We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Reviewed 25 September 2012

As the title of my review says, I was expecting more, I attended Grand Hotel Tijuana as part of the team in charge of the logistic/organization of a CONAQUIC congress for 1 week, I shared the room with 1 colleague and I had access to breakfast and meals in the restaurant's buffet, the food was good for most of the time even though I saw a roach roaming in the bread basket in the breakfast buffet.

The rooms were the disappointing part, because they were too small for my taste, the hotel needs a remodeling, it begins to look old, I was expecting something different for what I paid.

The rooms were always clean, the bathroom was also very clean, the gym had everything I needed for a small workout, the pool was also good, because it was almost empty and it was also very clean without being flooded with chlorine.

I would certainly search for a better option before staying at this hotel for more than a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Norris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your comments!
We are making some changes in order to improve the facilities and exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to see you again in a near future.
Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Get a room facing the city for a nice night time view of TJ. The pool and hot tub were very clean and refreshing. Excellent service from housekeeping and the front desk. Good restaurants across the street. Did not eat at hotel but restaurants in hotel looked good.

Room Tip: Go high and face the city for good view of tijuana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msskyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We really appreciate your opinion about our hotel.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a few times since 2006. Each time a stay I see it more deteriorated. The rooms are clean but not well mantained, the morning buffett is usually crowded and with total lack of service, poor quality and not too many options.

The rooms used to have a safety box which is not there anymore.

Registration is fast but they insist on having you leave your email to spam you with their monthly specials.

The shower is old and has little water pressure. TV sets are CTR (no slim TVs, very old)

In short: if you are looking for a clean bed, not even comfortable, that is what you will get (only)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your comments!
We are making some changes in order to improve the facilities and exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to see you again in a near future.
Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

When we first walked into the lobby I new what we we were in for. You could describe the place like it looked like the central court to a commercial building or food court. The interior was so out dated, the material on the lounges were old, dirty and pilling with cigarette holes. There was no guest store, or anything for tourists around. The room was just the same. Completely out dated and had that dirty feel about it from the curtains, to the bed, carpet and bathrooms. In fact, our bath tub had black yuck in it along with chunks of hair etc. It was so revolting. None of the power points we working in the bathroom. The beds were too soft and did not have proper mattress protection covers. We found ourselves sleeping on the bare mattress in the evening as the sheet kept on slipping off (again yuck factor in terms of hygeine). There was no bar fridge. This proved difficult as we were travelling with our infant .

The hotel is of course central in Tijuana and if I could say anything positive about the place it is the kind service we received in getting up graded (room still the same condition though). I love the mexican people and they always offer great service however this hotel in my opinion should be rated 3 star. It is a shame that they can get away with 5 star room rates.
I hope they renovate...it is in dire need of it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbsMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We really apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.
We appreciate your opinion about our hotel and we are making some changes in order to improve the facilities.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Loved every moment while there. Never expected to feel so at home. Our bed was so comfy. I slept so well. Rooms are super clean and beautiful. Service was excellent. Will go again. -arianna

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AriMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your comments!
We will do the best for getting every day a better service for you!
Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel check in smooth, staff super nice, rooms were clean. Awesome idea of having the room card/key in a box by the door to turn on the power to the room...great energy saving concept!
Don't expect anyone around the hotel (businesses) to speak English though. And also even though the white cabs are cheaper - they are mainly criminals/gang members or untraceable citizens who drive and so stick with the yellow or red cabs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alli_han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank your comments and for staying with us!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

for the price you pay this is 5 stars ,while in this city dont forget to visit la revu

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubinstein34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your comment and for staying with us!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#7 of 45 in Tijuana
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 45 in Tijuana
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#14 of 45 in Tijuana
122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 45 in Tijuana
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tijuana

Address: Blvd Agua Caliente 4500, Tijuana 22420, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Mexican Hopitality at its best. Enjoy spacious rooms with laminated flores, Free Wi-Fi, safety deposit boxes, and Suites. Outdoor swimming pool, great location and a very delicious cuisine at Ixchel, its main Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijuana Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing