We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Touristy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I've walked past Hotel California on two previous visits and resisted the urge to have a look inside. On my most recent trip I succumbed and wasn't really disappointed because it met my expectations of it having more of an affinity with the wealthier tourist. I "people watched' for about an hour over a beer and a snack. The beer was cold, the snack filled a spot and the service was okay. However I think it would be fair to say that the average age of all the people I saw passing through the hotel would have been approaching 70 (plus). They were all wearing the same travelling uniform, all wanting the same safe experience but being able to tell their neighbours how brave they were that they visited Mexico!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toulouse045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    202
    72
    20
    12
See reviews for
114
275
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Barriles, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

First , I must say we did not spend the night here. It was more of an attraction and attraction it was! Tour buses by the handful pulled up here to see this attraction made famous by the Eagles song. Some may argue, this was not the hotel they were singing about, but judging by the folks buying in the gift shop, no one cares. Lovely lobby and outside restaurant area. Very touristy but then I am a tourist. Very clean but can be very crowded at times. Just had drinks so can not review the meals , but that said, we had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corndoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I've just returned from Todos Santos and had 4 nights booked at the Hotel California. First they charged the entire stay on my card and said that's what we do. My husband and I booked the Presidential suite so we could stay upstairs and my 83 yr. old mother in-law would be downstairs. My mother in-law is in good shape except her vision is not to good in dark places. I do not recommend this hotel for anyone who has any sight problems or walking problems. Most all of the patios are uneven, brick or stone and many levels. There are many narrow, dark, stairways, there are raised thresholds in doorways, and in our suite, a stair going down into the bathroom. So just too many obstacles and we were constantly worried about her safety and I'm sure she was annoyed by our constant arm holding and we did not allow her to walk around by herself. The most upsetting part was when we decided that we could not remain there because of safety issues, we spoke to the staff, who eventually spoke with the owner and they would not refund our money. After much negotiation, they gave us a voucher for half of our remaining 2 nights. So went to the hotel store - not much for us there - too commercialized, so we had a family dinner at the hotel restaurant. In closing, I'll say, it a great place to visit, the staff is friendly and attentive and the food is great. However I don't recommend this hotel for seniors, anyone with a disability or even families with small children. Too stressful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse suite and the patio off the top floor was amazing!!! It was huge and had a very comfortable feel. The penthouse has everything you could need but the placement of the bathroom was a little odd. It was located on the bottom floor, but we spent the majority of our time on the top floor (bedroom and terrace upstairs).

After the sun goes down the light up the hotel with candles which give it a very romantic feel. So beautiful and full of character with all the artwork.

We had a couple meals in the restaurant and loved the food and drink. Great time!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerri0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We went to Hotel California to soak in the history of the band Eagles while on a trip to Cabo. Hotel California has a great atmoshphere and awesome jalapeno margaritas. Definitely a must see location when visiting Baja California Sur.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Went to check out the art district at Todos Santos and stopped for lunch at Hotel California. Evidently it's not the hotel in the Eagle's song but it is still a fun place to check out. It is In the middle of the art district which is a great place to spend a day. Hotel California has a nice patio, a nice bar and plays Eagle's music all day. Serice was very slow and not overly friendly but the food was very good and the beer cold. There are many place to eat in the art district but the Hotel California is worth at least one trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We went to this hotel on our trip to Mexico. It is situated in a lovely small town with markets etc... The staff at the hotel was very friendly. The hotel is historic (Eagles) and is also very private. Not anyone can visit the hotel at their leisure, you must be a customer. Our family recommends going to this hotel for a great time in Mexico!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 9 in Todos Santos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotelito
The Hotelito
#2 of 17 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing