We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I've stayed at this place 4 times, and booked it twice thru tripadvisor's advertising clients (priceline and travelocity)... rooms are clean, air conditioning in rooms, free wifi, cable tv, private safe, and a very helpful and friendly staff.. i always book this place if i can get a good deal thru tripadvisor's advertisers... i like the location, i feel safe, and i recommend to everyone... regular rate at hotel is around $74 for a queen size bed, i feel is too much, but i've been able to get king size bed for under $55 with taxes and fees included online... that's a very good deal for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirt_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. We hope to soon have the opportunity to serve you again. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    82
    29
    10
    17
See reviews for
46
42
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Bad service,bad service,bad service ,,,food was cold ,lady strated to serve us then did not care left us alone , no salsas until we asked ,the guy was a tiny bit better,but please avoid this place you almost have to scream for service ,it was only 3 tables with people..the cashier deserves another review ,I havenot seen evil in a while and this lady is pure evil ,watch your receipt as they will try to put the tip 10% on it ... not deserved but worst not asked .

.you have been warned!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyirra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments and offer a sincere apology for the service we received, we are working on improving our processes to benefit our customers, we have taken up the matter directly to improve attitudes of our employees and we reiterate our policy not to charge gratuities to individual customers. We hope to soon have the opportunity to serve you again. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tijuana hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My friends and I stayed a night at Palacio Azteca on a Saturday night, and I must thank their great service for making our stay comfortable. It was our first night ever in Mexico, and without their service, our stay in Tijuana would have not been as enjoyable.

The hotel is in a central location in Tijuana, and it has a very modern, sleek exterior. The lobby also mirrors its exterior, with a very modernized and clean look. The hotel also has a high-class restaurant inside, with the usual amenities one might find in a hotel such as a pool and a gym. For its price, I was thoroughly impressed.

However, the reason I give it four stars is that the our room was a bit outdated, and definitely wasn't the highlight of our experience. Mind you, the rooms were still quality, and I wasn't disgusted or grossed out by any aspect of it. But I was left disappointed when I saw that the room was more reminiscent of a Motel 6 room rather than one in a world-class hotel. Still, for it's price, it was decent.

I must mention that their service was top-notch; not only did they have to deal with our limited Spanish, but took care of our transportation and made reservations for us. It may not seem much, but for a group of people in a foreign land for the first time with limited communication skills, it was a huge deal.

Great stay, great value, and great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJN1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear friends, we are very grateful to share their experience and we have chosen to spend their first night in Mexico, hope that you return often and continue to give witness that Tijuana is a great city to visit. We share that we are about to start a renovation of our rooms with what we earn that point surely now we lacked. Thanks again and I hope very soon. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very easy check-in. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Rooms were very clean and made up in a timely fashion. The price was very fair and competitive. Free shuttle service around town, to the border or airport. Room service with good prices. Full service restaurant and bar on premises.

This was my second stay at this hotel and I will go back when I go to Tijuana.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had the most enjoyable New Years celebration at this hotel. Since we normally stay home over the New Years and celebrate at home, this year we decided to go out and enjoy the passing of the old year into the new. We didn't want to be driving afterwards nor have friends and family do it either. So for $125 total each, we had a very nice room, dinner, all night celebration including 3 different live bands, dancing, all you could eat and drink (yes, beer and liquor) then the next morning an outstanding buffet breakfast. We were able to take our grandchildren as well at no extra cost and they had a free playroom and ninera. Checked in at 1pm and the free valet parking took care of my expensive car, so I didn't have to worry about that. We were able to check out on New Years day at 1pm as well, so were not rushed at all.
All in all it was a great experience at a great hotel and wonderful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmnotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed here overnight while my wife had cosmetic surgery. Better than expected. Comparable to a Holiday Inn.

What was good:
Free valet parking
Pharmacy and convenience store across the street
Close to major business district with museums and medical centers
Nice lobby
Internal corridors
Safe environment, good door locks
Great satellite TV
Good hot shower with good pressure

Could be improved:
Staff didn't speak any English
Noisy; some road noise and some loud people in nearby rooms
Beds very firm

All in all, a very good value. I paid $70 for an upgraded room. My priority was to find a safe, clean, comfortable room. If you don't mind some loose fixtures and occasional peeling paint, this is a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: I think the $70 rooms are more spacious and have nicer fixtures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InOrangeCountyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I was here to spend a quick night in Tijuana before I went to a family's house the next day, the lobby was nicely put together and beautiful. I thought it would be a nice stay. But then I was escorted went to my floor which was HORRIBLE. First of all, when we got up to our room floor, the entire floor smelled like someone had been smoking weed there for the past 2 weeks. My room was nice and tidy though and didn't share the same smell as the rest of the hotel floor so off to bed I went. At around 3 am I heard a couple who couldn't quite keep it down upstairs. I mean the walls are definitely NOT sounds proof. A complete DUMP!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IreneRuvalcaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#16 of 43 in Tijuana
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 43 in Tijuana
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#6 of 43 in Tijuana
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#14 of 43 in Tijuana
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Azteca Hotel

Property: Palacio Azteca Hotel
Address: Boulevard Cuauhtemoc sur Oriente 213 | Col. Davila, Tijuana 22044, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio Azteca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palacio Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing