We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high standard in Tijuana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A high standard in Tijuana”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Grand Hotel in Tijuana is an iconic landmark of the city, and a standar place for business and pleasure trips. It is easy to get from and to the border, and not far away from the airport. I have stayed here mostly for business and, on occassion, when a plane was overbooked and I volunteered to stay overnight. Most rooms have a good view of the golf course behind the hotel. The rooms have lots of natural light, which is a pleasant experience in the morning.
Although the hotel is over 30 yrs old, maintenance is good, but it lacks what are now standards in most hotels, security boxes in every room. The hotel attendants are amiable and prompt in their service, the elevators are quiet, and the conference rooms excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lateleapagada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We appreciate yours comments, We hope to see you again in a near future.
Tank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    81
    55
    19
    21
See reviews for
39
48
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times and over the years you can see the deterioration is overcoming the rooms. The rooms are clean but starting to show the wear. There is a cabinet for a refrigerator, microwave and safety box, but none are provided. Possible in other rooms it is, but each time I have stay there is none and not a big deal. The TV sets are old and in great need of updating. The shower did not have hot water this time which has never happened before.

The morning buffet is usually crowded so I would recommend ordering in unless you like a big meal in the morning.

Registration/checking-in always is slow and this time they did not have my registration; luckily I provide them with my confirmation email otherwise I would have been overcharged for the room.
The view is great. Just have to ask for the city or golf course view. There is parking; make sure to validate the parking pass.

Overall, it is a fair value if you book a room using AAA, AARP or Grand Rewards rate, otherwise not worth the value. The Grand Hotel is not a Five Star hotel with superior service or decor. If you are expecting luxury and consistent quality you will be disappointed. But, if you are looking for mostly clean, mostly secure and generally comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price, then the Grand Hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: ask for the city or golf course view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Redbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We appreciate yours comments! We are making some changes in order to improve the facilities and exceeding the expectations of our guests, We hope to see you again in a near future.
Tank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nice view, excelent location, but for the price there is always room for improvement. Our room was clean but a light fixture was falling from the ceiling, another one was not working, food was good but too expensive

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are making some changes in order to improve the facilities and exceeding the expectations of our guests.
We hope to see you again in a near future. And thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Great hotel with amazing views. Seems to be well centred and easily accessible. Close to most ammenities. The pool and hot tub are very clean as well as the cabanas. The staff is great and very friendly. Restaurants at the hotel were really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about our property and we will do the best for getting every day a better service.
Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

For one reason or other, the Grand Hotel reminded me most of some similar hotels in the Middle East. What is different, however, is that the exterior of the Grand is very unimposing (almost like a parking lot), which is odd as the hotel is in one of a couple of very high towers. During my stay, there were many military service-persons around at all times. Front desk service was absolutely excellent (and it isn't often in hotels, I find!), as was room-service and breakfast service. Wake up calls were prompt, housekeeping efficient and friendly. While the decor is slightly tired, views are good, rooms spacious, beds comfortable and bathrooms beautiful, laid out with marble - in my case, anyway. Breakfast is abundant and tasty. There were two things that struck me as odd: firstly, the restaurant, although it has good food, is not on a par with the rest of the hotel. And, strangely, I couldn't always get warm water (or had to wait very long). However, if would I come back to Tijuana -and I hope to, because I like the energy of this city- I would certainly not mind staying at the Grand Hotel. In summary: recommended.

Room Tip: On the city-side of the building (where I did not stay), views seem to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about our property and we will do the best for getting every day a better service for you!
Thank you for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metepec, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

As the title of my review says, I was expecting more, I attended Grand Hotel Tijuana as part of the team in charge of the logistic/organization of a CONAQUIC congress for 1 week, I shared the room with 1 colleague and I had access to breakfast and meals in the restaurant's buffet, the food was good for most of the time even though I saw a roach roaming in the bread basket in the breakfast buffet.

The rooms were the disappointing part, because they were too small for my taste, the hotel needs a remodeling, it begins to look old, I was expecting something different for what I paid.

The rooms were always clean, the bathroom was also very clean, the gym had everything I needed for a small workout, the pool was also good, because it was almost empty and it was also very clean without being flooded with chlorine.

I would certainly search for a better option before staying at this hotel for more than a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Norris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your comments!
We are making some changes in order to improve the facilities and exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to see you again in a near future.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Get a room facing the city for a nice night time view of TJ. The pool and hot tub were very clean and refreshing. Excellent service from housekeeping and the front desk. Good restaurants across the street. Did not eat at hotel but restaurants in hotel looked good.

Room Tip: Go high and face the city for good view of tijuana
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msskyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about our hotel.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 43 in Tijuana
295 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 43 in Tijuana
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 43 in Tijuana
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#18 of 43 in Tijuana
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tijuana

Property: Grand Hotel Tijuana
Address: Blvd Agua Caliente 4500, Tijuana 22420, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms featuring a gorgeous view to the Golf course and the city, and furnished in a way to provide the most comfortable and relaxing stay. The perfect combination of elegance and functionality, always with the latest technology and comfort in mind. At Grand Hotel Tijuana we are mindful of every detail - because we know how important it is to provide you with a room that offers exceptional rest - so we offer a relaxing environment which, together with an exquisite range of amenities, will make your stay a one-of-a-kind experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijuana Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing