We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, no frills”
Review of Hotel Nelson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tijuana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nelson
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Reviewed 30 June 2011

a very nice hotel, great area, no luxury, great juke box in the bar, all 70 music, if thats your thing, have stayed many times, and will stay again, pg.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kohlanta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

I've stayed at the Hotel Nelson twice and will return. Nothing fancy, mind you, but clean, good beds and a great value. I liked it's central location next to the arch, it's lively music in the area and choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

yes we stayed there for 1 night only,.
The Tijuana police were raided by the federal"s - federal police, and they took all thier guns away from them , like little spoiled children, they were not honest, responsible enough, to keep their weapons!
Probably a direct result of complaints of attempted killins,..

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allnineyards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The front desk clerk tried to shake me down for a $10 CASH "extra guest at night fee" - This was above and beyond the rate I paid for the hotel.I spoke with another friend who had the SAME problem with the desk clerk trying to shake him down. It is VERY dangerous, There are rats too. NASTY.

BEWARE OF THIS DUMP ! ! !

Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
3  Thank SimonDeLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

my hotel experince was pretty good i spotted the hotel from many others the taxi driver recommended this was only one that looked nice it is old but i had no problems i would stay there again in the near future.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank sickside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Had not been there since March 2007. It was the same. Elevator is ancient. Street noise went on till after four in the morning. $51 for a room with two beds, shower and telephone. There is a $10 charge if you would like to bring a street guest to your room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

Hotel Nelson is on the corner of Ave revolucion by the "arches".
I had stayed there before without any problem for a weekend, but on this stay, I let my guard down, and decided to trust the front desk with my papers including an envelope with $700 cash in it to be kept in the safe. Very Bad and unsafe idea, do not ever do this there. To make a long story short, the desk clerk tipped off the local policia for that corner, and this led to my returning to the hotel later that night, being handed my envelope from the safe, and led out the door, into a waiting van, and off to a deserted street corner by the waiting local starsky and hutch.
They took my things in a most obtuse manner. I've not been back to the city since, and I am not even sure they will post this , as Hotel Nelson is an advertiser to the website. If you are reading this , Trip advisor is to be applauded for thier honesty and fairness.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank vincentto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Velario
Hotel Velario
#36 of 45 in Tijuana
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa de Zaragoza
La Villa de Zaragoza
#25 of 45 in Tijuana
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Rio Hotel
Aqua Rio Hotel
#17 of 45 in Tijuana
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#6 of 45 in Tijuana
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
B my Hotel
B my Hotel
#11 of 45 in Tijuana
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelson

Address: Avenida Revolucion 721, Tijuana, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Nelson Hotel Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing