We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flora del Mar
Ranked #12 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2013

First time in Todos Santos. Film Festival Week. Everything is packed. Don't know where to sleep. Sharon at Serendipity calls Marilyn at Flora del Mar.... Flora-what? It's not on the map!?

What a find: 3 acres of space, the closest place to the beach, clean, away from traffic, ten minutes to town, super nice. Water, electricity, beer fridge, great food, better company. A proposed two-day stay turns into a week. Breakfast with Marilyn turns into making a new friend.

We'll be back. Thanks a ton for everything...

See pictures by FredynShelley

Room Tip: The rooms above the house are cool, as in temperature, probably great in summer. It was very cool in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredynShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at Flora del Mar B & B for two nights February 7 and 8, 2013. Marilyn is a warm and welcoming hostess and our room was very comfortable with good water pressure and plenty of hot water for the shower. Breakfast was delicious and filling. The sumptuous beach is a short walk away and there is even a tennis court for those so inclined. The sunsets were stunning with spouting whales in the ocean.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JHM3586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Sometimes you go back to a place that you loved and it is not the same, not as great. Not so with this place - Flora Del Mar! It is still just as fabulous - maybe more so - than our first visit and I am sure we will go again. The location is near the beach with wonderful ocean vistas, whale watching and gorgeous sunsets. The property is beautitul and the inn keeper, Marilyn, is very gracious and makes the most wonderful breakfasts! It is relaxing, pet friendly - several dogs that love to walk on the beach with you. There are many acitivites to do using Flora del Mar as a base - or you can just relax and soak in the ocean, beach, views, sunsets, pool etc. Marilyn is wonderful and full of advice when you need it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All have good views and are nciely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise100047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

so dog friendly that you can swim along side your dog in the beautiful swimming pool. We loved this place, the owner has 4 dogs and they welcomed standard poodle. The casitas are comfortable, functional and sweet. The view is stunning at every light, the beach was truly a slice of what the Baja is all about.Miles of wide sandy stetches, without a soul , I'm in heaven. Marilyn was so kind, fun, informative and knowledgeable...we miss you Marilyn, We highly recommend this place, no car traffic, Stay here!!! It was so relaxing that we never wanted to leave, sunsets everyday. You will never forget this experience. Only two kilometres from Todos Santos town, so easy to go for supplies.

Room Tip: there are two self contained casitas with well equipped kitchens. The B&B rooms in the house are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

It is difficult not to over state the genuine hospitality of Marilyn. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome, more like friends than guests. She reached out constantly inviting us to participate in activities with other guests and even her personal friends. On the other hand, we had plenty of privacy. She blends the perfect balance.

The location is fantastic. Ocean views no matter where you are. Clean, beautiful beach to walk on, very few people. Not good for swimming, but a swimming beach is a short distance away (approx 10 minutes by car).

If you play tennis, this is the place to be. The court is right there on the property and available for your use. You may even be able to join a match with some of the local ex pats in the community.

There is a nice small swimming pool to cool off in. Plenty of seating in various spots sun or shade.

Marilyn has the most adorable 5 rescue dogs, each with their own unique personality. I loved walking with them on the beach and playing with them during our stay.

We rented the king bedded casita. Very spacious, comfy bed, 2 smaller beds we used for reading, a large bathroom beautifully tiled, huge closet, and small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and 2 burner stove. Walk out your door on a patio with a view of the ocean and tennis court. Walk upstairs and you have an entire deck with even better views. Great place for yoga, a drink, or sun bathing.

This place isn't fancy or pretentious. Don't expect frilly. It isn't that type of B & B. It is comfortable, relaxing, authentic, yet clean and provides everything you need. We are fortunate to travel a lot and this is one of the best vacations we have ever had. We will definitely return.

We had considered taking the bus from Cabo, but are glad we decided to rent a car. We rented from Cactus rent a car. Very good service and prices. You could walk into town but it would be difficult returning in the dark if you went to dinner. I am going to guess about a 20 minute walk to town from Flora Del Mar. Truly a very special spot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staying at Flora del Mar is a little like staying with a friend who lives in heaven. The directions from Todos Santos sound a little confusing, but there are signs up on the road and we didn't have trouble finding it. We loved the location because of its proximity to town, but its far enough away to be perfectly quiet and private. All night we heard the crashing of the ocean through our windows, and when we walked down to the beach we always had it to ourselves. Marilyn's dogs were a sweet addition to the ambiance, and came down to the beach to keep us company. Breakfast was always delicious. Overall, it was a slow paced, lovely visit. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calitonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Well this was possibly just the most beautiful place ive stayed - to be able to watch the sun rise and set over the water just a stones throw away from my room was priceless. Marlyn's place is so cool - its beautifully presented in a real rustique way - each room having its own individual style! The breakfasts are to die for and marlyn as a hostess is second to none. She knows the local area inside out and her personality makes the stay - she is full of fun and gets the balance just right between you getting your own space and sharing her stories with out. I loved my early morning walks down the deserted beech and the most amazing sight of all on a couple of occasions where i actually watched some whales just basking not far out from the beech - one of those once in a life time sights ill hold forever. so go and see for yourself this amazing little treasure right on the edge of todos santos.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
366 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#6 of 16 in Todos Santos
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora del Mar

Address: San Sebastian, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: £420 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch whales and exquisite sunsets from your private suite or patio. Views from every room. Casual friendly atmosphere on 3 beachfront acres. Old hacienda charm in a tropical landscape. New swimming pool with lap current. Breakfast served. Studio with kitchen also available. Only 1 3/4 mi. to the center of Todos Santos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flora del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing