We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast After Mass”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Espadana

La Espadana
Ranked #5 of 573 Restaurants in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Breakfast After Mass”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I occasionally have breakfast at La Espadana after the 8: 00 a.m. Mass at the nearby San Juan Los Lagos church, before the crowds begin to pile in. I find the food and service okay, nothing exciting, nothing horrible, either. No valet, but an attendant in the lot will assist.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    113
    32
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very popular with families.This place has some great breakfasts. I love the Huevos Rancheros con Mole, and the pancakes are good. Coffee is a bit weaker than I like, but pretty much par for the course for Mexico. The wait can be real long on weekend mornings, but there are plenty of other places in the area if you don't feel like waiting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelHardHaveFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard to explain.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Buy some cheesecake! Don't order too much because the portions were huge. Located directly across from Hospital Angeles, Tijuana. This location was quaint, romantic, and child friendly. It felt like we were in an open air old family restaurant in small town Mexico. Staff spoke both English and Spanish. We would live to I again. The grill food is really good. It's not a 5 star restaurant, but it's a 5 tar experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corncobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Dinner visit to a breakfast place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Simple meal at dinner. Edible but no wow factor. Apparently misunderstood the recommendation was for breakfast. Tortillas were divine, dessert was divine. Dinner was just ok.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

With out a reservation they are rude!!!! When we first arrived we were seated and didn't receive a menu until we asked which was like 20 minutes later. To receive the food it took another 20-25 min and the food was cold! We didn't leave a tip. The waiter was rude & hated the service. Food didnt have flavor. If you dont have a reservation stay away! They sit you on the plain ugly side with horrible service not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tepi_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Espadana also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Been to La Espadana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing