken for laundering, you don't get replacements, because they don't have extras. One morning, I got coffee from the restaurant, but they didn't have styro cups, they gave me the coffee in doubled disposable plastic cups, and the breakfast buffet was about $25 per person, for this amount you can a get better meal at the strip. Standard rooms are at the lower level with a window facing towards the parking area, the blinds are in bad shape, if you open them they might not close again and when you turn on the A/C the blinds swing away making your privacy no longer private, anyone can see inside your room between the swinging blinds. The pool area has about 2-4 umbrellas and someone had already taken them when we came out. The only thing I liked about this hotel is that the pool is at an open angle where you can see and hear the ocean, and the sports bar is further down from the pool right on the beach. I would never stay here again, I would try my luck at a different hotel hoping to get a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2005

This is the only hotel in San Felipe that I would stay in but I will never go back. There is a lovely beach at this hotel (that ATVs ride up and down) and a beautiful pool (the only place in San Felipe I would swim.) But why bother? San Felipe is a pit. The ocean is a muddy color all year round, the tide is so low you can't swim when it's down, and the town itself is a bit unfriendly, very dirty, and crowded. We pulled into town, stayed one night, and drove to the pacific side the next day to enjoy a better environment. If you have to stay in this miserable place remember that the only good rooms in this hotel with a view are the over-priced rooms (if you can even make a reservation at all, they are so difficult!) There are houses being built in-between the hotel-rooms and the beach blocking all views. Not to mention that the hotel gave us one thin, small bath towel each and would not give us another no matter how many times we asked. We were sorry we couldn't leave faster. Estero Beach Resort, south of Ensenada, gave us a gorgeous ocean view room with no reservations and saved our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank clorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felipe
2.4 mi away
La Hacienda de la Langosta Roja
1.2 mi away
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Hotel
#10 of 15 in San Felipe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#58 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
156.9 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
120.9 mi away
La Cueva Del Pirata
La Cueva Del Pirata
#12 of 28 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Quintin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa

Property: San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa
Address: Calle San Felipe Km 4.5, San Felipe 21850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Felipe Marina Resort, the ideal destination for all who wish to enjoy the treasures of Baja California. Situated on a spacious, private beach less than 10 minutes from the center of San Felipe, the resort offers a peaceful oasis just minutes from all the town has to offer. We hope you join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Felipe Marina Resort And Spa
San Felipe Marina Hotel San Felipe
Marina Resort San Felipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing