We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed overnight in the Grand Hotel while we had dental work done nearby. The room is an excellent price for a nice, clean room. We were told to ask for a room with a view over the golf course, great advice! Lovely view! We enjoyed both restaurants in the hotel. Staff is very friendly and willing to straighten out our messed up Spanish! :) If you stay for dental work the hotel allows extra time in the room, great arrangement!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 543tinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014
Google Translation

Dear Tina B: Grand Hotel Tijuana agradece que usted comparta su experiencia en nuestra propiedad, así como sus comentarios a nuestro servicio. Ciertamente las hermosas vistas al campo del golf tienen alta demanda. Es recomendable solicitar su vista favorita cuando nos llame a nuestros números sin costo para atenderle. Continuaremos con nuestro compromiso de buen servicio y mejora continua. Le esperamos en su próximo viaje a nuestra ciudad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Tijuana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a month as medical tourists, attending one of the medical clinics in town. The Grand Hotel is reputed to be one of the nicer hotels in Tijuana. Beds are excellent. Staff are generally very courteous and helpful and do their best to make their guests as comfortable as possible.

Rooms are generally pleasant and roomy enough but the hotel has serious problems with plumbing and with uneven floor surfaces. We were forced to change rooms 3 times due to issues first with toilet, then a horrible smell from the grate in bathroom, and then a room with a tilt on the floor that was literally at least 10 degrees. Like being on a ship in rough seas. Another guest had to move during the night because the ceiling of their bathroom started pouring water onto the floor!

Rooms come with small refrigerators that often don't work. On the positive side, bathrooms have a separate faucet that has drinkable filtered water.

Cleaning is done daily but is surface. Rugs are filthy. Walls of shower are often not cleaned.

We were on the 31st floor - one of the two 'Club' floors. These rooms cost more and entitled us to use of the lounge on the 32nd floor - morning continental breakfast with fruit and cottage cheese, yogurt, sweet rolls, etc. And from 6-9 each evening hors d'oeuvres (often inedible) and beverages. We stayed on this floor because the lounge gave us a place for us to socialize with other clinic patients. Great support. If not for that need, we would not have paid the extra to stay on the "Club" floor. It wouldn't have been worth it.

The food in this hotel is terrible! Really terrible. We tried room service several times, different dishes, and two of the hotel's restaurants. Nothing is edible! The fruit and cheese in the lounge in the morning is the only edible thing we found. They desperately need a new chef. A few nice restaurants in the area. I personally recommend Salvatore's down the street. Best Italian food I've ever had.

Pool area was pleasant for the first 3 weeks but in the last week the hot tub was foamy. We were afraid to go into it. Because of that, we didn't trust the pool either, although it looked okay.

The hotel has shuttle service to the various clinics, airports and other places as well. The drivers are courteous and helpful. One in particular, Rosario Perez goes out of his way to be helpful, friendly, pleasant and courteous. He made our stay in Tijuana much smoother.

Bottom line? This hotel has some good points and is better than many here, but it has some serious problems, which are being investigated by the hotel and repairs are intended, we've been told.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a corner room on the 30th or 31st floor. They all have the uneven floors. In fact don'...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear Moosey57, Thank you for taking a moment to write us. We stared a remodelation Project and Lobby is fully completed. We are currently working on the remodelation on upper floors and we have a wonderful new Chef. Raul Nunez is the new staff memeber that joined us, as of August 2014, As aGrand Hotel Tijuana, we were selected as Host for the Tijuana Innovadora 2014 event in Tijuana and had the opportunity of catering the De Gala Dinner for 700 people. you might find all details of event at google. Please come to visit us again, I am absolutely positive you will find several changes that will make you smile. Thank you, once again, we strive to meet and exceed guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Its been many years since I have stayed in Tijuana. The Grand Hotel was a really pleasant surprise and really makes a statement of how cosmopolitan Tijuana has become. The Grand is truly a modern hotel with great service, comfortable beds, and great food. The rooms are large and very clean. I had heard that Tijuana was now an international destination and the Grand Hotel is centrally located and very accessible to all that Tijuana has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Will Ebersman: We Thank you for your comments. Our staff strives to meet and exceed guest's expexctations. Your comment means a great deal of recognition to their commitment and let us find out that we are in the right direction, as we continue to keep improving our services and assuring a great experience to all of our guests. We are looking forward to serve you one more time in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I just spend some time in the Grand Hotel and was extremely pleased to have chosen this hotel. The facility is immaculate, with the staff continually cleaning and maintaining the facility. Parking is easy to access and well lit. The desk staff is bi-lingual and very professional. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying and doing business in Tijuana.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook a golf course. There was no vehicle noise. Try for that side of the hote...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willebersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Will Ebersman, We thank you for your time and for sharing your experience of our services with the world. Our commitment to guest's satisfaction always takes priority. We will continue to strive to meet and exceed your expectations. Once again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The "GHT" or "Las Torres" is perfect for those traveling to Tijuana for the first time or for those who haven't visited in a long time. We stayed in an "executive room". The hotel is clean, offers great service, comfortable beds, higher end linens and towels and a great pool. It's a $6-8 taxi ride to anywhere in the city and near all the delicious restaurants. Some minor annoyances? Yes. But just remind yourself that you're in TJ and you'll feel like you're in the lap of luxury.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SlaterGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear SlaterGilrz: Thank you so much for writing a comment about our property and service. Your insights make us proud of our level of guest's satisfaction. We are commited to keep a high level of service for all of our guests, as we are looking forward to have the opportunity to serve you one more time, the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed here at the Grand Hotel numerous times on business trips to Tijuana for many years. They have free shuttle service to and from the airport which is very convenient. Shuttle Driver/Bell Boy Captain Rosario is very friendly, prompt, efficient, safe and speaks very good English!

If you decide to drive here, they have a very safe secure parking area under the hotel.

From the moment you walk up to the entrance you’ll be greeted by friendly Bell Boys with an open door, nice smiles, and warm greetings.

The front desk personal are bilingual and always make check in and check out simple and easy and they go above and beyond their duties to provide excellent service. Their customer service continues to impress me.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and have a great view of the city on the front side or a great view of a beautiful golf course on the back side. What I like most about the rooms are that the bedding, sheets, blankets, and pillow cases are always very clean and immaculate! Bathrooms are always spotless and the towels/wash clothes are always very clean and immaculate!

The hotel is located in a nice, safe, quiet area. I always feel safe here. Restaurants and stores are within walking distance of the hotel. If you want American food there is a Subway and Carl’s Jr right across the street, 1 minute walk. There is also a McDonalds, Burger King and Papa Johns close by. If your looking for some good Mexican food, be sure to ask Rosario the Shuttle Driver/Bell Boy Captain where the best places to eat are, he knows of all the good restaurants! In the lobby there is also a very nice bar with a big screen TV.

They have one of the cleanest pools I have ever seen on the rooftop of the lobby and also a Jacuzzi with several day beds surrounding the pool area. They also have a nice clean gym.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tijuana!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado SkyTravel: Agradecemos sus comentarios, son una herramienta valiosa que nos permite reconocer aciertos y sobre todo un gran incentivo que nos permite continuar esforzándonos para ofrecerle un servicio de calidad. Gracias por referir a uno de nuestros muchos colaboradores que hacen suyo el compromiso de servicio personalizado. Le esperamos en esta su casa en Tijuana, en su próximo viaje a nuestra ciudad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Typing this from mobile.., I stayed the night in off season, arrived at 8 pm on a Sunday night in early Nov 2013. It was a little eerie at first given that there was absolutely no patrons anywhere. It felt a little euro cold, if that makes sense. I choose the regular double bed room (cheaper) It was roomy and clean, but dated and the double size (not queen) mattresses and pillows were standard with no extra fluff, mattress acceptable but marginally so. The hotel was peaceful aside from the occasional room door slamming shut (springs to control the door closing hard would be a plus here) i had to remember to control the door close when I left my own room, easy to forget to do. I did have a good nights sleep though . I didn't mention but there was also a large desk to work on and a roomy bathroom with soaps, hair wash /conditioner. If I had chosen the "suite" it would have suited my typical US accommodations, which consists of a standard room with nice linens, and a better quality mattress ? And fluffy pillows. So ratings at this hotel can vary and I can understand why, but I would definitively stay again since I was with family patronizing businesses in the towers. The elevator was stealth. The restaurant was pricey - ate at both, food was good, nothing special. There is also a yogurt shop which I believe sells healthy options for lunch. Inside one of the two adjoining towers there was a bariatric oxygen clinic, a pharmacy, a busy dental office with Mexican and American patrons, an opera training school, a tv station, and a pediatric physical therapy. There is also a Bancomer right next door, and a Carls Jr and an Argentine restaurant across the street. The surroundings felt safe and easy to get there from the border it seemed. Got in and out by taxi, drivers were friendly. All in all an good experience. Inside the medical suites, my aunt saw the urologist and my mom had other medical business there. There were probably other doctors there , a cardiologist,and OBGYN, and a plastic surgeon with a specialty is with Ear, nose, throat, hmmm... The bariatric oxygen clinic /spa was very nice, I do plan to come back for oxygen therapy. I thinks that's about all I can remember at this point.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTijuana, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your comments.
We will continue making some changes in order to improve the facilities and exceed the expectations of our guests.
We will be waiting for your next stay and it will be a pleasure to serve you!
Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#7 of 45 in Tijuana
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 45 in Tijuana
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#17 of 45 in Tijuana
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 45 in Tijuana
254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tijuana

Address: Blvd Agua Caliente 4500, Tijuana 22420, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms featuring a gorgeous view to the Golf course and the city, and furnished in a way to provide the most comfortable and relaxing stay. The perfect combination of elegance and functionality, always with the latest technology and comfort in mind. At Grand Hotel Tijuana we are mindful of every detail - because we know how important it is to provide you with a room that offers exceptional rest - so we offer a relaxing environment which, together with an exquisite range of amenities, will make your stay a one-of-a-kind experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijuana Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing