We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "top 3" birthday in a lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Colibris Casitas
Lake Oswego, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "top 3" birthday in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My wife brought me here as a birthday present a couple of years ago and it was one of the most delightful trips we've ever taken. As a bonus, we got a "two-fer" on the trip -- an escape from a dreary Portland, OR winter as well as a visit to this lovely place.

Los Colibris sits atop an oceanside cliff and the views are spectacular. On most days, the vista in three directions stretches out over 50 miles. The ocean sits directly in front of and below the grounds, with a large lagoon just off the beach. We stayed in La Chucha Casita, perfect for a couple. Roomy, airy, comfortable, tastefully decorated and impeccably clean, La Chucha gave us no cause for complaint. The rooftop patio with its gorgeous view was icing on the cake. Visits from the well-mannered resident cats -- Cuchi and Cinco -- were an added treat for us.

Bryan and Sergio Jauregui are the perfect hosts. Relaxed and friendly, yet professional and knowledgeable, they make everything happen effortlessly. Sergio runs an eco-tourism business as well, so the possibilities for recreation are many and varied. With a background in the marine sciences and nearly 15 years' experience as a tour guide in Baja, there is little Sergio doesn't know about the flora, fauna, geography and history of the area. Bryan runs her own China-based business, and will speak Mandarin for you on a dare. She and los perros (the dogs) -- Mofles, Juliette and Charquitos -- will occasionally join you on your strolls as their schedules allow.

We took advantage of several of Sergio's offerings, including a village tour of Todos Santos (complete with history), cliff walk (spectacular), horseback riding on the beach and a visit to Doña Ramona, one of the La Candelaria mountain potters. This last was a remarkable little cultural excursion, something like the Baja equivalent of a trip to deepest Appalachia -- and Doña Ramona provides a delicious homemade lunch!

The highlight of an already wonderful trip was an overnight jaunt to Magdelena Bay, where the Pacific gray whales we see so often off the Oregon coast go to mate and bear their young. We spent most of a day cruising the bay in one of the local pangas, or skiffs, cruising among the mothers and their calves -- an extraordinary experience for even the most jaded traveler. I got to touch a baby whale on my birthday, an intense, child-like pleasure for me. Words truly fail me on this one -- you'll just have to experience it for yourself.

For the Baja visitor seeking something more than the sterile offerings of Los Cabos, the small town charm of Todos Santos and environs offers a refreshing alternative. There are other pleasant places to stay in the area, of course, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a lovelier spot or more congenial hosts than at Los Colibris. You'll be missing a bet if you don't try it at least once.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
90
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Los Colibris, in Todos Santos, Baja California Sur, is a fabulous vacation spot. My daughter and I loved Los Colibris for many reasons.

The owners, Bryan and Sergio Jauregui, are fabulous. I've traveled all over the world and had many guides -- and Sergio is as personable and knowledgeable as any guide I've known. He REALLY knows his stuff. Ask him a question about the area: you won't stump him. And Bryan -- who can also speak Chinese, if you ask her nicely -- is a wonderful host. And there are four friendly dogs, too -- Juliet, Ginger, Chaquitos, and Mofles -- all of whom speak both English and Spanish and will like nothing more than to accompany you as you explore.

The rooms, or "casitas," are all comfortable and clean and charming. The hotel sits on a cliff, and, if you sit on your balcony overlooking the ocean, you will see a lovely lagoon where you can watch birds and the shoreline, which extends some 70 miles. The color contrasts are really beautiful: the shades of blues of the horizon and the ocean, the greens from the trees and plants surrounding the lagoon, and the desert browns all around from the sun-baked earth.

Breakfasts are always lovely: Fresh fruit (cantaloupe and bananas and papaya) and cinnamon roles and bear claws -- and always fresh orange juice and coffee. It's always brisk in the a.m. but sunny and oh-so breathtakingly beautiful.

There is plenty to do: Sergio can take you on a hiking adventure to a fun waterfall or on a cliff walk that offers amazing views of the ocean; you can also horseback on the beach. Kids will love a trip to the ranch of Ramona Banaja, who can give an entire family a special lesson in shaping clay and making pots and then -- extra-special treat -- offer a lesson in making your own tortillas. It's great fun and tasty, too!

In town, you won’t want to miss Barajas Tacos for real Mexican food and the dining room at Hotel California, where the guacamole and quesadillas and crab cakes are wonderful.

The highlight of our trip was a journey to La Paz (about 90 minutes from Todos Santos) and to Los Islotes, where you can swim with the sea lions, who will swoop and slide by while you snorkel in and around a beautiful cove; the females and little pups are curious and friendly; it was truly a once-in-a-lifetime 10-best-travel-days-of-all-time day.

You can also continue on for another couple of hours to Magdelena Bay for whale and dolphin watching. The whales are awesome creatures, and the dolphins love nothing more than speeding along in the wake of your boat.

Really: A journey to Todos Santos and Los Colibris is a wonderful treat, and Bryan and Sergio are really top-notch hoteliers.

And, if you spend some time with Sergio, ask him to tell you about the legend of the pearl diver Machado on Bonranza Island!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven8232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My wife and two young daughters spent a week at Los Colibris in March. The views from this house are simply spectactular and there are plenty of windows and doors from which to enjoy them. The Pacific rumbles for you and there are plenty of comfortable spots to enjoy watching it roll in. With two young children there never seems to be enough space for everyone's quiet. Not so at this lovely home. The bedrooms are large and comfroable and there are two large full bathrooms. Each bedroom also has its own deck and everything faces the ocean! The house is well equipped and maintained in top shape. While its location is beautiful, it is also practical with a short walk to the beach and an easy hike to town. One of the best parts of this house is that it sits by itself and so you do not have the feeling that you are sharing your vacation with anyone.

This house comes with a bonus in its proprieters. Sergio and Bryan are, of course, excellent host and hostess but they are also highly knowledgeable about the Baja area, its people and wildlife. We found that a quick consultation with these good natured, knowledgeable folks added extra value to our stay. We would return to this house at any time and highly recommend it to anyone seeking a relaxing stay in Baja.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This cluster of casitas is perched on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I went with my extended family, grandfather to a 3 year old, and there were comfortable accommodations for all of us. Each room is private and has a wonderful view. Each room has a coffee maker and mini bar. There is also a full kitchen available depending on how you set up your rental. And there were laundry facilities on site, a must when traveling with small children and in this age of baggage restrictions! With a large family group this was a big plus. People could graze all day and we usually went out for dinner at night. There are lots of different seating areas, some shaded, some not, so you can always find a spot to relax and have some privacy.
The owners, Bryan and Sergio, went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we had everything we needed. They know the community and the environs very well and can help you enjoy all the great things to do in Todos Santos. They also own an eco-adventure company that guides walking tours along the cliffs or to one of the local water falls. Be sure to take advantage of this built in access.
The set up of the casitas on the hillside make for some stair climbing, but never more than 8 or 9 at a time. They are well lit at the night.
My family had a terrific time and we are already trying to plan another visit. I would rate this as one of my best family vacations ever.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
610 reviews
2.1 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#6 of 17 in Todos Santos
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Colibris Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Colibris Casitas

Property: Los Colibris Casitas
Address: Calle Guaycura, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Colibris Casitas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Colibris (“The Hummingbirds”) was made for nature lovers seeking beauty and tranquility. Our 2 casas and 2 casitas each have magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a freshwater estuary and a palm grove oasis to the front, and the Sierra de la Laguna mountains to the back. We have the most stunning views in Todos Santos. We are a 5-minute drive to the shops, restaurants and artists galleries of Todos Santos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Colibris Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing