We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I enjoyed this hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed here while a family member had eye surgery. I went grocery shopping in the afternoon so I would not have to leave at night after my family member was done with her surgery. As I walked up to my room with the groceries a man walking with housekeeping stopped us. He asked if we wanted a fridge brought up too our room for the groceries. I said yes thank you! He could have easily smiled and kept walking. He took the time to ask and then carry the mini-fridge from the elevator to our room. I thought this was AWESOME, great customer service. When I first saw the room I wished it had a mini-fridge and coffee maker. The only thing missing was the coffee maker. I should have asked for one maybe? I didn’t get to enjoy the pool, but it looked nice. The taxis were ready available. I had a great experience at this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. We hope to soon have the opportunity to serve you again. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    78
    28
    10
    16
See reviews for
45
40
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the Green Mountain State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

When I reached the room with my key/card, it hadn't been activated, so I had to go all the way back downstairs --toting my suitcase-- to get it to work. Not a great start. The room, bedding, and bath were sparkling clean and the place is bright, modern and pleasant, with some nice views. It had an ironing board and a safe, and the place does offer a restaurant and some room room service (and no ice or soda machines of course). In my particular room, the remote battery ran out within half an hour of TV watching, and I when set my alarm, the clock stubbornly at 12:00. I did appreciate the fact that when I asked if they would refund my the money I had paid in advance for the second day, thet were willing and professional. .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_yesno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. We offer an apology for the inconvenience, we are working on improving our processes benefits of our guests and serve your kind suggestions. We hope to soon have the opportunity to serve you again. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I've stayed at this place 4 times, and booked it twice thru tripadvisor's advertising clients (priceline and travelocity)... rooms are clean, air conditioning in rooms, free wifi, cable tv, private safe, and a very helpful and friendly staff.. i always book this place if i can get a good deal thru tripadvisor's advertisers... i like the location, i feel safe, and i recommend to everyone... regular rate at hotel is around $74 for a queen size bed, i feel is too much, but i've been able to get king size bed for under $55 with taxes and fees included online... that's a very good deal for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirt_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. We hope to soon have the opportunity to serve you again. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Bad service,bad service,bad service ,,,food was cold ,lady strated to serve us then did not care left us alone , no salsas until we asked ,the guy was a tiny bit better,but please avoid this place you almost have to scream for service ,it was only 3 tables with people..the cashier deserves another review ,I havenot seen evil in a while and this lady is pure evil ,watch your receipt as they will try to put the tip 10% on it ... not deserved but worst not asked .

.you have been warned!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyirra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments and offer a sincere apology for the service we received, we are working on improving our processes to benefit our customers, we have taken up the matter directly to improve attitudes of our employees and we reiterate our policy not to charge gratuities to individual customers. We hope to soon have the opportunity to serve you again. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My friends and I stayed a night at Palacio Azteca on a Saturday night, and I must thank their great service for making our stay comfortable. It was our first night ever in Mexico, and without their service, our stay in Tijuana would have not been as enjoyable.

The hotel is in a central location in Tijuana, and it has a very modern, sleek exterior. The lobby also mirrors its exterior, with a very modernized and clean look. The hotel also has a high-class restaurant inside, with the usual amenities one might find in a hotel such as a pool and a gym. For its price, I was thoroughly impressed.

However, the reason I give it four stars is that the our room was a bit outdated, and definitely wasn't the highlight of our experience. Mind you, the rooms were still quality, and I wasn't disgusted or grossed out by any aspect of it. But I was left disappointed when I saw that the room was more reminiscent of a Motel 6 room rather than one in a world-class hotel. Still, for it's price, it was decent.

I must mention that their service was top-notch; not only did they have to deal with our limited Spanish, but took care of our transportation and made reservations for us. It may not seem much, but for a group of people in a foreign land for the first time with limited communication skills, it was a huge deal.

Great stay, great value, and great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJN1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear friends, we are very grateful to share their experience and we have chosen to spend their first night in Mexico, hope that you return often and continue to give witness that Tijuana is a great city to visit. We share that we are about to start a renovation of our rooms with what we earn that point surely now we lacked. Thanks again and I hope very soon. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very easy check-in. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Rooms were very clean and made up in a timely fashion. The price was very fair and competitive. Free shuttle service around town, to the border or airport. Room service with good prices. Full service restaurant and bar on premises.

This was my second stay at this hotel and I will go back when I go to Tijuana.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had the most enjoyable New Years celebration at this hotel. Since we normally stay home over the New Years and celebrate at home, this year we decided to go out and enjoy the passing of the old year into the new. We didn't want to be driving afterwards nor have friends and family do it either. So for $125 total each, we had a very nice room, dinner, all night celebration including 3 different live bands, dancing, all you could eat and drink (yes, beer and liquor) then the next morning an outstanding buffet breakfast. We were able to take our grandchildren as well at no extra cost and they had a free playroom and ninera. Checked in at 1pm and the free valet parking took care of my expensive car, so I didn't have to worry about that. We were able to check out on New Years day at 1pm as well, so were not rushed at all.
All in all it was a great experience at a great hotel and wonderful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmnotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#15 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#13 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Azteca Hotel

Property: Palacio Azteca Hotel
Address: Boulevard Cuauhtemoc sur Oriente 213 | Col. Davila, Tijuana 22044, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio Azteca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing