We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Mr. Bing's casita!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Colibris Casitas
Sonora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Mr. Bing's casita!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our one week trip has inspired me to master Spanish so I may communicate fully on our next trip to Todos Santos. Part of the imspiration is derived from our calming stay at Los Colibris, a a truly gorgeous and friendly place. I have progressive Multiple Sclerosis and even though the rock paths that surrounded the property were a bit tricky to navigate, I did what I could. With my husband's assistance, I even made it to the lovely pool/hot tub area! Watching the Humpback and Grey whales was an added treat as they were so close, I felt I could almost touch them from Mr. Bing's Place! Sergio provided us with binos so we could really check out their activity (mating season, you know) and it provided me with entertainment as my husband hiked to the lagoon & beach. In town, we were entertained by a benefit for local children's education with members of REM & other bands. Totally unexpected but another wonderful treat to our stay in Todos Santos. We definitely want to go back and Los Colibris is the only place we'd stay. Thanks for everything, Sergio!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
90
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I were there for 3 nights in January. When we arrived, around 4pm, there was nobody around, neither the owner nor the employees. We just figured out we should enter the room we had reserved, which had its door opened. I consider a little message just saying hi and telling us to check in could have been nice. The view is gorgeus, but to go in town, specially in the evening, you will need a car or a cab, since it is quite far. When we checked in the room was not very clean, with quite a lot of dust. During one day the hot tube, which appears on every picture in the website, did not work, but it was fixed the next day. The owner was very helpful on telling us what to do, and gave as very good advice to plan our days.

Room Tip: I would avoid the one I stayed at, called Mr Bings Place. Its got a natural roof, made out of dry le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio J, Owner at Los Colibris Casitas, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so very sorry that the natural glory of Los Colibris did not infuse your life with as much joy as it does ours every day. Your comments have been helpful in making us consider what it is that makes Los Colibris so special, and we’d like to share our thoughts on that as we answer your specific issues:

On our website we state that “Los Colibris was made for nature lovers seeking beauty and tranquility.” True natural beauty and tranquility so often are not right off the highway. Even so, the amazing views and nature of Los Colibris are a mere 1.2 miles from Todos Santos’ only stoplight/gas station, and 1.5 miles to the town plaza. We always do recommend a car to guests as it takes at least 20 minutes to walk to town. But driving, even at minimal speeds over the bumpy roads, gets the job done in just a few minutes.

The hot tub actually did work during your stay and you and your wife enjoyed a couple of long, hot soaks under the stars. You initially couldn’t find where to turn on the jets so you thought they were broken but we showed you how to do it and you enjoyed the hot tub with the jets on from then on out.

As stated on our website the bedroom ceiling of Mr. Bing’s Place has a palapa roof, the only one of our casitas that has that touch. Palapa refers to a roof made of palm fronds put together by local craftsmen. It’s a beautiful local design and the roof of our entire house is a palapa roof. One aspect of Los Colibris that most of our guests enjoy is the presence of so many local materials in our construction, with many of the tables, sofas, chairs, cabinets and patios made from local woods, cactus and rock. All the plants in the garden of Mr. Bing’s Place and the grounds of Los Colibris are local plants as well. As for the dust, we do understand that your wife has particular sensibilities on this point, which is why we had the housekeeping staff return to the property immediately and re-clean the entire casita (which had been thoroughly cleaned just a few hours before), wash all the drapes, bedspreads and sofa coverings for you.

We do apologize that you did not feel more welcomed. However, please recall that the way you knew which room was yours and that you should just go in and make yourself at home was that we had sent you explicit instructions explaining how to do just that as we most likely would not be there when you arrived.

We understand that you did not have the vacation experience you had in mind and we are so sorry you were disappointed. Los Colibris is not just some property we manage, it is our home and our way of life. We want all of our guests to enjoy the peacefulness and beauty of the place as much as we do, to enjoy all the details of the casitas and grounds we created with love and care. If something goes wrong we always do our very best to make it right. And when nothing goes wrong and a guest is simply unhappy, well, we do our best to make that right too. We wish you well in your future travels.

Best regards,
Sergio and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
531 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We arrived early evening after driving 2.5 hours from the airport to Todos Santos. This trip usually is quite a bit quicker, but the road between Cabo San Lucas and Todos Santos is under construction. Challenging directions, limited helpful signs and having never been here before made for a slow-bumpy drive. While driving, I was starting to question how this place could actually be the perfect non-touristy, authentic Mexican vacation spot we’d been told about.

Once in Todos Santos, the road to Los Colibris twists like a snake over very rough pot-holed dirt and rocks. There is a saying in Mexico about “good roads bring bad people…we only want good people, that is why the road is so bad”. Well said and so true.

Upon arriving at Los Colibris, a small boutique hotel perched on a hillside, we were greeted by our hosts, Bryan and Sergio. Sergio and Bryan are the owners of Los Colibris and Todos Santos Eco Adventures and they could not have been more kind or gracious. Our casita, La Chucha Casita is one of four options while staying here and included a lovely roof-top terrace that was perfect for an early morning coffee or al fresco dining while taking in the magnificent ocean, lagoon and palm oasis views. We loved this room, and it was very clean with simple, quality appointments. All of their accommodations have privacy, ocean views and are surrounded by native plants. La Churca Casita is the only one that didn’t have a ‘kitchen’ option, but since I was in town to interview various chefs, we knew we’d be eating in town and not needing to prepare any meals.

Bryan, whom I initially communicated with in regards to our trip, grew up in Louisiana, educated in Boston and now has a consulting business which required her to travel to China while we were there. Bryan is an energetic and fascinating woman—just wish I’d had more time getting to know her.

Sergio was on-site every day and he’s the main man for their Eco Adventures business which includes guiding visitors on hikes, surfing, whale watching, kayaking, horseback riding, mountain biking, snorkeling, cooking, margarita-making, wine-tasting and more. His knowledge of Baja in limitless and he brings Todos Santos to life. Get him to introduce you to the local ranchers, potters, artists, fishermen and chefs!

I can’t say enough about this property. You have privacy, a calming environment, serenity, and the landscaped grounds truly envelop you in an oasis of peace. I was concerned that being by the fresh-water lagoon we’d have to deal with mosquitos. None where around and the lagoon entertained us with all types of birds. The walk down to the beach is easy, but make sure you get directions. We ended up having to squeeze through a barbwire fence.

Once on the beach, the empty expanse of sand and surf is a unique mixture of tranquility and rejuvenation. The salt air has something to do with that, I think. The sand slips steeply down to the surf. No swimming on this beach, but it was exhilarating simply to sit and watch the waves pound and crash. One morning a hand-line fisherman, using squid as bait, fished for about an hour and caught at least a dozen fish. If only life were so simple.

Back at our casita, the pool and hot tub were inviting as were the comfortable lounge chairs under market umbrellas. Bryan and Sergio have a keen eye for excellence and their attention to detail makes everything on the property not only high quality, but also relaxed. A perfect combination while vacationing.

During our visit they had four dogs and four cats for my ‘pet fix’. All animals are well behaved and know not to come into your casita unless invited. If you love animals, you’ll be in heaven as each has their own unique personality. If you don’t like dogs or cats, no worries—they won’t bother you and quickly pick up if you want their attention or not. I loved every one of them…even Mr. Bing who I had to rescue a bird from…he wasn’t happy with me but the bird happily flew away.

The Pacific ocean was nature’s TV as we watched fishermen, shrimpers, gray whales frolicking and a Baja flying manta ray. You don’t really need to leave the property to be entertained.

The sunset at Los Colibris is art in motion. A camera will never capture all the hues and intense color changes as the sun dips into the ocean. All guaranteed to put a smile on your face and make for wonderful memories.

The details: Rent a car. You're 8 minutes to town, but it's not a fun 20 minute walk. There aren’t any stores close to your room, so purchase snacks, beer, water and breakfast items, etc. You won’t see any sugar ants unless you leave food out. Store food in containers or in the refrigerator. If you like dogs, bring them some treats. Coffee is provided as well as drinking water. Microwave and hairdryer in room. We never even locked our room, but if you’re concerned, each room has a safe.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, they have something for everyone. Every room has private space and views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I can't express to you how beautiful and calming Los Colibris is. We have travelled to the southern Baja for ten years now, from La Paz, the east cape, Cabo, and Todos, but have never enjoyed a stay more than this place. We had just lost our older dog, Dallas, one week earlier - the furry hosts made this trip especially healing and wonderful! Fluke (Kitty) was a bit camera shy, but not otherwise - he also greeted us every day, as did all of the others. One of the fun highlights was watching all trotting after Sergio at sunset each day, going home. Coming back from the beach, or waking each morning as they all galloped down to greet us was soooo heartwarming! Don't know which was better, the views, your furries, or your people; I think maybe it is the combination of all which brings such charm and serenity. Sergio's brownies were a hit!
The beach walk is breathtaking, through the lagoon full of all things flying, (except bugs - we encountered no bugs); occassionaly we encounter a beach runner, but mostly it was just us, the frigates overhead, the ghost crabs (one challenged us with his itty bitty claw), and the pounding surf...
Sunsets rival any on Maui or Key West; the stars at night are reachable, the air is so fresh and clean. Absolute peace, tranquility, and relaxation. We will be back, again and again - next time I will bring biscuits for the furry hosts...

Room Tip: Any room is perfect; all have amazing views, are peaceful, quite and amazingly comfortable. I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Los Colibris is one of the warmest, most charming places we've ever had the pleasure of visiting in our many trips to Mexico and throughout the world. The casitas are nicely done, the grounds are beautifully planted and the location is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful place with phenomenal views. It's perched over a lagoon filled with wildlife that comes and goes with the cycles of the day. From the decks and patios we watched whales breach, dolphins roll by and dorado fish jump. The hosts are great and incredibly grounded in local lore and ecology. They have an eco-tour business and can arrange a variety of very well managed local adventures.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My sister and her husband had been to Los Colibris a couple of times times and always came back raving about it. We finally decided to go this year and I have to say that it surpassed our already high expectations. The views are breathtaking and the whole place is so relaxing and lovely we could scarcely tear ourselves away to go into town. We just loved having the dogs as our guides on our walks to the beach, and to share an afternoon nap around the pool with us. We really miss Juliette and Rosie! The grounds are so wonderfully laid out we really enjoyed all the little touches like the tiny zen garden and rake. If you like beautiful views and a natural environment you will love Los Colibris.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mr. Bing's Place and thought it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, UT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We loved this place, but I thought it would be good to share some information that some patrons may be interested in knowing:
There are ants in the bathroom. My guess is that getting rid of all the ants involves lots of pesticides.
We didn't have hot water. This wasn't a problem for us and we didn't complain about it- it was so hot in TS that a tepid shower felt pretty good. There may have been a way to get hot water if we'd asked about it.
Plan on sharing your room with geckos that make little clicking noises all night long- we loved this, but some people may not.
Plan on some visits from the resident canine ambassadors. They're enthusiastic to meet you, not a problem if you like dogs, but if you don't it could be off-putting.

We stayed in the "La Churcha" casita. It was incredible. Here's why we've already recommended Los Colibris to our friends:
The view is amazing! No question it's the best view in Todos Santos!
Serenity. It's quiet and peaceful.
Value- I dare you to find a better bargain!
Privacy- we only saw one other guest, there's only 3 casitas so it's not a crowded place.
The geckos. We loved the song of the geckos in the night.
The hummingbirds- they're beautiful.
The decor, both interior and exterior. It's that perfect combination of homey and luxurious.
The rooftop terrace- we sat up there and watched the sun fall into the Pacific ocean.
The windows overlooking the ocean- my husband nudged me awake to watch the moon set-- it was lovely.
It's a short hike down to the virtually deserted beach.

We loved this place and maybe we'll get back there someday!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conejotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spayaso, Owner at Los Colibris Casitas, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you are recommending Los Colibris Casitas to your friends - thank you! If you're contemplating a return please rest assured that there is plenty of hot water at Los Colibris - the pilot light for the hot water heater had simply gone out and it took just a few seconds to rekindle. Please do let us know about such issues in the future as we do not know there is problem unless you advise us during your stay. Likewise the ants have been relocated to a more suitable, outdoor location and their point of ingress blocked .

We're so happy that you enjoyed the geckos, hummingbirds, dogs, views - all the nature of Los Colibris - as much as we do! The geckos are, of course, renowned as great guardians of the home and harbingers of luck. Here in Baja they are called kissing geckos because of the smooching sound they make. And during your stay it's quite possible that you saw 2 of Baja's endemic species of hummingbirds - the Costa's and the Xantus's - both quite beautiful and enamored of the flowers that grow around the property.

We very much hope that you'll be able to join us again sometime soon, and we look forward to welcoming any of your friends and family who may decide to take your advice and enjoy the beauty and tranquility of Los Colibris for themselves.

With warm regards,
Sergio and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Colibris Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Colibris Casitas

Property: Los Colibris Casitas
Address: Calle Guaycura, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Colibris Casitas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Colibris (“The Hummingbirds”) was made for nature lovers seeking beauty and tranquility. Our 2 casas and 2 casitas each have magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a freshwater estuary and a palm grove oasis to the front, and the Sierra de la Laguna mountains to the back. We have the most stunning views in Todos Santos. We are a 5-minute drive to the shops, restaurants and artists galleries of Todos Santos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Los Colibris Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing