We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem located in the Zone Rio area. Service was excellent, the rooms were first rate and I loved the bar. The unexpected thing about this hotel is the food is really good which I would never expect from a hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I loved this hotel. It was a find on priceline about $60 bucks a night for a double. It was modern, clean and well-located. It was a quick cab ride to the nightlife on the Avenida de la Revolucion. We went jogging in the morning in the area and everything was great. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor or above to get a good view of the city.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergiotexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is nice and modern. To find it, it was a bit tricky, but I'm sure if you call them, they can guide you. The breakfast was very yummy and reasonably price. The only thing I would suggest is getting softer towels. They were a bit too harsh... Other than that, it was a comfortable stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Sorry you had a hard time getting to the Hotel, but as some might say “Getting there is half the fun"

We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I am a frequent traveler to Tijuana. This time I needed to find the nicest hotel possible at around 75 dollars a night as I was needing 2-3 rooms. Hotel Real del Rio's website showed some pretty nice modern bedrooms and they boasted a policy in place to maintain the hotels integrity. Through their website I got a pretty decent rate using my AAA discount. My son got a bloody nose and got some blood on the sheets. When I went to pay my bill at the end of our 4 night stay (3 rooms) I was charged 500 pesos (about $40 USD) for laundry service on the sheets! Something about them not having onsite laundry service. If it weren't for this outrageous charge at the end of my stay, I would have said the hotel was a really good price for the room we stayed in. I'm not staying here again - how can i guarantee no stains on the bedding with a 3 year old? Pros: Free WIFI, Free Parking, Convenient Location, Clean Room, AAA rate gives you a decent rate
Cons: No in room Fridge available at all, 3 adult max per room (even for a 2 bed room), not enough storage if on extended stay, small dingy raspy towels, no wash clothes, loud AC, not enough light in room, they will CHARGE for any type of stain on bedding, no pool

Room Tip: use AAA discount
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiosMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on Clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Complying with international standards of quality and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here on January 4th. The hotel has a restaurant and bar. Tried all of the services the hotel had to offer and was very satisfactory. The bar is great, plays alot of techno but fairly empty and quiet for a Saturday night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I went to Tijuana for one week's trip and lives several different hotels. I booked this hotel online before I went there, it's very close to the boarder between America and Mexico. I paid $68 of a single room with a king size bed, it's a nice room with a nice desk, good WIFI, safe box. It worth the money I paid.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank xiedwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos que se tomaron el tiempo para compartir su opinión. Por este medio recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO. Aclarando los detalles de su visita, fue atendido por nuestro encargado de recepción y se Muchas gracias por dar sus comentarios de su visita y teniendo en cuenta su opinion para mejorar el servicio futuro. Esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Cumpliendo con los estándares internacionales de calidad y servicio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Let me start this review by saying that I hardly ever write bad reviews. I am top contributor in TripAdvisor I work for Expedia, I travel a lot and as a Mexican with regret I can say this is one of the worst hotels Ive ever stayed in.

First the PROs:
- Free WiFi
- Free Parking

now the CONS (I will elaborate more on some points):
a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD, dont even try to ask for fresh towels
b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
c) Overpriced, specially by having amazing hotels like Camino Real 1 block away
d) Rooms are old, carpets are stained and there's no suite amenities (fridge, microwave)
e) Facilities like A/C are OLD and noisy.

Now let me elaborate:

a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD:
After a long day visiting "La Ruta del Vino" a wine tour, we came back and took a late shower, towels are like sandpaper but anyways. We woke up late (we had a wedding that day) and called house keeping for some towels, which we were denied to, they didnt have any (yeah right) and they were waiting for them to come from outsourced laundry... housekeeping lady was RUDE, and simply denied to help my wife, at that time I called front desk and argue with the guy in order to get towels, its the first time in my life I BEG for towels. after 15 to 20 minutes a rude bellboy comes, and gives me ONE towel, which my wife used.. end of the story I had to wait until evening to shower and use a fresh towel, of course my room was never cleaned and housekeeping only showed a day later.

b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
We saw 3 prostitutes arrive to the lounge bar to "visit" other guests, this I find extremely inappropriate for a "decent" hotel

c) d) and e) are self explanatory, this hotel is simply something I would NEVER use again and would NEVER recommend,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#17 of 45 in Tijuana
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#7 of 45 in Tijuana
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 45 in Tijuana
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Tijuana
Real Inn Tijuana
#14 of 45 in Tijuana
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Address: Avenida Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range: £67 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing