We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now, THIS is meat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beefcake - CLOSED

Beefcake
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Now, THIS is meat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went a while ago to this restaurant. Do not be deceived by its small location in a big mall; this restaurant has really good burgers and meals everyday. You can tell the ingredients are fresh and high quality that is reflected in the meal. The burger that I tried last time was the classic one, along with a delicious Dr.Pepper. I recommend this place for a nice meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosarito, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

From all the great reviews, just had to try it on a recent pass through Tijuana. Very convenient because it is near the border crossing.
Although the burgers looked interesting, I had a hankering for steak so I tried the Filete a al Pimienta - must be Spanish for STEAK AU POIVRE because it reminded me of a bistro meal in Paris. The steak was encrusted in ground pepper and topped with a cream sauce to create that delicate balance of flavors.
A+ for flavor plus a bonus point for presentation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find in Tijuana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We only visited this place after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed! My niece and nephew loved their food and so did the grownups...service and price were great and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The food was yummy, fresh ingredients and a fantastic burger. Servings are a good size...I highly recommend this place and will definitely revisit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosarito, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hole in the Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

As a new expat living in Baja I am exploring the offerings based on the reviews I read here online.
Found BEEFCAKE (great logo guys) in Plaza Rio. Just a little place with 4 tables, and a fun looking dumbwaiter to service the kitchen upstairs.
They have a great "menu ejecutivo" deal and just had to try the meatloaf. Not only was the meatloaf moist and flavorful (reminds me of Grandma's) but their mashed potato is out of this world, has garlic and sour flavor (which I guess might be sour cream mixed in). This has got to be one of the best diner fares anywhere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Innovative Hamburger Idea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

What makes these hamburgers so special aside from the fresh ingredients is that they aren't made with the usual beef patties but with a slab of very tasty meat loaf! Sure takes the hamburger up to a new level of excellence. The place is small, service is top-notch, ingredients are fresh and for the most part home-made. The menu is quite extensive; this is not just a hamburger place and they also offer a type of daily blue-plate special-called 'menú ejecutivo' down here-for just 70 pesos (about 6 dollars at today's rate of exchange). They offer four different types of fried potatoes so read the menu carefully so you get what you want. I ordered the pub fries which were delicious but soft fried so not crunchy like French fries so be aware. All in all, the place is more than worth a visit even though it's outside the usual gourmet eating zone in Tijuana. Do try their collection of cupcakes for dessert, by the way as well as the malts, floats, smoothies and 'eskimos' [coffee frappeés of various sorts].

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beefcake also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing