We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home - safe and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home - safe and reasonable”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I came to Tijuana by myself to have some dental work done. ALL of my friends and family were worried about me (except my hubby who knows that I am adventurous). This hotel was chosen because of its price and proximity to my dentist. It is located in the Zona Rio and is close to restaurants, cinemas, banks and clubs. The very modern décor carries through from the hotel rooms to the lobby décor - it's not my particular taste but for those who like modern styling, this hotel is perfect. My room was a little dark with the blackout curtains closed but task lighting is adequate. There were a few stains on the carpet but not enough to prevent me from enjoying my stay. For some reason, washcloths were not provided but this wasn't a problem since I travel with my own loofa. They have Wi-Fi and provide the password to incoming guests. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Although I had the continental breakfast coupon, I needed a special meal because my teeth were sensitive. The waiter in the restaurant worked with the chef to create a soft (yet delicious) breakfast for less than $7.00 U.S.! The only suggestions I would have would be to include washcloths, professionally steam clean the carpets and add more ceiling light fixtures. I have more work that needs to be done and the Real del Rio will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Textilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    78
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
30
39
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. The check in was fast and it was obvious that they had security measures in place. Felt Safe at this location. The hotel looks average from the outside but the inside rooms are very clean and very nice looking. Its a bit tricky getting to the hotel because of the one way streets and lack of signs. The parking is free, and it has 24/7 security so its safe.
Very nice hotel, staff very nice. No complaints, just stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiva_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel.It is very close to Zona Rio which is the center where there is alot of restaurants and a theater there. Customer service is great and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is near everything, and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jl90650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Google Translation
Recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO, Muchas gracias por dar su opinión y esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights
They charged 10dollars from a lady that used the towel and her make up was shown on it
We got a very bad service at the front desk charging extra money on breakfast which we have not been told before and the food was very poor.
Very unpleasant service all our staying .
The location is the best part otherwise not recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, General Manager at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
The hotel offers as an added value continental breakfast, in some rates, the same as international travelers know what this breakfast contains, and to Customer we explain in the front desk the content and show it on restaurant, prompted BEFORE requesting the service and the waiter returns to explain this type and what this breakfast includes.

the charge for towels is never correct use, as we have at your disposal two full of bath towels and 1 hand.

guests that give a different use to dry your hands and/or body such as use of clean shoes, use of hair dye application, or use it as napkin to clean blood, damage to the material(towel) being impossible to recover for use with the following guests. and prevents to continue offering attractive rates for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the moment we walked in until we checked out we were very pleased. The hotel has a very modern look to it with oversize seating in the lobby. The room had 2 queen size beds, a nice view and everything was clean and comfortable. An incredible shower. We enjoyed a few hours on the terrace with only not having the washrooms there open being an annoyance. The restaurant was not badly priced and the food was ok and a bit greasy. The staff throughout the hotel could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baxter932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, e-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.
By this means receive a cordial greeting, of all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, Thanking you for giving your point of view during your stay and taking them in to account, to improve Future service. We hope to be your preferred choice in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It has an excellent location, restaurants and a mall close by, very clean rooms and overhall this hotel is excellent for the price that you pay. very friendly stuff and very private, walking distance to places and one of the best areas in Tijuana. Boulevard close to so you can take a cab if you don't wanna drive.

Room Tip: call the hotel before you book online, sometimes the price is better if you call them first. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abusadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRealR, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.
By this means receive a cordial greeting, of all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, Thanking you for allowing us to be your host and hope we have exceeded your expectations of service. We hope to be your preferred choice in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The staff are great. Even if they do not speak English there is always someone close by that does.
Never had a communication problem at all, they try so hard to make your stay pleasent.
The in hotel dining room has excellent food and the morning buffet for 99 pesos can't be beat.

As far as safe, we wandered all around the area for blocks and blocks with no issue.

TJ has cleaned up a lot and seems to me that they are renovating many areas.

Wifi was great and always up with solid consistent speed.

As far as price it was very fair and in fact cheaper than I expected.

If you are coming to TJ you really should check out this hotel as an option to stay at
you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bama0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRealR, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.
By this means receive a cordial greeting, of all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, Thanking you for allowing us to be your host and we hope we have exceeded your expectations of service. And we hope to be your preferred choice in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 43 in Tijuana
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 43 in Tijuana
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#18 of 43 in Tijuana
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#13 of 43 in Tijuana
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#17 of 43 in Tijuana
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Property: Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Address: Avenida Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing