We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food in a wonderful garden”

Los Adobes de Todos Santos
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine food in a wonderful garden”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent broiled snapper, fresh as can be and seasoned perfectly. The cactus garden is beautiful and we enjoyed the watching the parrots and tropical birds in the garden. Even though it was very hot outside, the garden was cool and inviting for a late lunch. We really felt welcome and relaxed here and the restaurant staff was friendly and helpful with the menu. Great stop if you drive up to Todos Santos.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    66
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a cactus garden”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Every time we go to Todos Santos, we eat at Los Adobes. We love the quiet setting (no tourists!) and the excellent, freshly prepared Mexican food. On our last visit there, we shared a Chefs sampler/appetizer which had sopes, fresh guacamole, empanadas. Delicious, and more than enough for 2 people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SueandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Go for the Chiles En Nogado!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Recommended by the owner of Landi's--the Chiles En Nogada is not found on many menus. It was excellent--Beautiful garden atmosphere. The Amaretto sauce on the fresh fish was a little sweet but the fish was well cooked. (Try the Cilantro sauce.) Excellent Mojito--ok Margarita. Would go back definitely!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NurseRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing flavors with service to match!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A friend of our whose lived in Los Adobes for several years recommended Los Adobes as their favorite place to eat. Since my wife and I are quite particular about what we consider "great food". we took his suggestion with a grain of salt - but decided to try it anyway.

So, so glad we did. To begin with, the storefront - while pleasing enough, belies the beauty of the gardens that flourish just behind the walls of this open air mecca - one of the more nourishing places to hang out we found on our 10-day trip to Todos Santos.

As for service, when we asked for a simple Margarita (with Añejo tequila) our waiter, Jorge, was thoughtful enough to ask us if they could make it with a bit of damiana liqueur - made from an herb that grows in Baja. First of all, I really appreciated his asking - rather than just giving us what they preferred. Secondly, though, it was without a doubt the best Margarita we've ever had - which says quite a bit given our affection for Añejos and my wife's history as a chocolatier.

But the food - omg - I grew up eating great Mexican food, traveling in Mexico and Central America and this was honestly one of the top two meals I've ever had. The blending of spices, the textures, the presentation - all were unparalleled in my travels. The soups - both Tarasco and Pepita - were to die for; the Rellonos and Mole - the same. While we tried a couple of other highly recommended places, we kept coming back to Los Adobes - and will continue to do so.

So, if you have time for just one meal in Todos Santos - do yourself a favor and make it Los Adobes. And, if you have more time, I strongly suggest you come back. If we're in town, I promise you that we'll see you there.

Buen provecho...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SausalitoScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegan Options & Beautiful Cactus Garden”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My mom and I (both vegans) visited twice for lunch and dinner -- we had to go back a second time for the incredibly tasty chili relleno and vegetable stew! These were two of three vegetarian dishes on the menu, and the two that were most easily modified to be vegan with just a few simple eliminations of butter and cheese. The purple chili relleno was beautifully charred, stuffed with creamy mashed potatoes, and laid on top of a light pinto bean puree. The vegetable stew was comprised of corn, peppers, mushrooms and the sweetest orange carrots in a tomato-based gravy over rice. The stew was served in a festive stone pot which kept the dish warm until we were done eating. We also ordered the guacamole, which was excellent - very fresh, with just the right amount of lemon and chili for flavor and spice. We were very happy that neither the beans nor rice were made with pork fat or chicken broth.

Our waiter Jorge, whose family owns the restaurant, served us both times and was very competent and accommodating, making sure that the meals were exactly what we wanted. Not only were both meals fantastic, we also enjoyed the fresh air of the spacious back patio, away from the hustle and bustle of the street, and the view of the perfectly landscaped cactus garden which invited many colorful birds for us to admire.

Dining here was one of the highlights of our trip and we will definitely return on a future vacation!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Adobes de Todos Santos also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Los Adobes de Todos Santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing