We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap, Fake dont waste your time”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Dont get me wrong, really nice hotel but its not the real Hotel California. Its a fake tourist trap to capitalize on fans. Theres a letter that I ran into when doing my research written by Don Henley addressing this myth. Just Google (images) Don Henley Fax or Hotel California Fax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank porkchop_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Nice shops and boutiques but I just didn't get the whole area. Hotel was nice for the food, average quality and price. Looking around we didn't see much else in options after parking the car. Was told this was the place to be from a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Cadex980c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

stopped in todos santos on the way back to cabo from la paz. saw the hotel, walked through it and took some pictures. it was nice and updated, and now i can say i've been to the eagles' hotel california! town was oh-so touristy, but there were some nice shops and art galleries along the main drag (mostly run by americans) plus an internet cafe on one of the side streets. sat down at an outside table at the bar directly across from the hotel california, and was ignored for 4 or 5 minutes. went into the bar and asked the barkeep for some service, and within 30 seconds, a waiter came and took our order. as we were enjoying our drinks, the barkeep came out to talk with us. turns out he was the owner! good strong drinks, but a little pricey!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stopped at the Hotel California during a tour of Todos Santos with Land's End Tours. The town of Todos Santos was a fun place to visit with many unique boutique hotels, art galleries, and shops, and an old mission church built by the Catholics. Although we didn't stay at the Hotel California, we did stop in for appetizers and margaritas. The taco platter was delicious with freshly prepared shrimp, chicken and beef tacos. The margaritas were also good. I wish we'd had time for a dinner because the food was excellent. If I had the opportunity I would like to stay here sometime because it seemed like a very cool place and again the restaurant served great food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Spent the day at the Hotel California, a group of us took a long bus ride out to it early morning and stayed until sunset. The owner herself came out to welcome us, introduced some of the staff to us. Throughout the day we were checked on frequently, and she even offered us a room to use for some of the ladies to get changed into our clubwear after a long day, no charge! Staff was friendly, hotel and restaurant were very clean. If your looking for a clean, quiet, friendly place to vacation and relax, stop on by the Hotel California! The decor is definitely a sight to be seen in the bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aRoseShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Didn’t stay at the hotel California but we rented a taxi from San José del cabo and 12 of us made a day trip to Totos Santos to see Hotel California. What’s funny is we didn't even eat there even though we took the 1.5+ hr drive to get there, we eat some ware else that was horrible... but that's a different story. Anyway not that much to see or do in totos Santos and the Hotel California is just a hotel with 11 rooms, a restaurant and a Bazaar.

On the way back from Totos Santos about 15 KM north of Cabo was the most beautiful beach off the road on the pacific side. It was a dirt road but is amazing. You could see the Wales in the sunset the waves crashing, the most majestic beach in Mexico that I saw. If your into that kind of think I would defiantly say if you’re in the neighbor and have a rented car or taxi to seek it out…. Your will know it when you find it.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank kris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

SERVICE WAS FINE, ATMOSPHERE WAS GREAT, BE PREPARED TO HEAR THE EAGLES, ESPECIALLY THE TITLE SONG, ENDLESSLY AS YOU ORDER, WAIT FOR FOOD, AND EAT. The food was not remarkable enough to attract us for a return visit, especially at these prices. An iconic location, worth visiting so you can say you've been there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TheLifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: £79 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing