We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reluctant review of Los Colibris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Colibris Casitas
new hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reluctant review of Los Colibris”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed Oct 2012 in La Chucha Casita

The reason I am reluctant to review Los Colibris is for purely selfish reasons as I don't want people to know about this treasure in Todos Santos. We stayed at Chucha Casita for three days in the beginning of October 2012 just after heavy rains came through baja and the access roads leading up to Los Colibris were rough but passable. You do have to be careful with the driving as some of the other reviews have noted, but if you rent an suv or take it slow with a car it will be less of an issue.

La Chucha Casita was clean, efficient and had what you need for few night stay. If you stay for a little longer, you can rent a unit with a kitchen, but there are plenty of options in town for food if you do not want to cook. To add to your enjoyment is a roof top terrace with 360 views of the ocean, palm grove/lagoon and surrounding hills. Our hosts were very attentive and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Our canine host Pantufla La Rosie was my constant companion and I did not mind it one bit, as I was sad to leave her at the end of our stay. If you are not found of animals you can choose to ignore them and you will be left alone. Since we are returning this October, we will get to see Pantufla La Rosie again and it speaks to how great of a stay this was since we are returning instead of staying in a different town such as La Paz.

You are staying in a wonderful natural environment so it comes with a different experience compared to staying in a high end resort in Cabo, but that to me this is what made the experience both wonderful and memorable. The pool is a great place to float in the evening after dinner and watch the sun set followed by a great showing of stars. Plenty of comfortable and clean places to sit, relax and get sun or shade.

Traveled as a couple, but traveling with an additional couple this year to share the experience.

The town of Todos Santos is small and the people are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renelloburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
90
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in both the Chucha Casita and Mr. Bing's Place, with their outstanding design, tasteful amenities, and terraces that place you in the center of a breathtaking panorama. To add to our enjoyment was a team of two- and four-legged hosts that went out of their way to make our stay truly special. Whatever our needs or wishes, Bryan did everything to make us feel like honored guests. For example, she made special arrangements to get us to Las Palmas beach, which would have been otherwise impossible due to our limited transportation options. And our hostess' assistants were no less attentive. Cinco the cat (a rather talkative fellow) was there for us from the time we arrived to our departure, ostensibly to remind us how relaxing and comfortable an environment Los Colibris offered. And if that weren't enough, two of our canine hosts, Zorro and Pantufla La Rosie, happily showed us the best path to the beach and felt obliged to accompany us on a two-mile beach walk before escorting us back to Los Colibris. A truly memorable experience we can't wait to repeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We loved Los Colibris and we loved Todos Santos. We did our homework in advance and knew what sort of trip we wanted: calm, quiet, a real taste of smaller Mexican town, nice people, good food, gorgeous ocean, and a true getaway from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives. This was it. What makes Los Colibris truly so wonderful are the owners. They are friendly, helpful, and welcoming and their pets add a touch a of home to the beautiful property. We will be back and next time will stay for the full duration of our trip at Los Colibris.

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service (unless you schedule a chef in advance to come cook you breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenster122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We recently had a fantastic family vacation in the Casa Colibris. It was lovely. We did the family Adventure week which we loved. The location was fantastic and the service even better. We will definitely return during Whale season!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our stay in Mr. Bing's Place, a very cozy and comfortable casita with extraordinary ocean and coastal views, was beyond our expectations. It was impeccably maintained -- inside and out, and the hosts, Bryan and Sergio, were so welcoming and warm that it felt that we were at our own home. Everyone -- including the sweet furry pets -- made our stay here a dream vacation that we will never forget. We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed every single moment of it!!!

Room Tip: The breezes are so refreshing that the AC wasn't at all necessary to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in Mr. Bings Place. Comfortable, with no need to turn on A/C as we had a lovely breeze. This is not the place to stay if you want a 5 star luxury retreat. This is the place to stay if you want want to watch swallows at dusk, get a little dirty, and listen to the waves as you fall asleep. You will hear other sounds common in me ico, roosters early in the morning, dogs barking, and, of course construction, which always seems to be going on somewhere in Mexico. My husband I found the property animals charming, and very loving. Good to see the owners taking care of these animals, as there are so many animals not as well cared for. The owner, Bryan, was extremely gracious, and even gave my husband some pepto bismol when Mexico food did a number on my stomach. Oh, Bryan, if you read this, the on demand water heater is very finicky!

Room Tip: I would stay at La Chuca Casita next time, I liked the balcony better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio J, Owner at Los Colibris Casitas, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
It was so much fun having you and your husband here, and we were so happy to be your first travel experience outside of a Cabo-style resort. We had a new, top-of-the-line Bosch on-demand water system installed just 10 days prior to your arrival. I’m sorry to hear you found it finicky, but if you had communicated with me during your stay about any issues you were having I could have helped you resolve them on the spot. Instant gratification was yours for the asking! Hope you continue to explore the world outside of Cabo-style resorts and have a fabulous time doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Just returned from a week @ this marvelous property. We rented the Casa Colibris which included 2 master suites, full kitchen, our own private theater room (w/washer & dryer) and also included a private roof top balcony full with comfy furniture and rockers. The property is actually even more beautiful than the pictures depict. It was our first trip to Los Colibris and we WILL be back. The views from any of the casitas are truly incredible. From anywhere on the property looking toward the ocean there presents a perfect western exposure where you look out over the houses/properties down the hill, the freshwater lagoon and endless miles of pristine beach. Because of the lagoon and underground water sources, the area is like an amazing oasis, full of plant and animal life. Looking back up the mountain, (we are almost at the summit), you have a lovely desertscape, with some beautiful mountains across the distant eastern horizon.

The owners have gone to extraordinary lengths to plant/care for and cultivate a great variety of blooming and succulent plant life all over the property. You do not tire of admiring your surroundings. The colors of the flowers are brilliant and stunning. And of course, all this is in such a relaxed setting. The owners and all the support staff are cheerful, always in a good mood and eager to assist you in anyway possible. Bryan, one of the owners, spends much of her day in the office, just steps from the casitas, where she is always available to answer your questions or give advice about fun things to do. She, Sergio her husband and the staff do a great job of keeping everything spotless and well supplied. They are also always checking to see that you are happy, without being intrusive.

Being pet lovers, we enjoyed all the animals so much. These are all household pets, and they speng the night indoors and much of the day helping Mom (Bryan) in the office. It was the highlight of our day when she took them on their evening walk - it was so much fun to see all of them head out for their evening frolic.

The Casa had all the supplies/equipment we needed, and it was great to have such large spaces to spread out in. We found the fish store (the lady who gets freshly caught fish everyday and sells it in a little storefront next to her restaurant), and mostly grilled delicious fish everynight on our personal gas grill (there may have also been cocktails involved). The fish was so fresh and inexpensive that we couldn't pass it up. We did eat in town too, and enjoyed that also. We found the ice cream store (heladeria) where they sell the wonderful pistachio ice cream pops imbedded with nuts on the bottom - these are the green ones, they are amazing! We shopped just outside Cabo at the large grocery stores for the big items for the week, then just picked up odds and ends in town.

The other guests were all considerate and interesting. The pool area was never crowded, even though it was full occupancy most of the time while we were there.

GO THERE - you won't regret it - I had looked at this property a couple years ago and thought "this is too good to be true". Even driving to the property, my husband and I were saying we could not believe what you get for the money, and it was even more than we had hoped.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
610 reviews
2.1 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#6 of 17 in Todos Santos
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Colibris Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Colibris Casitas

Property: Los Colibris Casitas
Address: Calle Guaycura, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Colibris Casitas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Colibris (“The Hummingbirds”) was made for nature lovers seeking beauty and tranquility. Our 2 casas and 2 casitas each have magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a freshwater estuary and a palm grove oasis to the front, and the Sierra de la Laguna mountains to the back. We have the most stunning views in Todos Santos. We are a 5-minute drive to the shops, restaurants and artists galleries of Todos Santos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Colibris Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing