We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Vegas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Long Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like Vegas!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This casino is right next to the border and is so convenient. The rooms are new on the 1st and 2nd floors. The hospitality is amazing and everyone is so helpful and polite. The gaming is awesome! True Vegas style gambling.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ghernandez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    41
    34
    9
    11
See reviews for
31
35
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband stayed here for thanksgiving weekend. It was so much fun. Everyone was sooo helpful! They went out of their way to help. The food in the restaurant is delicious. Very tasty. We had a marvelous weekend. So much to do, but we also enjoyed staying in the premises. The drinks at the bar are good and we got to do a little gambling. I give this place 5 stars and recommend to everyone wishing to receive vip treatement.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heredia_viridiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Pueblo Amigo for three days in September 2013 and really enjoyed the friendly and professional staff. The food was excellent, the casino was fun, and the overall service was great!

Room Tip: If you wish a quieter room ask for one above the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a former Holiday Inn, probably 40 years old. My room had not undergone a remodel, save for a new tv and bed, since it was built. Bath fixtures were rusted and worn and the toilet emitted a foul smell. The carpet was worn and the room lacked promised amenities like a coffee maker. The hotel atrium is now a casino and an announcer worked the public address system all night announcing winners. You could hear it clearly in the rooms.
There is no fitness center (despite the listing) and one of the two hotel elevators appears out of commission.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank RodriguezLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloAmigoHotel, Gerente at Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
RodriguezLasVegas, We appreciate your comments. I have always consider them as a tool for improvement. Since the opening as Holiday Inn 19 years ago, we are proud to announce one more renovation for our Property. As I learned of your experience, I have to say that was a terrible exception rather than the rule. Unfortunately we stared with an ambitious renovation program in June 2013, As a manager of the property, I would like to invite you to visit our property, either as a mistery shopper or as my guest. All I want is the opportunity for you to witness before the tripadvisor community, the wonderful renovation, the new systems on heaters, air conditioning, the sealed mechanisms in every single door that lower in a great deal the casino ambiance. Fell free to contact Gerardo Delgado, Resident Manager. Love to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I just got back from TJ and had a grand stay of a time at Hotel Pueblo Amigo, which is not far from the border or downtown.

I was in TJ for med purposes, I needed cataract surgery and opted to get a 2nd opinion in TJ. The med office Codex Vision referred me to Pueblo Amigo as a good place to stay. I was in TJ for 3 days. First of all the staff were very friendly and helpful, one is usually greeted with a warm smile and how are you doing or can I help you with anything, type of attitude. Which makes for a enchanting background to a nice hotel. The grounds and hotel are kept very clean, yes there is gambling and this is probably how they pay a lot of bills. If I had a compliant, it would be that once or twice I heard BINGO, BINGO, BINGO that one of the machines has recorded in its memory while I was asleep. It was not that loud and I quickly went back to sleep.

The room was grand in nature and roomy in size. The bed extremely comfortable, the decor is professional and tasteful in me humble opinion. The bath room is large and done in marble type tile, has that rich feeling. The tub is very relaxing, I turned me ankle and took a couple hot baths and I am 5'10" and I was most comfortable soaking in said tub. A color TV worked well, stations in Spanish, I was in Mexico, additionally there was a writing deck, formal type sitting chair with ottoman and couple nite stands and dresser and sizable closet. My room was on the 5th floor and this provide a panoramic view of TJ and area.

As stated earlier, the grounds are lush and well maintained, as is the exterior. The lobby is large and inviting with its black mable flooring. Pueblo Amigo has a restaurant, that I found to be enjoyable and provides wide array of food styles and choices. I ate couple dinners here and the meals were fairly priced and the dishes were tasty to me. I felt I got great dinners for the price I paid. The waiter service was excellent. Just beyond the restaurant was the gaming portion of the hotel. The gaming and restaurant area is on ground floor and has 7 floors of open space above it. The side wall is made of glass and iron work from floor to ceiling, makes for great back ground as I would assend up the glass elevator to me room.

The hotel provided shuttle for me to med clinic and Jaun Carlos provided excellent service and very safe ride.

I live in Los Angeles area and often hear many negative things about TJ, my stay at Pueblo Amigo, with its professional and friendly staff reminded me of the rich heritage and pride that is Mexico! Perhaps I am over stating my stay, Pueblo Amigo provided me with fabulous service in a grand setting, what more is there to say?

BTW, I went with Codex Vision and now have 20/20 vision in me left eye, they were excellent too!!!

Room Tip: try to get upper floor facing or with view of TJ and Downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel because I was having elective surgery nearby and my room was booked through the company that coordinated my surgery. The night before the surgery, I stayed in one of the older rooms that had not been remodeled. Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable but it was very out dated. I stayed at the hotel again after the surgery and was put in a remodeled room which was much better.
The hotel staff was absolutely outstanding!! Friendly, helpful, courteous and very accommodating. I did not eat at the hotel due to restrictions before and after surgery but the food looked very good, especially the buffet in the morning. I did not experience any smoke at the hotel, the area of the casino near the lobby is smoke free and I am very sensitive to smoke.
The one recommendation that I would have is that they get cable or satellite television with channels in English to accommodate English speaking guests. It seems that they get a lot of guests there that are having elective surgery nearby and need to rest in the room a lot.
I would stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very clean rooms with first class service. We were in Tijuana for business and were able to relax and recharge in the evenings. The lively casino was available for those of us who wanted the stimulation, as well as areas of quiet for others. The rooms were a welcome sight in the evenings.
An island of comfort in a sea of confusion and distraction.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 43 in Tijuana
250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#6 of 43 in Tijuana
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#14 of 43 in Tijuana
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#16 of 43 in Tijuana
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Property: Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Address: Calle Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing