We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Adequate.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

What a disappointment! Once you open the doors to the lobby you are greeted by the cigarette smoky air that is rushing to escape. That should have been an indication for me to turn around and find a better hotel, but the room could not be cancelled. When I inquired about the smoke I was informed the casino is smoke free. That was true only for the casino next to the open resturant, but there is also an adjacent casino room for smokers. Unfortunately they doors are never closed so all the smoke lingers throughout the entire open area. So if you are a smoker, you'll love it.

Note: a $50.00 deposit is also required for any incidental which is not disclosed until checking-in.

The rooms are adequate and in need of renovations. Not compairable to the pictures shown, but that is to be expected. You can see that in the décor, dingy grout in the shower, and the soiled carpet in the room and hallways. Don’t expect a good night sleep. The constant ringing and chimes from the slot machines and occasional uproars from customers can be heard in the room. If that is not enough the constant traffic noise of cars passing by on all the enterchanges can be heard.
The food was very disappointing. The filet mignon with steam vegetable was very bland and not cooked properly. Cheese is put into everything, the potatoes, soup, sandwiches, eggs. Service was slow and some of the staff members just ignore you when trying to ask for help. The breakfast was “supposed” to be included, inquire during check-in otherwise.....

Upon check-out we were given another surprise, we were charged for making local phone calls. Only the first one is free, the rest you have to pay for. That was not what we were told from the hotel operator and nowhere is that disclosed to you, not even in the hotel handbook.
Also note that the tag on the bottle water stating the bottle water is complimentary is deceiving, only the hotel labeled water is, not the one with the tag stating complimentary.

This establishment does not get a good endorsement and I’d suggest looking/researching other places.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, noise from the slots ring throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    40
    33
    8
    10
See reviews for
31
31
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
owensboro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

service , food ,rooms,wifi,staff one of the best i have come across in the hotel industry
Will stay again very friendly staff and the General Manager .



“Wonderful Experience”


Pueblo Amigo Hotel was the perfect place to for me and friens to stay while visiting in Tijuana. The hotel is extremely close to the border crossing which made it very easy to find after entering the country. The staff was extremely accommodating and provided us with excellent service during our three-day stay. If you are in Tijuana...
more

Room Tip: all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

My sister and I stayed here because of the airport being closed due to fog. The service was really good, the front desk accommodated us with a room even though it was still early. The room was not very good, the beds were comfortable but the carpet was old and needed cleaning and the decor was really dated. It was okay to stay in just to get some much needed sleep after being up all night trying to fly out, and I really liked the way the rooms were all faced towards the middle of the hotel where the action was. They had a really fun bar area and a nice buffet. I guess I would stay there if ever I get fogged in again, which I hope never to repeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Pueblo Amigo Hotel was the perfect place to host my crew while working in Tijuana. The hotel is extremely close to the border crossing which made it very easy to find after entering the country. The staff was extremely accommodating and provided us with excellent service during our three-day stay. If you are in Tijuana and looking for a clean, safe, and convenient place to stay I highly recommend Pueblo Amigo.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloAmigoHotel, Gerente at Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear JF: On behalf of our staff, I want to thank you for your comments. They are a great incentive and makes us strive in our daily duties!! We appreciate it so much!! Hope we see you and your crew, some time soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a nice hotel within walking distance of the border. I like everything about it BUT the front desk. They try but they are very unorganized. I've stayed here 10 times and I've had my rooms change from two queens to a single king. I've also had the price change. It's very frustrating.

Room Tip: get the name of the person you talk to when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwd32248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. the room was standard king and was quite large for hotel room. Thought coffe maker came with this room, but told only suites have. No mini fridge which would have been helpful, but the food in the hotel was VERY good! We stayed a week and enjoyed trying new things. For hotel food, the prices were not that bed compared to the states. The best the hotel had was their staff. Everyone was very helpful. I just wished we spoke the language. That would have made a big differnce. As for the continental breakfast, on the internet it said choice of coffee or tea, two eggs andy style, and choice of fruit or juice. At the Patio (restaurant) cont. breakfast was same except two bread choices instead of eggs. Went to desk and explained I needed eggs, not bread. No problem, one was called americano cont. They easily changed my coupons. When served, it also included potatos and bread.
The taxes kind of sneek up on you at check out. $66.00 a night ended up being $85. Even so,good deal.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Caliente, the book making place across from the hotel entrance. It was loud no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good location although a little hard to get to without knowing the road tricks. Great staff. 5 Star service everywhere. Great bar. Good food at the restaurant and buffet, although a little overpriced on weekends.
No noise insulations. Humming sound in the room from some equipment, as well as noise from the street. Very noisy party on the front lawn drove us out of the room for a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#12 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
B my Hotel
B my Hotel
#13 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Property: Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Address: Calle Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing